We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent volunteer guides”
Review of Edo-Tokyo Museum

Edo-Tokyo Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.58*
and up
Private Asakusa, Tsukiji Fish Market and Sumo Stable Tour Including Water Bus...
Ranked #1 of 192 things to do in Sumida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This fascinating museum displays artifacts and architecture that tell a tale of Tokyo's history. Exhibits include replicas of an ancient Kabuki theatre and the original Edo Castle.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent volunteer guides”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was lucky to be given a private tour of the museum by one of the volunteer guides, Mr. Kunio Sanui. He is a superb storyteller with excellent English and impressive knowledge of history. I think this was the best history and culture lesson I've ever had!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnkaSkakanka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    547
    128
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level Contributor
318 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent museum with the right guide”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We could see Japan history beautifully represented, the old and the new. The edo period the modern time and tokyo through world war II. Intersting and teaching

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

It's really big museum we were there for 2 and a half hours and it's really amazing everything is written in English too and if you are interested in Japan history this is a place you must visit :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Martina I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I really love history, so this place was a must see
I stayed in Shiodome so an easy Station to Station trip, traveling on the Tokyo Subway is cool, be careful with the ticketing though
The Museum is just around the corner from the Ryogoku station and well signposted
When you walk in, for me the size and scope, was Wow!!
Not busy so got a Volunteer Guide to show me around, her English was quaint and she was totally sweet, her love and pride for the Museum was very apparent, a pleasant hour or so
Probably not necessary but as not much English on the labels, it made the visit more enjoyable , The bridge was cool, especially underneath
The Theatre was a must, the actor on the day was a riot, my Japanese is tourist only but his performance was so funny it transcended language
The life in the city exhibits were informative and well presented, especially the infrastructure bits
I could rattle on, but I won't
If you are interested in history, go

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blacktownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
159 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Free half-a -day trip!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

On October 1st the entrance is free for everyone because of the holiday. I will take about 1-2 hours to see everything.

Helpful?
Thank Tanaka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edo-Tokyo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Edo-Tokyo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing