We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b tokyo ikebukuro
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

With a warmer staff the stay would have be perfect. Large rooms, excellent location near Ikebukuro station and an unforgettable breakfast. What can an European tourist ask for more in Tokyo? Forget Shinjuku and Large Western hotel with american tourist in Large bermudas: this is a place for japanese were non-japanese are anyhow more than welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Albsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Albsig

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your review.
We are beyond happy to know that you liked our room and location. We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations in our staff’s behavior. I will make sure that it will be improved.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for the b tokyo ikebukuro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 458 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

The b Ikebukuro is a cut above the usual business hotel - its decor and facilities are more in keeping with a boutique hotel, without the prices to match.

The hotel is located just five minutes from Ikebukuro railway station, from where it is easy to get to almost anywhere else in Tokyo (including the airport) by train and/or metro. The rooms are stylish with comfortable beds, air conditioning, a fridge and tiny but excellent bathrooms. Shampoo, shower gel and other items were provided. The breakfast buffet is served from an early hour and is very good, with a wide selection of Japanese and Western foods, fresh coffee and various fruit juices. There is free coffee available at all times in the foyer, and vending machines for water and soft drinks. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful and professional throughout our stay.

As is common in Japan, it is not possible to check in before 3pm. However, we were able to leave our luggage for the day and return later to check in. There is free WiFi, but only in the foyer.

The only complaint I would have is that the hotel would not give us more than one key card for the room even though there were three of us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter. Triple rooms are just standard twin rooms with an extra...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Michael S

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for your review.

We are pleased to read your positive comments about our room, breakfast and staff. I will share your kind comment with our culinary team and front desk members. Now free WiFi is available in each and every guest room. We still have a free LAN cable in all rooms as well for your convenience. We are sorry that you were disappointed about key card. We would provide more if needed – we apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We appreciate your feedback. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel rates were quite reasonable and the hotel itself is a mere 5 minutes walk from the Ikebukuro JR and metro stations. The fact that the hotel is located in Ikebukuro means that the main tourist sites are easily accessible. There are lots of food options in the area and a mall called 'Sunshine City' is just a short walk away.

The hotel staff are not very proficient in English but I guess they can can still communicate at a basic level. The check-in and counter-staff service can however be improved. The rooms were not ready at the check-in time of 3pm and the staff didn't look too pleased whenever we asked them for directions. I asked about the opening time of the Ikebukuro JR information office as I wanted to book my train train ticket to the airport, but was given the wrong information. It was a good thing I insisted that they checked the JR website - had this not been done, I would have probably missed my train to the airport. I however received no apologies whatsoever for being given the wrong information.

Rooms were above average. It was pretty small but I guess for the price, it wasn't too bad. Do note that the toilet doors are translucent - it may be awkward if you are sharing a room with a friend or a family member.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qamarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Qamarul

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to share your experience. We are disappointed that we could not provide the best customer service for your needs – your comments are very important to us – I have already notified the team for improvement.

As you mentioned, Ikebukuro is one of the major areas in Tokyo – you can find shopping, restaurants, bars and more around the station and the hotel. As for the bathroom door, it is one of the ways to make the room look bigger and more comfortable. If people are not comfortable, there are rooms with a “normal” bathroom door.

We would like to thank you again for your comment. Please come back and see us upon your return to Tokyo.

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A total of seven of us travel together to Tokyo and we chose this hotel, although I experienced a bit of hiccup during check in that they could not located my reservation, but at the end, they found it.

The location of the hotel is unbeatable, very easily accessible via JR station, with lot of shopping around which opens late. (some till midnight)
Room sizes are those of normal Japanese business hotel, cannot complaint and it has everything that supposed to be in.
The free coffee at the lobby is quite tasty, always grabs one on our way out in the morning.
The staff at the front desk speaks English quite well especially the lady that we encountered on our check out day. She is very helpful with our request and always keeping a big smile on her face.

This is the second times that I stayed in this hotel group, this hotel would be definitely be my first choice for my next trip to Tokyo.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank piggy_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear piggy_pig

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We would also like to express our sincere appreciation for being such a loyal guest of the Ishin Hotels Group. The location as you mentioned is definitely one of our strengths – Ikebukuro is a popular and convenient location in Tokyo and we are only a few minutes from the Ikebukuro station. One of other strengths is free coffee available every day at the lobby. We are happy that you took an advantage of it. Please do come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Modern, clean and not cramped for reasonable prices.

Toilets are for once not the modular plastic cramped little spaces usually seen in most non-luxury city hotels.

Staff can speak english.

5min walk from JR Ikebukuro Stn. Lots and lots of food surrounding the area.

The coin laundry facility is really useful (so you can pack light!)

**For some reason it is cheaper to book in Japanese than in English on some occasions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nexusangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear nexusangel

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for taking the time to post your review.
We are happy to see you rating us a five-star! As for the booking price, our own website, the official the b ikebukuro website, offers the best rate guaranteed for both English and Japanese.

Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and were positively surprised.
The room is very small, but it is normal for Tokyo. Very modern and clean room. Great bathroom and location.
Ikebukuro is a great neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and large shopping malls. it is located on the JR Yamamote line, which is perfect for traveling around the city.
Very inexpensive for Tokyo. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claumax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Claumax8

Thank you for choosing the b ikebukuro and for posting your comment.
We are pleased to hear your positive experience at the hotel. As you said, Ikebukuro is a great neighborhood for your Tokyo base – it is conveniently located on the JR Yamanote line and we are only a few minutes away from the station.
Thanks again – please come back and see us upon your return to Tokyo!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel lived up to the majority of reviews, which I'm always a bit wary of. Its situation is good, being under 5 mins from Ikebukuro Station, which is on the Narita Express line from Narita Airport and near to all the large stores and convenience stores you could want. The fact that breakfast was included in the price was a bonus and the breakfast really set us up for the day. The triple room was not as small as I imagined,although, if I had any complaints, I would say that having one single bed and 2 small doubles in it made it more cramped than it needed to be and the beds were rather hard. The bathroom was small but had everything: the shower, with 3 different settings was fab and the heated toilet cum bidet seat was unusual! All toiletries were provided, so all you would need to bring would be deodorant. The rooms were cleaned each day, beds made and fresh towels provided. Altogether a very pleasurable experience. We would certainly go there or to a sister hotel, again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet. We didn't deliberately choose one at the back but...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear winval

Thank you for choosing the b Ikebukuro and for taking your time to write the review.
We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback about your stay. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Japan! Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toshima hotels
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#4 of 55 in Toshima
254 reviews
Ikebukuro
Super Hotel Lohas Ikebukuro-Eki Kitaguchi
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mystays Higashi-Ikebukuro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b tokyo ikebukuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b tokyo ikebukuro

Address: 1-39-4 Higashiikebukuro, Toshima 170-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toshima
#4 Family Hotel in Toshima
Price Range: $76 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b tokyo ikebukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of this exciting city, just three minutes walk from the JR Ikebukuro and subway stations providing easy access to Shinjuku, Shinjuku and Tokyo Dome. This newly opened hotel is right in the centre of the entertainment, nightlife, shopping, business and restaurant precinct, but also just minutes to Sunshine City including aquarium and observatory deck, Namja Town, Ancient Orient Museum and Japan Traditional Crafts Centre. Ideal hotel for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your the b tokyo ikebukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Ikebukuro Hotel Toshima
The b Tokyo Ikebukuro Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing