We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and amazing city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ryogoku Pearl Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Worcester
Level Contributor
412 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Good hotel and amazing city”
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Very nice modern hotel. Rooms are good for doubles/twins but cramped if a single. bathrooms are small but well appointed.
Everything seems to be changed daily if used.
Tokyo is amazing. I could recommend so many places but everywhere was unbelievable for us as first time visitors.
The only down side is crowds on trains and in popular places for example Ueno Park as it was cherry blossom viewing time.
That said places like Imperial Palace Gardens and Meiji Shrine were quiet with few people about.
Travelled on the Shinkansen (bullet train). You do not get impression of speed on board but you definately do at station when one goes through non-stop!!
I recommend hotel for those who do not mind being a little way from main areas (easily accessible by train station opposite) and have a double/twin room.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and in my wifes case toilets!!!
  • Disliked — Small single rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    48
    53
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
8
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2007

The Hotel is located near to the Station, the Kokugikan and Tokyo Edo Museum. A lot of Restaurants, Bars and Sumo-dojos around. The Ryogoku-quarter is a very charming part of the city.

Rooms are quite small, but they are clean and have a good standard equipment. At the desk English is hardly understood.

It is just a good place to lay your head overnight and explore the city from. And a fair deal.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wacki46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2006

The Ryogoku Pearl Hotel is located across the street from the JR Train Line "Ryogoku" station... it has no English language exterior signage, but look for a row of bright red, round paper lanterns adjacent to the main door (and ask a stranger if you're really stuck... that's what I did!) This hotel is an excellent value for those trying to be budget-conscious in this exceedingly expensive city. The rooms, though small, are kind of cute, with fluffy pillow and crisp, fresh bed linens. You are also provided with a freshly pressed kimono for room wear every morning, a nice touch. If you are tall (say, 6' and over) or overweight, you will not love the extremely compact "pod" bathroom... while innovative in design, it's really intended for someone of typical Japanese proportions (that is to say, on the short side and slim). That said, it does feature a nifty little soaking tub: you do need to sit in it with your knees bent, but even so the water comes up to your shoulders. Very warming on a chilly night. Also, if you have copious amounts of luggage, you may find it hard to find a place to stow it: The rooms are so small that there is really not a single iota of extra space for more than one large suitcase and perhaps a backpack. The desk staff speak very little English, and there is no ATM that accepts American cards within a country mile of the place, so make sure you have plenty of cash. It's on the Oeno subway line which connects you with all underground trains in Tokyo as well as the JR line, which runs to and from Narita Airport (extremely convenient!) It's located in north east Tokyo, and in a neighborhood that is synonymous with Sumo! Across the street from the hotel are two Tokyo landmarks, the famous Edo Tokyo Museum (Edo being the original name of the city) which shows life in Tokyo over hundreds of years, and the big Sumo "stadium" where all the major sumo wrestling matches take place. I even saw a sumo wrestler-in-training walking down the street! On the road that runs along side the train tracks, there are lots of little local restaurants serving noodles, tempura, tonkatsu and the usual... these are very reasonably priced and tasty (just point to what you want). There's also a European-style bakery on the corner for coffee and croissants if you prefer. Convenience and "100 Yen" stores abound, so the neighborhood does really have most everything a tourist would need (except that pesky ATM). The hotel restaurant is good and straightforward, although seems to have somewhat erratic hours. There is free high-speed Internet in the lobby, which is really a wonderful thing. All in all, I'd stay here again. No frills, but a good value and an interesting neighborhood.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2005

I'm from the orlando area and I stayed in Ryogoku pearl hotel during my stay in Japan for 2 weeks. The pros=Great location,the hotel is across from the Kokugikan which is the sumo stadium. Also the Edo-Tokyo museum and Ryogoku station it takes about 2 minutes to get to the JR line train station.The cons=Non english speaking staff. I had trouble speaking with them only about 2 of them could understand some of what I was saying, very small room. The single person room is the bed and bathroom
that's it. But the pros outweight the cons and there's free highspeed internet in the lobby .It was the best experience I have had in my life and I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumida hotels
0.1 mi away
Ryogoku View Hotel
Ryogoku View Hotel
#4 of 16 in Sumida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
#5 of 16 in Sumida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryogoku River Hotel
Ryogoku River Hotel
#14 of 16 in Sumida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
#6 of 16 in Sumida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tobu Hotel Levant Tokyo
1.3 mi away
Lotte city hotel Kinshicho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryogoku Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryogoku Pearl Hotel

Property: Ryogoku Pearl Hotel
Address: 1-2-24 Yokoami, Sumida 130-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Sumida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryogoku Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ryogoku Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ryogoku Pearl
Ryogoku Pearl Sumida
Ryogoku Pearl Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing