We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
292
648
161
30
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
648
161
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationroyal host restaurantfukutoshin linerooms are smallhotel is locatedminute walkwalking distancekorea towntully's coffeestayed here for nightsliterally next doordouble bedshinjuku arealaundry roomfamily martjr passnarita airport
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

It was an excellent place to stay while we were in Tokyo. The hotel entrance is right next to a metro station (won't work for a JR pass but you can get to just about anywhere in the city via metro for a couple hundred yen.) and only about a 20-30 minute walk to the main JR Shinjuku station. The service was excellent, they assisted in forwarding our bags to the next hotel and our room was clean. The economy double twin or however it was listed was a perfect size for my husband and I. The room is small, but not un-manageable. There was a mini fridge, ac/heat, tv, and the amenities included green & black tea, an electric kettle, toothbrushes, hairbrushes, razors, a hairdryer, and the usual shampoo/conditioner/body wash. The tub was very large, good for soaking after lots of walking around. Great place to stay!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sunita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srhsj, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is nice to note that you like the rooms and location of our hotel. We really appreciate your positive feedback, my team and we to read that you have enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

To my horror and just a few days before our trip to Japan, we realized our reservation check-in date was a day after our arrival date! Because of the late date, we were not able to modify the original reservation via the hotel website. Our only option was to make a separate room reservation for the first day. Unfortunately, the only type room available was a larger room that was over 3 times room rate of the original reservation. When we arrived at the reception desk, I explain our situation to the receptionist and asked if I could change my original reservation to avoid the need to change rooms. The hotel staff was very understanding and was able to change our original reservation. We actually ended up saving some money on the overall cost of reservation. More importantly, we avoided the additional effort and time needed to change rooms.

Room Tip: The self service laundry washing machine includes a built in soup dispenser.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DAVIDO5235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srhsj, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your positive feedback, We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay overall. We are always looking to providing the best of what we can offer to our guests and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future when you return in Hotel Sunroute Higashishinjuku.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights with my boyfriend.
The hotel is less than 5 mins away from the Higashi Shinjuku station on the Oedo and Fukotoshin line. It’s also located in a quieter part of town, so if you want to be near the main Shinjuku area, this place is not for you. You can take a 15 min walk to the main area.

We had a very small room with barely enough space to walk. However, the room was always well cleaned and neat, with just enough necessities for us (TV, hot tub - the standard Japanese type, hair dryer, hot water flask). What we found odd was that there was no safe for us to keep our belongings.

Overall, it was a good stay.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hanfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srhsj, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Thank you for staying with us.We appreciate your feedback.
We will continue to improve our service and facilities.
We are looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Room size is ok but service is poor. We had a problem with the a.c. control and they said they would send someone up but no one ever came. They also tried to charge 50 Yen for a piece of paper to use with their printer. Their English isn't great either. No iron in the room. Disposable razors but no shave cream like other hotels here.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lamiaofthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srhsj, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for staying with us.
We appreciate your feedback.
We apologize for the inconvenience you faced,
We will continue to improve our service and facilities.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

The hotel rooms are quite small but for a big city like Tokyo it’s not uncommon.

It’s fairly new and very well maintained .

There’s a laundry facility on the second floor and for 400 Y , you can wash and dry your clothes .

The location is good BUT it’s right next to the ‘metro’ station which is a different rail way company than what your Japan railway pass would cover ! It’s about 15 min walk from the shinjuku station where you can use your JR pass.

There’s also a currency exchange machine in the lobby which is quite convenient.

Within 5 - 10 min walk there’s lots of restaurants and shops.

Side tip : if you’re into hiking , take the train to Mount Takao , only an hour away from Tokyo and enjoy the great views of Mount Fuji at the summit.

All in all, good experience . No issues . Good staff and service .

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srhsj, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.
It is nice to note that you like the rooms and location of our hotel.
We really appreciate your positive feedback, We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay overall.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews