We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for singles and couples (business or holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I love staying at the Flexstay in Ikebukuro -- I've stayed there for work at least 4 times now and it is a reliable and convenient location. Since my last visit I've noticed that the rooms now have microwaves, and bidet-style toilets too, which is great.

The staff there are always happy to help, and they go to great efforts to understand English-speaking guests, although it should be noted that there aren't any fluent staff members. There are plenty of handouts and forms that are in English though, so you will be able to be understood, if you're not too shy about giving Japanese a try. If you are the kind of traveler that is very concerned about language difficulties, I would recommend you stay at another hotel that caters toward English-speaking guests.

Location is great: close to the cute area of Ootsuka station (on the Yamanote line) and there are plenty of restaurants/cafes around as well. Sunshine city, with its shopping and food options is just a 5 min walk away. There are mini-supermarkets all around, and a 24 hour food place at the bottom of the hotel (although not affiliated).

Note that one side of the hotel faces another building and therefore the rooms don't have a view at all. The other side (east) is very open and overlooks a petrol station and has a nice view of the city skyline.

I have recommended this hotel to many colleagues and friends. I will return to stay again. Excellent value, clean, and the self-catering option is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013
Google Translation

この度はホテルマイステイズ東池袋をご利用頂きまして誠にありがとうございます。
室内では快適にお過ごし頂けたご様子で私共も大変安心致しました。
これからも皆様のご意見やご要望を前向きに検討し、1日1日成長して参ります。
またのご機会にお客様とお目にかかれます日を楽しみにしております。
担当 樋口

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 159 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

This used to be called Weekly Mansion, but they changed the name last year. We stayed here twice on our past annual trips to Tokyo, last being in Nov'10. For a bit more than House Ikebukuro, you get your own toilet, more privacy, and better comfort.

Bit of a walk from Ikekuburo station, but we usually grab a special deal bentos for dinner at the shopping basements after 7pm and shop our way back. When going out you should head to Ootsuka Station which is nearer.

Room Tip: Alight at Ootsuka station, and follow the "railway" up the gentle slope on right. This way...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank tsubame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you very much for staying at Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN.

Yes we changed the hotel name from "Weekly Mansion" to "Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN", and we put new equipments such as a microwave and a kettle.

According to your comment, we could consider that you satisfied with our house like services.
Because we would like customers to stay this hotel as well as they spent time in their house, your comment is very pleasure for us.

As you reffered, our nearest station is JR-Ootsuka station, but two more sub-way stations are also within 15 minutes by walk: Higashi-Ikebukuro station of Yu-rakutyou Line and Shinootsuka station of Marunouchi-Line. Also, there are lots of places to eat ( good for Lunch and Dinner) near here.

We hope you will choose us for your next stay again and sincerely appreciate for your time to review your stay.

Best regards,




Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN
Reception Staff
Yuka Takagishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was a clean cosy hotel accessible to the Ikebukuro district though located in a quiet hard to find area. I would suggest the hotel puts up clearer directions to the hotel as the website is a bit vague as to how to get there. That said, the room was tiny but contained many useful amenities e.g stove and washing sink. It was also clean and well kept. But the bed, which is more like a supersized single, is rather small for two persons and it would be more comfortable for two staying if an extra blanket were provided.

The warm toilet seat was a nice touch in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, Reception Staff at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you very much for staying at Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN.

Our nearest station is JR-Ootsuka station which is next to Ikebukuro station by Yamanote-Line. Although we can walk to Ikebukuro station by the hotel, it takes about 20 minutes, so we recommend to take the train to get there. We take your comment sincerely and try to change the map so that other new customers can find out the hotel easire.

Each room has a semi-double bed whichi size is 120cm×190cm. We have extra blanket for rend so could you please ask us if you come to our hotel again.

We do appreciate your high evaluations despite many inconvenience points.
We will put more efforts to serve be more comfortable service and accommodation for you.

We hope you will choose us for your next stay.




Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN
Reception Staff
Yuka Takagishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Flexstay Higashiikebukuro for a week. This is not your typical 5 star hotel, however it is great value for money. The rooms are kind of small and the bathrooms are small too. So they are nice and cosy for solo travellers. This hotel is within walking distance to all popular amenities in Ikebukuro such as shopping mall 'Tokyo Hands", restaurants, amusements, shopping and Yamanote train station and Otsuka train station. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and allowed me to leave my luggage there for two days while we went to stay in Shibuya for the weekend and returned back to Ikebukuro for another 3 nights. HIghly recommend this hotel and stay and will be back to stay here because its value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estellee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, Reception Staff at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for your stay at Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN.

We appreciate your warm comment, and are encouraged. Also we will keep to work hard to serve more comfortable hospitality and accommondation.

There are different affordable stay plans; Daily-plan, Weekly-plan, and Monthly-plan.
If you plan to stay longer, it will be more helpful to save money. Each room has mini-kitchen and we have kitchen tools for free rental, so we hope you also can enjoy cooking in the room.

As you mentiond, here is nice place to eat, play, and shopping. Also Ikebukuro station which is next to the Ootsuka station nearest station from here is one of biggest stations in Tokyo and very accessible.

We sincerely appreciate for your time to review your stay and will look forward to serving you again.




Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN
Reception Staff
Yuka Takagishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is my second stay at Flexstay at Ikebukuro and my fifth overall at the Flexstay chain. This isn't a flashy hotel, but when you examine it on a dollar basis, it is excellent.

The rooms are clean, as is the foyer area and I even saw someone vacuuming the entrance outside the hotel. The lovely ladies on the front desk speak excellent English and are always willing to help.

The location is great. Nearby to Sunshine City and all the shops, but in a half residential area with supermarkets where the locals shop. Value is beyond compare and always amazes me that you can find accommodation like this in Tokyo.

The rooms are small, as is the bathroom, which has been upgraded since I last stayed with one of those fancy toilets!

Sleep is easy, with four pillows to choose from, including two with memory foam. Outside noise is minimal and light can be easily controlled with the curtains.

Overall a very enjoyable experience, irrespective of price. And when you add in price, it unparalleled.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffy_from_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, Reception Staff at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for coming back to Flextay Higashi-Ikebukueo INN.

We do appreciate your comment and highly evaluaion.
Here is great location for shopping, playing, going out to eat, and next to the Ikebukuro station which is one of the biggest stations in Tokyo. However, we have tried to serve great accommondation and reasonable places.

According to your comment, we could consider that you have a good time with us. We have kept to effort to serve more comfortable room and hospitality. Although not all staff can speak in English, we try to do our best, so please ask us anything.

As you mentioned, a room may not enough spacious, but we have tried to improve in different sides such as changed to a shower toilet, put microwave and a kettle, and set two different kinds of pillows.

We hope that you choose us again if you get a chance to stay in Tokyo.

Thank you very much for your time to review and we will look forward to serving you again.



Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro
Reception Staff
Yuka Takagishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Like anywhere in Tokyo: Just speaking english will be complicated.
But I can really advise Mansion. Very good rooms. And close to Yamanote Line.
You can get fast into the city. And it is easy to find from the Otsuka Station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms5896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, Reception Staff at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you very much for staying at Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN.

Although not all staff can speak in fluent English, it is the same that all staff have tried to serve comfortable stay for you.

As you reffered to, our nearest station is Ootsuka station of JR-Yamanote-Line. But also two sub-way lines are close from here which are Marunouchi-Line and Yu-rakutyou-Line.

We appreciate that you spend a time to review and hope we can serve you again.




Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN
Reception Staff
Yuka Takagishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

For the price, it's a hidden gem. The interior is very clean, everything is new, the toilet and bathroom are clean. The room is surprisingly big (the photos don't do it justice!) and there is also a small kitchenette provided, with a small stove, a sink, some pots and a kettle. There is free internet available, but it's LAN only, not wireless, but if you have a laptop that's perfect! There is also a coin laundry available on the 2nd floor (where the reception is) but this gets busy around 6-8pm, so if you can try to get in early. The cost of the washing machine is 300yen, and the dryer is 100 yen, both taking about 30 minutes to use each. The dryer takes 15 minutes for 100 yen. The washing machine is 30 minutes for 300 yen, and there are vending machines with washing powder available.

On a weekly rate, you don't get a maid service but you are allowed to change your towels anytime you want, by going to the reception desk and asking for a new towel. If you stay under 6 days you get a maid service.

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from Ootsuka Station, on the JR Yamanote line, which is great for those who have a JR pass. The walk up is uphill but the cleanilness of the hotel, and warm staff make up for it!

The area is very quiet, with a few nice little shops and a street that sells cheap fruit on the way up from the station (not the main road where the train tracks go, the left street).

All in all it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay! I recommend this place when you're staying in Tokyo!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rottentea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fs-higashi-ikebukuro, Reception Staff at Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for staying at Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN.
We sincerely appreciate for your warm comment and evaluation.

It is our pleasure to hear that you recommend our hotel to stay in Tokyo.
There are different plans we offer; Daily, Weekly, and Monthly.
As you commented, weekly and monthly plan are more reasonable, but change towels and linennes and room cleaning are not included because we would like you to stay as well as staying your house.

To make longer stay more comfortable, there are mini-kitchen, a microwave, and a kettle in each room. and we have free rental of cooking tools. Moreover, you can use 24hours open coin lundry and coin Internet at the common area. We also have paid rental of a laptop (1 night is 1,000JPY) and DVD player (525JPY till 6 nights).

Among Ootsuka station and the hotel, you also can take a streetcar called Toden Arakawa Line which is one of oldest streetcar lines in Tokyo.

Again we do appreciate that your time to review and evaluation and we hope you choose us if you get a chance to stay in Tokyo.



Flexstay Higashi-Ikebukuro INN
Reception Staff
Yuka Takagishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
the b tokyo ikebukuro
#7 of 56 in Toshima
472 reviews
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Hotel Wing International Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
APA Hotel Ikebukuro Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro

Address: 4-39-13 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly フレックステイ東池袋イン)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Toshima
#2 Best Value Hotel in Toshima
#8 Business Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: $44 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not provide the cleaning service during your stay. You can use a vacuum in the closet.Or please come to the front desk in advance for the paid cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing