We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tokyo 101”
Review of Edo-Tokyo Museum

Edo-Tokyo Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.95*
and up
Private Asakusa, Tsukiji Fish Market and Sumo Stable Tour Including Water Bus...
More Info
$822.59*
and up
Private Tokyo Custom Full-Day Tour by Chartered Vehicle
Ranked #1 of 210 things to do in Sumida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This fascinating museum displays artifacts and architecture that tell a tale of Tokyo's history. Exhibits include replicas of an ancient Kabuki theatre and the original Edo Castle.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tokyo 101”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

To fully appreciate a great city one needs to know something of its history, this is the perfect place to start when visiting Tokyo! This museum covers the history of Tokyo (Edo) from approximately 1600- to post war reconstruction and does so in an interesting and entertaining way. There are a number of scale models, dioramas and hands-on activities that keep even young children from getting too bored. (however, this is not a children's museum)
The museum is fairly large, even if you are not that into history it is good to allow at least a few hours to go through the whole place. There is adequate signage in English, but you are better off getting an audio-guide to fully appreciate what you are seeing. There are also volunteer guides available if you want a more personal tour. These guides are available in a number of languages including French, German, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Korean (besides Japanese and English) but for many of these languages you need to reserve in advance so check their website. The audio guide is free and requires no reservation, just get one on either the 1st or 3rd floor information counters (must give a refundable 1000 yen deposit) These are only in Japanese, Korean, Chinese and English so plan ahead if these languages don't work for you.
The main permanent exhibits are on the 5th and 6th floors, if you start on the 6th floor and work your way down to the 5th, going from the "Edo-zone" to the "Tokyo-zone", you will follow things in chronological order. The other reviewers and photos posted basically tell you what you need to know

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellinjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    565
    133
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Tons of cool historical exhibits from different era's in the Tokyo area (previously Edo). Took longer than expected, so be prepared to spend more than a few hours there. We went back twice, once for the main exhibit and once for the special exhibit, but still did not see all we wanted to. By the end we were rushing through because we had to meet others at a specific time. Basically make sure you give yourself a full day (open-close) to see everything at a leisurely pace.
Favourite exhibit was the WW2 exhibit, very detailed and full of information. Full of thought provoking reading material, I did not realize a few things before I went to the museum that I know now.
All in all, go. If your going to visit a couple of museums make sure this is one of them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdrianoSalamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
2,129 reviews
565 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 836 helpful votes
“One of the Best Museums I Have Ever Visited”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are a museum person and typically put such visits at the top of your agenda when you travel, this place should be your first stop in Tokyo. I put this facility in the top 10 museums I have ever visited. This is partly because I tend to be a history buff but also because this place is so well done. This museum presents the chronology of the city of Tokyo and, somewhat by default, the nation of Japan as a whole. It is superbly presented. I have visited this museum three times. The first time was on my own and the second was with my family when we brought them to Tokyo. This most recent visit was with four colleagues who had never been here. This occasion was a little different as it was the first time I used one of the free volunteer guides. This gave the experience a wholly worthwhile added dimension. Having a native interpretation that gave information not available on the placards was invaluable. Beyond this, however, the displays in this museum were top notch. Upon entering, the replica of the old Nihonbashi bridge greets you with an invitation you cannot refuse. The Kabuki theater re-creation below the bridge also is impressive to view. The three dimensional miniatures showing various aspects of Old Tokyo are worth studying. Various areas of the museum are dedicated to different eras of Tokyo. The display on the war years was particularly fascinating to me. I would highly recommend this museum to anyone wanting to learn more about the history of this fascinating city. Take half a day to experience this gem!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“History of Tokyo”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's an interesting museum that would take you through the ancient years of Tokyo: from Edo era until WWII. There are miniature models, maps, objects, etc. The limited English description is enough for you to understand the history of Tokyo. It's worth the visit if you are into history..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lazyism T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“volunteer guide at museum”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My family and I were in Japan just over a month ago. We visited the Edo-Tokyo Museum while there. We didn't have any reservations for the English guide; we just simply walked up to the volunteer guide desk and asked if anyone was available. A lady guide took us around the museum, explaining the displays to us, and even conversing with us about other things. She was probably the only person in Japan that gave us a little insight to everyday, normal life in Japan. The tour took about 11/2 hours. Very enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ABKMLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edo-Tokyo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Edo-Tokyo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing