We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
Nearby Hotels
$177
$121
Moxy Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryogoku View Hotel(Sumida)(Great Value!)
$115
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel MyStays Asakusa(Sumida)(Great Value!)
$83
$39
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$195
$111
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$93
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ONE@Tokyo(Sumida)
$107
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Famy Inn Kinshicho(Sumida)(Great Value!)
$89
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
94
193
83
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
193
83
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedo museumsumo stadiumjr stationshuttle bus to disneylandjapanese guestsoedo linejapanese restaurantsmall fridgethe hotel stafftriple roomnice hotelrooms are cleanground floorskytree viewconvenient storehotel roomgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 398 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent 3 days 2 nights in Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku. It was splendid. Easy to find this hotel, it's just 2 minutes walk from Oedo Line Subway (Ryogoku Station, A4 Exit). Convenient store just across the street if you're starving, Edo Museum on the next door, Great Kanto Earth Quake Memorial Museum & Sumo stadium just nearby. We used Tokyo Monorail & Oedo Line Subway from/to Haneda International Airport. The room is clean and spacious and the rates are reasonable. We loved it. The only difficulties we had was communication with the hotel staff. They barely speak english but they were helpful and tried very best to speak in english with us.

Room Tip: Great city view from any room. The best if you can get Tokyo Skytree View Room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izyanliana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryogoku-syukuhann, 宿泊販売予約 at Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear, izyanliana84

Thank you for choosing Daiichi-Hotel Ryogoku during your visiting Tokyo,and appreciate to have kind comments on our hotel

Also,thank you for contributing the nice photo.

We are glad that you enjoyed trip in Ryogoku.

Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.



Daiichi-Hotel Ryogoku
Room sales department

Hiroshi Okumura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Japan since 2+ weeks. And we have found unmatched level of hospitality everywhere except this hotel.
Starting from when we arrived, the concierge(a man sitting in hotel uniform at his position at the door)just glanced at us trying to haul our luggage but didn't even stir. It was odd, going by the usual standards.
The person at the reception for check-in didn't even smile, forget welcoming in their usual cheerful refreshing style!
After some tiring travel, these little things matter in making us smile and feel welcome.
The rooms were normal size with a good view.
The location is quite close to places such as Old Yasuda Garden, Sumo Theatre and Edo Tokyo Museum!

However, my irritation with the staff doesn't end with the check in.
We were there for 2 nights. And while accepting the room keys, we didn't check what dates they had registered for us.
Inspite of the receipt voucher clearly specifying the dates, they had only checked us in for one night.
So imagine our surprise when we couldn't open our rooms on day 2.
We went back down to ask them about it.
The staff men were unapologetic about it and simply issued us a new key card.
The restaurant attached to the lobby had average food, and once again, indifferent staff. Anywhere else in the world, this would seem average.
But, the small cafe attached to the hotel, Cerise I think, was really nice. The girl operating the morning shift was very sweet and helped with questions about getting around the city that the hotel staff didn't answer well. She even drew a direction map for later in case we forget! Bless her!
Clearly, the hotel wasn't welcoming to us and we do not wish to revisit them.
We found another nicer hotel in Tokyo, near Ginza.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegularTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryogoku-syukuhann, 宿泊販売予約 at Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear, RegularTravellerGirl

Thank you for choosing Daiichi-Hotel Ryogoku during your visiting Tokyo,and appreciate to take the time to write your comment on Trip Advisor.

And also thank you for having a review of the praise to the Cerise staff.

However, we apologize in having disappointed you by service to be lacking in hospitality by a concierge and the reception staff at the time of your arrival.

Furthermore, we are so sorry that we have done the accident of the key by the front staff of your stay.
We will try for service improvement without all staff forgetting a smile and the hospitality to a visitor like her.

Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service.

Sincerely


Daiichi-Hotel Ryogoku
Room sales department

Hiroshi Okumura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was my first time in Tokyo. Hotel is ok, people are so helpful. They go the extra mile to help us in our inquiries. Breakfast is good, a lot actually. But it help if they would have a variety everyday. Communication with the staff presents a problem, most of them speak very little english. The tourist maps available in the lobby are also in Japanese. Sleep quality is excellent. I did not even notice that we had a 7.3 earthquake at 2am. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryogoku-syukuhann, 宿泊販売予約 at Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear leftcorner

Thank you for choosing Daiichi-Hotel Ryogoku during your first visiting Tokyo,and appreciate to take the time to write your comment on Trip Advisor.

Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.



Daiichi-Hotel Ryogoku
Room sales department

Hiroshi Okumura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here as it was chosen as the meeting venue. Reasonable discount rates for our group and nicely appointed rooms with a great view of the Tokyo Tree Tower esp from the top floor breakfast room that served both Japanese and western choices.

While the room had LAN connections it did not have wifi - which was only available only in the lobby -- very inconvenient for those of us with cordless devices (like iphones). Also very hard to arrange for early check-in which hard if you arrive early morning and have to wait til nearly 3pm.

Concierge very helpful -- but not much English spokne by staff otherwise. Nice location near the lively Ryoguko train (JR) station with lots of small restaurents ( better value than the hotel ones). Also near the sumo wrestling centre and the Edo museum nearby - and a convenient subway line.

Mild earthquake the second night which uneventfully just shivered through the apparently earthquake proofed building - but would have been nice to have had upfront in English some hotel issued instructions on what to do in case of such.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank las_oldoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you had plan to go to Tokyo Disney Resort( land or SEA), I really recommend this hotel.
They have shuttle bus from TDR! its free and it takes about 45min.
If you want it ,please remember you have to book.
Location-wise, it's good . Ryogoku station(Tokyo metro Ohedo line) directory hotel and Ryogoku station(JR) are just 7 min walk away, and there is convenience store in front of hotel.In hotel, there is also small shop but not open 24hrs.
they dont have wifi, but you can use LAN.
Staff were really kind and helpful.
When I asked about how to go to Skytree, they showed me many informations. There are still long que, so without their information I had to wait long long time same as uninformed people. Thanks of staff,we could go easily and took tower without waiting.
Breakfast was buffet style, we were eating seeing skytree. It was really good view! Of course breakfast was tasty. Especially Omelet was so good. there are japanese food and western both.
Regarding service, well, they get their job done with a smile.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sawaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryogoku-syukuhann, 宿泊販売予約 at Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

Dear Ginen Guam,

Thank you for having stayed at the Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku.

We appreciate for contributing review during your stay to a Trip adviser.

However, We apologize to having made you feel inconvenient about wi-fi. We will take measures in near future.

Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service.

We hope you will be back to us and can be in your service again.


Daiichi Hotel Ryogoku

Room sales Department

Hiroshi Okumura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews