We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wagyu steak and very friendly staff! ”

Teppan Baby Shinjuku
Reserve a Table
Ranked #7 of 11,268 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Description: Teppan Baby is a Japanese restaurant of Typical Japanese soul food "Hiroshima Yaki". Hiroshima Yaki is a sort of grilled dish "aka Okonomiyaki as well", looks like a pancake (salty though), which we proudly serve with fresh vegitables and meat, seafoods and eggs. You can enjoy our genuine Hiroshima Yaki not only by eating but also watching the skilled chef cooking at an open kitchen (grill counter). You can also enjoy the wide range of drink menu, including Shochu, Japanese Sake, beer and soft drinks. For vegetarian menu and anything about the menu, please feel free to let us know. We have a communication app in English, Korean, Chinese(simplified, traditional), Malay, Thai, French.
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

We went to this restaurant after reading great reviews. It did not dissapoint! The staff were friendly, spoke English and were in great spirits which created an all round fun atmosphere. We sat on the stools next to the teppan grill which we would recommend to sit at as you can really enjoy the experience of having your food cooked in front of you as well as elements of show cooking including lighting the meat on fire and making the different types of rice and noodles. If you want a good meal without the hassle of interpreting and limited choices this is the place!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pierssarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Thank you so much for coming to Teppan Baby and writing such a nice feedback! We are happy to read that you enjoyed watching the preparation of Tepppanyaki. We will keep striving to deliver quality service and food with the freshest local ingredients to our customers.
We look forward to seeing you again at our door the next time you come to Tokyo!

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 196 of 828 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2018

Booked this restaurant by phone call from UK before traveling and was unsure if our reservation would stand due to slight language barrier, however when we arrived even though there was several people in front of us waiting for tables we were seated imedately at the cooking bar as we had requested, great service.
The girl serving was friendly, happy to explain and the food was excellent, loved watching the chefs at work.
Although they were busy we were not rushed to leave.
Great place to go if in the Shinjuku area and want great service, friendly attitude and delicious food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank gj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

We are happier than ever to read your comment and learn that we were able to deliver satisfaction to you! Thank you so much! I shared your comment with our staff and they are touched, too.
We can't wait to see you again at our door and serve you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

It was too full when we got there but the staff were kind to make a reservation for 1hr later. So you should try to drop in a bit before you plan to eat. Quick and friendly service, loved sitting by the cooking area and enjoyed our food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Delia_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you so much for coming to Teppan Baby and writing a nice comment while we had to make you wait 1 hour to prepare your seats! We usually recommend a reservation by email which you can find on our page of TA (by 1 day before the date) especially for the seats at the bar, which are often asked for. Having said that, we are always more than happy to have you and serve you again! Thank you so much!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Environment was fun, and they had a good gluten free option for this Celicas kid. I wish they would have given me the ability to pair GF noodles with more of the menu (would have been an easy swap) but my personal language barrier left me settling to the option provided. All that said, food was still good and we had a great time. Especially considering I was a little hesitant to get dinner in such a touristy place.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank clairel724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thank you so much for coming to Teppan Baby and sharing your experience at TA! We are sorry that we could not able to understand your wish properly. Some of our staff speak very good English but some don't, but we are more than happy to listen to our customers and try to meet their request as much as we can. We will take your comment seriously to improve our service.
Thank you again and hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Yummmmm please go try! You wont regret great service, great show, and great food! (Tip: sit in front of the griddle!)

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hyo Joo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teppanbaby, マネージャー at Teppan Baby Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you so much for coming to Teppan Baby and writing a nice comment! We are happy to read that you enjoyed our cooking show sitting at the bar!
Hope to see you again at our door the next time you come back to Shinjuku!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppan Baby Shinjuku also viewed

 

Been to Teppan Baby Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing