We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Round and Around”

Toriton Tokyo Solamachi
Ranked #2 of 2,909 Restaurants in Sumida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Generally we would stay away from this type of sushi restaurant but this place was quite good, fun, and reasonably priced! If you don’t see what you want, you can order off the menu!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank richardgG1237GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 180 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

This place is very popular. Be prepared to wait but it is very much worth it. You can order with the paper pad or take sushi from the conveyer belt. The sushi is all very tasty. I recommend the fatty tuna and raw scallop. It all tastes very fresh and has no fishy smell. I also had the pudding for dessert and it was smooth and silky. Very good. 10/10 would come again.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

We stayed near Tokyo Solamachi while in Tokyo so this was one of the restaurants we had to try. We went there for the first time on a Sunday, about 1/2 hour before it opened and there was already a long line that went around the corner and wound back to the front. We waited about 1 1/2 hours before the 4 of us were seated at the counter.

My husband and younger son are vegetarian so they mostly ordered the Japanese omelette sushi (tamagoyaki) and cucumber rolls (kappamaki). My older son and I tried many of the different nigiri but our favorites were the various salmon and tuna sushi. The cuts of raw fish are thicker and larger than anything we've had in the US. And the prices are really cheap (130 yen for the vegetarian dishes and between 290 yen and 630 yen for the fish and more exotic dishes). You can also make your own cups of green tea free of charge.

Every 15 minutes or so, the chefs would call out a special priced dish holding a tray of them and you can try those if you want. Also, if a dish you want isn't circulating on the conveyor belt, you can write the number on a order form and give it to a chef for them make it special for you! At the end of your meal, the waitresses come by and scan the stacks of dishes and print out a bill for you to pay at the entrance.

Our first meal cost around US $50 for the 4 of us! Obviously a lot of those were the cheapest white dishes but that was really cheap for a sushi meal. We loved the restaurant so much that we came back the next evening where the wait was about 40 minutes. We will definitely be back if we are ever in the area again!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tofurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

Decided to try this sushi based on the excellent reviews here. Our 1st dinner in Tokyo since we landed...so we were very hungry. Decided to head there early as it seems popular & as advised that there may be a queue after 6.30pm . We were at Tokyo Solamachi which is the mall at Skytree at 5.40pm n already there was a queue of about 10 people. But the wait was short as the service was brisk. The lady managing the queue, asked us for the menu which language we would like to read (Korean, Chinese & English). We looked through the menu before we got a lovely table with the sushi belt next to us. It was about 15 min wait. If U go with 3 or more, they can get u the table seat instead of counter seats.

Every sushi that was on the belt looked sooo enticing!!

We had the grilled unagi which was sliced thick and long! Much longer than the rice in it. In fact, a lot of the sushi were presented in that way. A lot of seasonal fishes were from Hokkaido. You can pick sushi off the train or order on paper from the menu, with the numbers allocated to the item.

Grilled aburi, fried potato Mochi from Hokkaido, seasoned squid, grilled hotate sushi, grilled salmon sushi, including king crab miso soup n the fabulous Hokkiado milk pudding that came a tiny pot of honey were all sooo good!!

The best part...there was a hot sale of sushi items or fried or grilled fish every 15 min we were there...all the chefs will yell out the item on hot sale which came hot from the kitchen..a bell will be rang continuously n all chef standing (there were about 4 chef) there will yell out the sale item together. It was truly amazing experience. Almost like sitting in a fish market watching the live action and eating the best sushi they are offering. So fresh n so good!

No regrets and truly this place beats all sushi restaurants that we had so far in Japan from previous trips (including Hokkaido, Osaka & Tsukiji market or maybe I did not try the best of the best yet).

My final verdict is simply 5 stars for creative sushi, thick cuts fish, super duper fresh fish, best dining experience & most reasonable price to match.

If u love sushi & happen to be in Tokyo, pls try this place at Tokyo Solamachi. It’s at Oshiage station, Exit B3. It’s connected directly to this mall. Take the lift to level 6. Oh by the way, after this meal, we walked to the back of level 6 (which is a restaurant floor) there’s a fabulous dessert shop Ujicha Gion Tsujiri with the sooo yummy Level 6-7 matcha ice creams & hojicha drinks & ice creams.

Sit by the window n enjoy the night view of Tokyo with the Christmas lights.

We ended our evening by visiting the Christmas market and the Christmas trees that they have just outside the mall by the Skytree counter entrance.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Kikis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

This is a popular place to eat, we arrived there on a weekday for dinner around 6:30pm and the queue was 30 mins wait. Once inside, there are plenty of choice. All sushi dish serving size is large. Not only seafood dishes were yummy but their eggplant with miso paste dish was fantastic too. We ended up with 20 dishes for 3 people for just over 7100 yen. Good Value!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abdul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toriton Tokyo Solamachi also viewed

 

Been to Toriton Tokyo Solamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing