We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel reception personel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lotte city hotel Kinshicho
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very unaccomodating Hotel Staff

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days. It was my first time to travel to Japan. In general, I think the Japanese are very accomodating and very helpful to tourists. From the cab drivers to the police officers manning the police blocks, to staffs of the JR train stations, restaurant staffs and even strangers in the street when I ask for directions.

The only unaccomodating set of Japanese people I met in Japan are the male Reception attendants of Lotte City Hotel in Kinshicho. Particularly one named Sakai.

Why do I say this?

On my second night, I approched Sakai and asked him if a room massage service was available. My back was killing me so i badly needed one. He immediately said they dont have that service.
Once i got to my room, I checked the hotel book to make sure and true enough, it was one of the services they offered. So i just thought that it might just not be available that night.

The following night, I approched a female reception staff and asked if they have an available massage therapist. Unfortunately, she asked this guy whose back was turned to us, and I saw the guy shake his head to signal NO. When he turned to face us, it was the same Sakai guy.

On my fourth night, armed with a photo of the page in the hotel book that i took which states that the hotel offers a in room massage, i approached the same guy. I asked him if a massage was available and he stares at me blankly and shakes his head and says NO. Making sure he didnt misunderstand what I was asking, I gestured a massage to which again he said no. So finaly i showed him the picture of the page and with a frown, he went inside the office and came back to ask me what time I wanted the massage.

The same is true with other services that require them to do extra work.

The reason I chose this hotel was because of a good experience I had with Lotte world hotel in seoul. Everybody was friendly and eager to help. I even remember a very nice reception officer named Serena Oh. She was the epitome of courteousness and and accomodation with a smile.

The Lotte City Hotel has clean rooms and has a great location. Its just their staff that is not good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was here in Lotte City Hotel for a business trip in November. Stayed for 26days.
Stayed in the cheapest room with big writing table.

Pros
1-Bed size was huge if you stay alone. Size is a bit small than queen but way bigger than super single.
Maybe its a semidouble bed??

2-modern room with all the amenities. Perfect for long stays.

3-Near the train station and subway. you can go to the subway station from the hotel building by going to B2 level. Save you from the cold cold winter winds.

4-On the B1, there's a 7-11. Also a restaurant inside the same building. Nearby also have a lots of restaurant. I keep changing the restaurant everyday as I stay for nearly one month in the hotel.

5-security is good. To go to hotel room levels, ones need to have a key card to access the level.

6-Cleanliness is great. Everyday, the cleaner change everthing and they have thier name on the table so we know who is in charge.

7-everyday we got 2 pcs of Lotte Choc

Cons
-room is too small
-toilet is designed without a door, this is to limit the space.
-there is one guy at the front desk who is always not friendly with us(me and my friends) maybe because
we know how to speak Japanese? We always have issues with him when we want to request something.
He was always in charge in the morning of weekends. rarely seen him in weekdays.

Room Tip: Room without bathtub feels slightly big but have to bear with the design that the TOILET has no door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohailahsoheimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is located literally over the Kinshicho Station (Z13) of Tokyo Metro's Hanzomon Line. Exit 4 leads you directly into level B2 of the building. It takes less than 5 minutes from your room to actually be on a subway train (that is, if the train arrives immedeately, but it happened to me more than once). Anyway, it's very near and very convenient. I bought several Tokyo Metro special 2-day tickets for 980 Yen each at Narita Airport, which were great value. They are valid until the last subway of the next day of the first use, but only on Tokyo Metro (not on Toei Subway). Be sure to buy some at the airport, as these tickets are not available in the city.

The JR Kinshicho Station is also just a few minutes away, with direct connections to Narita Airport (1280 Yen one way) and Akihabara ;-). The close proximity of the station (and the tracks) was however not associated with excessive noise and I had my window looking to that direction. The rooms of the opposite side look towards Tokyo Sky Tree, but they also cost more.

The hotel looks new and modern, I found everything in perfect working order. The lobby is on the 4th floor. On the lower floors there is a convenience store, a restaurant, a bar, a book shop and a media shop. These are available to the public, so you will have to use your room key card in the elevator to access the levels with the rooms. On the 7th floor there is a sitting area (also accessible with the room key card), where there is free coffee and tea.

The room was just great. I had room number 1305 for five nights, with the definition "double room - single use" and a prize tag of 14800 Yen/night. It had a queen size bed (I think), which was rather firm, but comfy, with different pillows (4 altogether). I really liked the sitting area. Japanese hotel rooms tend to be tiny, I often had the problem to be able opening my luggage only on the bed. Here it was different, it was really nice to have a bit more room. Actually I chose this hotel partly because of this (I've seen pictures on TripAdvisor ;-)). The above is only true however, if you don't mind not being able to unpack your luggage. There is no cupboard. The only storage area is next to the entrance and is maybe 50cm wide, including a safe.

The bathroom was quite big (for Tokyo anyway), modern and spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the room). Water pressure and temperature were excellent.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bejo_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is the second hotel we've stayed in Tokyo. The room is small - which is expected - but ultra modern, clean and the bed was so very comfortable (which seems to be a rarity in Japan). The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. I especially loved the guy at the desk who asked me to enter my "secret code" instead of my PIN number for my card. Then he said, "Excellent." in a Mr. Burns-like way. He made me smile.

The location was great - literally right outside the JR station. The station itself is just a couple minutes train journey away from the main Tokyo station. It made a perfect base for being out and about in Tokyo. It was very easy to find - which was great because we were travelling with a lot of luggage and did not want to walk around trying to find our hotel with all of those bags.

The price was good by 'nice hotel in Tokyo' standards. The area the hotel is in has lot of restaurants and cafes, so it's very easy to pop out for something to eat.

I would most certainly recommend staying here - and we will again if we're ever lucky enough to visit Tokyo for a third time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weaselfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I planned on staying at the J Hotel Motoyawata because it was perfectly situated for my purpose, but they don't have non-smoking rooms. The Grand had poor reviews, the Super Hotel Myoden appeared to be popular simply for its cheap price (you get what you pay for) and I couldn't get any info on the splendidly-named Yamazaki-sei-pan Pension Fund Hall.
So I chose The Lotte City at Kinshicho (you don't pronounce the second 'i''), which is a short train ride away. Every room is non-smoking and a King Double costs Y18050 per night. I dealt directly with the hotel because my (ex)travel agent wanted to charge me 50% more (email: info@lottecityhotel.jp).
The limousine bus from Narita dropped me off at the Tobu Hotel just down the street, and I booked the return trip later at the Tobu (Y2700 each way). After a night on the plane my back was aching, so reception arranged a massage. I'd have preferred a masseuse, but I had to admit he did a good job (Y4200 for forty minutes). The room had everything I needed, and a couple of things I didn't, like a trouser press and an air purifier. The bed was huge and the lighting and air conditioning had easy-to-follow controls in English. Faults ? Well, the fridge was very small, and the coffee cups didn't have handles, plus the tv didn't have BBC (CNN becomes irritating after a while) and the remote was a little complicated. Not much room for storage either, two drawers, one shelf and about eighteen inches of rail to hang clothes.
Extras include an American newspaper free at Reception, except on sundays, and in the Guest Lounge on the 7th floor you get free internet and coffee.
There are two English pubs in the building which do meals, both have non-smoking sections. Try fish and chips in Ale House 82 on the 4th floor, served on newspaper to make you feel at home.
The train station is almost next door, as are the stores with food basements. Recommend Termina for drinks, Livin for salad and fruit and Queen's Isetan (K!T) for bread.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harry_capstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We booked 2 wide singles, a hollywood twin and a family twin at this hotel in October 2010 for my extended family. (mom, siblings, wives & husbands, with 2 small children). The rooms were as cute as they look in the website but the wide single was the cutest of all and, in my opinion, had the best use of space and layout. The rooms were small as is expected from tokyo hotels but the design was well thought of. English channels on cable tv were limited but we hardly spent time in the rooms so that didn't matter. I wish they had HBO though. Toiletries were an absolute plus since they used shiseido products, which we loved. Sleep robes were available for 2 people in each room. No smoking anywhere in this hotel except for a small smoking room at the hotel lobby. We used the guest lounge a lot because of the free coffee and magazines. We borrowed umbrellas since it was raining a lot when we visited. The JR Yamanote Line was literally across the street so travel was easy. We actually rode the train direct from the airport to Kinsicho stations without changing trains once. And that's the same way we got back to the airport after our vacation. There were 3 big malls within walking distance from the hotel with a big daiso shop in one of them. It was great!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sleeptalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumida hotels
0.2 mi away
Tobu Hotel Levant Tokyo
0.9 mi away
Richmond Hotel Premier Tokyo Oshiage
1 mi away
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
#6 of 18 in Sumida
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
ONE@Tokyo
ONE@Tokyo
#4 of 18 in Sumida
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ryogoku View Hotel
Ryogoku View Hotel
#5 of 18 in Sumida
79 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Famy Inn Kinshicho
Hotel Famy Inn Kinshicho
#10 of 18 in Sumida
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte city hotel Kinshicho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte city hotel Kinshicho

Address: 4-6-1 Kinshi, Sumida 130-0013, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Sumida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Price Range: $88 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotte city hotel Kinshicho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lotte city hotel Kinshicho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotte City Hotel Kinshicho Hotel Sumida
Lotte City Hotel Kinshicho Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing