We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
21
42
41
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
42
41
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shinjuku sanchome station family mart golden gai reception staff walking distance english convenience fridge tokyo kabukicho size jr toiletries underground eateries
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 112 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2016

For a budget hotel, Tateshina offers great value. The location is great, service at reception is very nice and, surprisingly the room is not as tiny as other rooms in Tokyo. Ours had two beds and enough space for our luggage and even for sitting, which was surprising. The toilet is indeed one of the smallest I´ve ever seen, more reminiscent of an airplane toilet than anything else. The rooms don´t look brand new...but they are clean. And the price of the room, for its size and location, is a rarity in Tokyo. We had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Found this hotel a day before arriving in Tokyo. What a great place. Very nice staff, room was clean, quiet, and you have the option of checking out at noon instead of the typical 10am. I had originally wanted to stay at a capsule hotel, because I wasn't getting in late and leaving early the next day, would have been an easy choice, since they're so cheap, but there was one hitch. I have a lot of tattoos. And most Capsule hotels have a no tattoo policy. So after calling a few of them in the Shinjuku area to confirm, I was out of luck. I almost gave up when I found Hotel Tateshina. I was so relieved and happy. I was even more elated when I got there! Great little hotel. and when I say little I mean little. Dont expect anything fancy or standard for western hotels. This place is tiny. The bathtub was tiny. But who cares, this place was perfect for my needs! Thanks again Hotel Tateshina, I will be back again soon!

Room Tip: I was in the main building and there wasn't a hint of cigarette smell.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetporkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, オーナー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Thank you very much for your stay.
We're glad to treat you on your demands.
Our facilities are small for western hotels standard, but we try to keep clean our guest room, and try to make a staying guest at home.
Also we locates in silent circumstance in Shinjuku area, near the Shinjuku Sanchome
station.
We're looking forward to your next visit in the near future.

sincerely,

Nobuo Yanagisawa(Mr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

It was a simple hotel. Got lost searching for it the first time. It was near C7 exit Shinjuku-sanchome (one stn away from the famous Shinjuku and Shibuya). Hotel is near Family Mart and few other convenience stores along the way from the C7 exit and hotel. Infact you can walk from Shinjuku to the hotel after knowing the area well.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. They knew minimal English. They advised on not going a certain area where its known for gangsters. Very thoughtful of them indeed. Upon check in, was provided Shinjuku area maps.

Size of hotel room was average. Toilet size was very small. Bed was comfortable. Cleaning of room was done daily. Am not sure if during this period, the aircon was deliberately not provided but it was acceptable as without the aircon, it was already very cold. Green tea, razor, toothbrush and hairbrush was provided.

Overall it is a good hotel. Will definitely recommend this to travelers who are not expecting too much.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank naihpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

Basically this is an old love hotel that is being recycled for budget travelers and it works.

Good points:
1. Location - really in the center of Tokyo and right next to the gay area (Shinjku 2-chome and 3-chome). It is an easy walk from Marunouchi Shinjuku 3-chome station - opposite the large mens clothing store Sakazen - there is a Family Mart on the corner you need to turn down.
2. Staff - efficient and cheerful older guys.
3. Rooms - basic but quiet enough (could be better dusted) with great hard new beds.
4. No issue with two men sharing a double room
5. Good fresh cooked breakfast with a choice of Japanese or Western.

Comment
1. The main building is obviously a smoking area and smells it - get a room in 'The Annex'
2. This is two buildings joined by a bridge on the 2nd floor - if you are on the 4th or 5th floor of the Annex you need to change elevators on the 2nd floor.
3. Showing it age but you are only paying 6,500 yen per person.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are in 'The Annex' which are also larger.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015

The rooms are small but typical of Japan hotels in this price range and very fresh and clean. The front desk help is fluent in English is excellent and helpful with tourist directions. WIFI is available everywhere including the rooms and very fast. Breakfast is available with advance reservation in Japanese or Western styles and delicious with very friendly, efficient staff. Location in Shinjuku is convenient and on a quiet side street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer annex building.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews