We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for travellers with good price ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Convenient for travellers with good price ratio”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Decent Hotel close to the Ikebukuro station so have access to the main Tokyo rail system in walking distance. Good neighbour hood, some streets away are more busy. You find plenty places to eat, we liked the spanish place at the corner. The rooms are a bit larger than some downtown places but still small compared to many other cities, but this is Tokyo. The Hotel is used to people staying longer so you have a fridge, washing machine and a microwave plus coffee mugs etc, in the room. A convenient small breakfast with mix of a warm japanes dish and toast, jam, coffee is served. No restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    122
    28
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
50
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. The occupancy rate was high at the time of my booking, so I got smoking room instead of non-smoking room. However, I don't feel any difference. Room is very compact. It reminds me on Tune Hotel (which is worst). However, considering Tokyo's expensive land, then such compact room is still acceptable. There were washing machine and microwave inside the room, like serviced apartment.

Location is quite confusing, the map is not really clear for me (this is my first visit to Tokyo). However, after asking several people (with gesture language), finally I found the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundulgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was the first hotel that we stayed at in Tokyo and I must admit it was just a little bit hard to find after getting off the Narita Airport Express train. If you cannot locate metro exit C6, then just exit the station and onto the street. Look for the large store named BIC CAMERA or OICITY (I think). The street leading to the hotel is situated on the opposite side of the OICITY department store.

The hotel is tucked away from the main street so you will definitely get a quiet night's rest. The room is on the smaller side but I wasn't expecting much in Tokyo to start with. We got the semi-double room and the bed size is on the bigger side in comparison to the other hotels that I have stayed at in Tokyo. Like what the other reviewers said, the room is packed with amenities - microwave, combined washer and dryer, combined humidifier/air filter. It took me some time to figure out the instructions for the washer and dryer but give yourself enough time to do your laundry - it takes about 4-5 hours for the entire cycle!!

The hotel is surrounded by really good restaurants but the highlight I guess is that there is free breakfast included. I realized how important that was at the end of the my trip when I found out that breakfast is rather hard to come by since most restaurants don't really open until 11 and people get their breakfast from convenient stores.

The hotel is also very convenient in terms of transit - Ikebukuro station is the last stop for the Narita Airport Express train, and also a stop on the Yamanote Line. There are also a few subway lines that you can use. It's very easy to get around from this station.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and will not hesitate to stay here again if I come back to Tokyo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solstromx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Juz stayed there for one night ( for transit in Tokyo ) and i hope i could stay longer !
The location is good , juz a few mins walk from metro exit C6 with a few convenience stores and many restaurants right around the corner , it's not far from the shopping area too .
The room was great , the bed is in a good size and is quite comfortable , there is even a microwave in the room with dishes and bowls etc provided .
The bathroom is in a good size ( compare to those "standard-japanese-style-bathroom" if u know wt i mean ) . It's clean and the shower tub is big ! there is a washing/drying machine in the bathroom , i was given a small bag of washing powder at check in so i actually have my laundry done there b4 i head home !
I totally enjoyed my short stay there i would come back for another stay next time !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Celiasng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here on two occasions as a solo traveller (in total 6 nights). The hotel was very easy to find (less than a minute walk from C1 exit of Ikebukuro station, turn into the alleyway where an Indian takeaway is located and you should see it). It is located in a quieter section of Ikebukuro compared to East exits of the station. C1 exit however is a bit of a trek from the main station concourse, so not such a great idea lugging a big suitcase during peak hour. The exit is stairs only too!

Amenties wise, I couldn't have asked for better. The single room was very clean, modern and comfortable. It wasn't big but it was enough space for one (taking into account the lack of living space in Tokyo). Large LCD TV with spacious desk. Trouser folder machine, heater, hair dryer and a few other amenities that I didn't need, but everything was complete and more than I had asked for. Bathroom was clean and adequate, and surprisingly, part of the mirror in the bathroom is designed to not fog up so you can see yourself after you take a shower. The bed I had was a double bed even though it was a single room.

On top of all this, the main attraction of this hotel was the presence of a washer and dryer in every room, which was much needed during a hot and humid July. However, it takes time to learn the controls, and the washing/drying time is about 3 hours, so not so great if you leave early and return late. On a very small note, they only give you one sachet of washing powder per stay and you need to buy additional ones for 30yen (which is still cheap). It meant that I only got one sachet at check in despite staying for 4 consecutive nights on the 2nd occasion.

Price wise, the website offers discounts if you book well in advance. For a solo traveller, that is a considerable saving for the comfort of a business hotel. I remember checking out the prices for other places in Tokyo and I would have to pay the same price for less comfort compared to here.

Overall, this hotel is located in an excellent location that isn't too bustling with people, whilst being very comfortable and affordable for a solo traveller in Tokyo. 素晴らしかったよ。

Room Tip: Choose the non-smoking room option. The rooms on the higher levels seemed a little bigger than the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller8710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent modern hotel secreted in the back alleys of Ikebukuro. Plenty of convenience with Ikebukuro Station entrances nearby and convenience store at end of street. Cheap, good quality buffet breakfast available, plus drinks vending machines on ground floor. Excellent service and modern room access security. Rooms well equipped for self-sufficiency with utensils, cups, plates, etc. plus kettle, clean modern microwave and a fantastic modern washing-drying machine which is free to use. Speaking if free, there is also free, unlimited WiFi internet access on every floor. Full HD TV with plenty of choice of entertainment.

Don't be fooled by the small room size, they are packed with features including clean private bathrooms and you could hardly find more convenience and comfort at such quality and price. Solidly designed around you, the traveller, without the pricey, superfluous features of more highly rated hotels.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I was at Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro the week of June 17th and was very happy with my choice. While there is never much room in any Tokyo hotel I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the bathroom compared to where I've stayed before. The air conditioning worked great through the hot and muggy June stay. While finding a place to put my luggage was a challenge, I managed without much issue. The best feature of this hotel is the washer/ dryer all in one machine in every room. I also had a good view on the 11th floor and enjoyed watching the hustle of Ikebukuro from time to time. Given the choice between other higher end hotels in the area, such as the Metropolitan, I will still choose Tokyu Stay for my next trip. Clean room, kind staff and great location!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro

Property: Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Address: 2-12-2 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Toshima
#3 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing