We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”
Review of Hotel Tateshina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tateshina
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Nice and very quiet and clean place to stay in this district of tokyo
Staff of the Tateshina is nice but a little to much expressive about money .......
A yen is a yen !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Thank you for a stay with us.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Recently Japanese Yen is so strong to Euro, so you may feel so expensive.
But we try to have our guest be at home with us.
Thank you for a comment, we look forward to see you in the near future.

Nobuo Yanagisawa(Mr), Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tateshina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

The rooms are clean and not expensive, the staff is very friendly and helpful. There were some minor problems with the WLAN connection, but the staff was able to fix them. The location of the hotel is also good. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herr_bugenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Thank you for a stay with us.
I thank you for your good comments to our staff.
We improve our Wireless LAN connection this November.
We replace 6 wireless access points for business purpose.
Probably it's not a problem to access WiFi inside our hotel.
We also look forward to your next visit in the future.

Thank you again.

Nobuo Yanagisawa(Mr), Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A good thing about life is when things that you have come to like - remain unchanged.
Such is my personal experience of the Hotel Tateshina in Shinjuku.
Reasonable prices. Friendly, helpful English speaking staff. Free intenet on PC in lobby.
Comfortable clean rooms in peaceful sorroundings perfectly located just off a pulsating area of Shinjuku - 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku station.
Highly recommended for the budget solo traveler to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pohlmann999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you very much for your repeat for Hotel Tateshina.
I really appreciate your patronage.
As you said, we try to treat our guest be at home with us.
It's our pleasure to hear from you many times.
We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Nobuo Yanagisawa(Mr), manager of Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Tateshina, yes the rooms are small but clean have everything you need, tea coffee etc We found the staff all very friendly and helpful, the position of the hotel was very good,We would have like to see better directions to the hotel from booking.com that is walking direction,not so much of the walk north etc.Use a landmark or eg: metro exit5 walk 20mt turn right third road on the left.We would have have liked to see coffee/tea and toast on the breakfast menu/ cereal with say yogurt.
Great to be able to get a room at reasonable rate

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're not newly built hotel but a hotel with friendly service and hospitality.
It's only 3 minutes on foot from subway Shinjuku Sanchome station C7 exit to our hotel.
Shinjuku Sanchome area is a safe and a popular area for shopping and sight-seeing,
such as famous Shinjuku Gyoen Garden.
Also we're glad to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast and your stay comfortably.
We're looking forward to your next visit in the near future.

Nobuo Yanagisawa(Mr), Manager of Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Whilst the room may be small, the friendliness of the staff was anything but.
Helpful, courteous and always ready with a smile, they made me feel quite welcome to the place.
Would definetely stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for a stay with us the other day.
I'm glad to hear that you have a good feeling for our staff and hotel.
Our room may be tiny as you feel, but we try to make our guest at home during a stay.
Thank you again for your kind message.
We hope to see you in the near future with us.

Nobuo Yanagisawa(Mr), manaeger of Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The room is sufficient as it is clean and maintained well (no cockroaches under the beds and amenities inside are still useable).
However, the old man in the reception/lobby area was not friendly nor polite. He could've been more friendly in dealing with me and my friends when we checked in.
Hotel location is okay as it is a 10-minute walk from the train station (just like other inexpensive hotels in Tokyo).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglearcher2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you for a stay with us.
I will ask our front staff for a communication with our guest to be more friendly and polite,
so that every guest could be satisfied and have a comfortable stay.

Thank you for your kind attention.
We hope to see you in the near future .

Nobuo Yanagisawa(mr), manager of Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel Tateshina is about 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku station, so it is quite convenient.
It was a pleasant stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room facilities were very well maintained over the length of our stay. Some people may chuckle at the '80's-inspired' bedcovers. :-) We would highly recommend this hotel for travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are cheaper, and worth the saving if you don't mind a faint odour.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTEE023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tateshina5271, マネージャー at Hotel Tateshina, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for a long stay with us.
We're not modern hotel, but a small classical hotel with hospitality for a guest.
I'm happy to hear from you that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us.
Shinjuku area where our hotel locates is a one of popular sightseeing place in Tokyo.
There are unique culture such as "Omoinde Yokocho", and Shinjuku 2 chome.
Also we locates in silent and convenient location as you comment.
Looking forward to see you in the next time !

sincerely

Nobuo Yanagisawa, Manager of Hotel Tateshina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#43 of 83 in Shinjuku
173 reviews
Shinjuku
City Hotel N.U.T.S
City Hotel N.U.T.S
#48 of 83 in Shinjuku
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#62 of 83 in Shinjuku
58 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#40 of 83 in Shinjuku
403 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#36 of 83 in Shinjuku
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tateshina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tateshina

Address: 5-8-6 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tateshina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort and convenience of Tokyo's most lively district at a reasonable price. HOTEL locates in comfortable and quiet area of Tokyo Shinjuku. 67 guest rooms, Restaurant(Breakfast only) 20 seats, Meeting room(up to 30 pax), Car parking(2 cars). Wireless LAN (WiFi) is available in all rooms. It's only 3 minute's walk from C7 Exit of Shinjuku Sanchome station. We serve you a Japanese style or Western style breakfast on request.(JPY800 per person plus government tax) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tateshina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tateshina Hotel Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing