We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars For Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Second time staying here for 5 nights, the first time was back in 2010 when it just opened so it was brand new. Two years later the room looks just as new and clean. My friend and I each had a room on the Ladies Floor next to each other with good amenities including full size shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Also liquid hand wash which I really appreciate, toothbrush with toothpaste, slippers and hair straightener! The room also has air conditioner, purifier, a microwave, washer/dryer which was used, just ask for instructions and of course the warm seat bidet toilet. Room size is small but enough for one person with a large suitcase. There's a computer in the Lobby with free internet and free wifi so you can connect with tablet or smartphone.
From Ikebukuro Station head toward the west exit, from there you can exit onto street level with another 5mins walk or stay underground to Echika C6 exit, up the escalators and about a minute walk.
My friend and I have to thank all the front desk staff in particular Tomoe, Kawakami and Nakajima who have gone above and beyond to help us in many ways and answered all our questions with smiles. All the staff are friendly, understands and speaks english very well. Thanks for making our stay a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: Single female travellers I would recommend staying on the Ladies Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights in June, 2012. It is a new hotel, so very clean. Rooms are quite small and takes some getting used to. My view was of the building next door so I felt a little claustrophobic. The plus side is it is on a quiet side street, had a W/D in room & close to Ikebukuro station. The breakfast, which comes with the room package, is pretty good. If you are used to staying in an american size hotel room, it may be difficult for you to enjoy your stay. Looking back, I should of paid the $50 more a night to stay in one of the larger hotels. Also, most everything was in japanese (remote, AC, etc) directions without english translation. I travel a lot and find that the big hotels have translation in english. This hotel caters more to the japanese business traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very easy to get to from Ikebukuro station (once you've worked out the exits - head for Echika from inside the station). Rooms were reasonably sized (I had a semi double) with good amenities - shampoo, conditioner and shower gel all provided, as well as toothbrushes and pyjamas. I never used the pyjamas, but was brought a fresh pair every day, so had quite a pile by the end of my trip!

I liked having the back up of being able to eat in with the microwave in the room, although in the end I didn't use it (and if I had, there'd be nowhere to sit and eat except on the bed). There was also an enormous washing machine. Cabled internet which is a shame, but there's a PC for use in reception.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this particular Hotel - I specifically like it for its location in the quieter backstreets of Tokyo - the city can become rather overwhelming at times with the masses of people and it is nice to draw back to a quiet little spot. It is perfectly located for those with a Rail Pass - you can get to most of the major areas using the Yamanote Line, so no need to use the subway. The rooms are compact but the windows open and I like having a washing machine and dryer in my room - I always marvel at how efficiently the Japanese use small spaces and this hotel room is no different. The breakfast downstairs is fine - there is bread and coffee - always wonder why salad is served for breakfast in Japan - so if you fancy that can have salad too. The Toku foodhall in the station is wonderful and you can stop up on dinner there.

I like this hotel and its location and will keep coming back

Room Tip: I like rooms that face away from the street but it is such a small street, there should be no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here between Nov 9-15 as we were attending a conference in Tokyo. Hotel is located in a busy area on the "north" part of Tokyo. My wife and I got a double bed bedroom which was clean and cozy! This is Japan so spaces are always compact but we had all the amenities we needed including TV, hairdryer, bathroom stuff and even a washing machine, pant presser & microwave! The bathroom was actually big and was very clean indeed! Please note that turn down service in this hotel is only done once a week.

The price was overall fair and included breakfast buffet every morning! Being Tokyo "experienced" I wasn't all that pleased with the location but it was very close to the Tokyo Metro subway station. There was an abundance of great places to eat though - I guess it was just some sleazy looking "girl" bars that were also around the hotel - but Tokyo is a safe city so noone is actually going to bother you or drag you in!

It was a little far from the major parts of the city that I like though ie. 25 minutes by subway to Shibuya & 32 minutes to Roppongi! Aside from that, the hotel was a well kept place, clean, staff were helpful and service was good. All modern amenities were there so no complaints including the electronic toilet seat with english instructions! :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bangloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Opening in April 2010, 10 mins walk distance from the Ikebukuro JR station (walk towards the 副都心線 and get out from exit C6).
Free wifi in hotel lobby, free internet in-room (you can get a wire lan from reception), one desktop in the lobby for free, free ice-machine near lobby (you can have your own whisky on rock), one 7-eleven & one family mart near the coner within 1 min walk distance.
Several restaurants along the road from exit C6 to the hotel. 1010 store with 2 mins walk distance. Walking street named 一番街 with 2 mins walk distance, there are many restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardWong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel on Oct 4, 2011 for 1 night, and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the location can't be any better! It's about 1 minute walk from Ikebukuro's C6 exit, which has an escalator that leads to the underground pathway connecting the entire Ikebukuro station as well as multiple shopping malls such as Seibu.
The room is tiny, perfect for 1 person, but might be a bit cosy for 2. The bed is quite comfortable, but the pillow is a little bit smaller than standard pillows. The overall decor of the room is modern and clean, but the walls aren't totally sound proof (I heard some banging sound from my neighbor)...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iciecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
#6 of 55 in Toshima
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel JR Ikebukuro-nishiguchi
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro

Address: 2-12-2 Ikebukuro, Toshima 171-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Toshima
#3 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: $79 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing