We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, good value in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 782 helpful votes
“Good choice, good value in Tokyo”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had the cheapest category, the "bright" room, and it was small, but I've seen a lot smaller in Tokyo. Room size was certainly acceptable to me for the price. Only one English t.v. channel, CNN, nothing else. Comfortable bed, quiet room, everything worked. Small refrigerator in the room was nice.

Location is quite amazing, 2 minutes to Shinjuko station, many subway lines. Beware if you are taking a "bullet train" they don't leave from Shinjuko station... they leave from Tokyo Station, so you will have to take a train to get first to Tokyo station. So many shops, restaurants, 24 hours convenience stores all over the place. Mcdonald's 1/2 block away is open 24 hours. A few Starbucks-type coffee places very close by too.

The breakfast buffet is an incredibly great value, and was really good, I think about $14. You would be foolish to pass up on it. Also, their restaurant has a lunch special for about $12 I think, that had a good steak, salad, soup, rice, tea/coffee, discounted dessert too. And it was really tasty. Not sure if they do room service here.

There was free wifi internet that was great and fast. Staff were all polite and friendly.

Free newspapers in the morning, including International Herald Tribune. Vending machines on each floor, with ice too. Exceptionally clean hotel.

The airport Limo bus stops right at the hotel to both Hanada and Narita airports, so it's convenient to get to.

Room Tip: I had a surprisingly good city view from a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    563
    143
    26
    9
See reviews for
121
345
158
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Easy to find as its just outside the subway which was great with big bags. Hotel room was a decent size for Tokyo and it was clean and had everything we needed which wasnt much as we were out a lot! Neighbourhood hasnt much directly near it but within a walk of the main areas if you miss the last subway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

LIke all the other reviews I can advise the rooms are small and if you are a larger sized person you might find the bathrooms a bit tight however the rooms are clean, modern and quiet. We were more than comfortable here and I would recommend to friends. As per other reviews we did attempt to get them to book a table at a restaurant but whilst staff were helpful and seemed uncomfortable to say no they advised there had been issues with doing this before. It might because there is no conceirge here, not sure. It is about a 10-15 min walk to Shinjuku central but a nice stroll. Very close to train station so handy to most places. If you need to draw cash via Visa then go to the 7 Eleven across the road. Breakfast is cheap, not fantastic but OK. If McDonalds is more your style then there is one across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Sunroute rooms are extremely small in size. The walking space in the room is almost zero. Double rooms can only fit one man comfortably. Anything more than that will be suffocating. It will be better to top up a bit to get a twin room which has bigger room space and definitely more comfortable. It is also inconvenient to get to the hotel from the airport as there are no limousine bus that stops nearby. If you have a luggage it will be wiser to just spend a bit more to get yourself into a cab from the other Sunroute Takadanobaba hotel which has a limousine bus that stops outside directly.

Counter staffs are not fluent in english. We had a hard time communicating with them. There are a number of places to eat nearby so it is not that bad. Walking to Shinjuku main area is also quite near (about 10-15minutes). We tried asking the staff to book a restaurant for us but they refused and insist we call ourselves. In my opinion the staff are not very helpful and lack understanding towards their hotel guest.
There is also no Wifi in the hotel rooms except for a cable and Wifi connection in the lobby is weak too. Do not bother switching on the television as there are not much choices and only limited to the japanese tv programs.

It is recommended that you take what you need from the luggage and close it immediately if you need walking space along the corridor in your room. Overall, this hotel is not that fantastic and I will not return as compared to other budget hotels in Shinjuku. People who are traveling alone might work for them but if you are traveling with friends and family this is not a hotel for you.

Room Tip: Request for higher level rooms and also book a twin room which has two double size bed which is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jun_wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Like many other hotels in Tokyo, the rooms are very clean and all that you might need is cramped in the minimal space required. We had the cheapest double room and it was lacking nothing.
Shower / bath is perfect and very hot if required. You can take a bath if you want. Soaps/shampoos/conditioner provided in large bottles.
Bed is hard but perfect sleep quality. Three kinds of pillows to choose your personal favorite from.
We had a room on a high floor and the back side so perfectly quiet, no street or other noise whatsoever.
Room is very small so to open a large suitcase you might need to be a bit creative with the furniture (especially to remove the desk-chair to optimal use the space under the desk).
Airco is totally adjustable to personal needs.
There is good wifi coverage in the hotel. In addition there are two laptops in the reception area for guests to access internet. For printing a small fee is asked per printed page.
We asked the reception staff to help us booking a hotel for a next stay, which required a phonecall in Japanese (we don't speak Japanese). Initially they were not very willing, but after some explaining they agreed to make a call and help to make the booking.

There is no restaurant or breakfast option. There is a restaurant adjacent the hotel (but we didn't visit it as the only option offered seemed to be a all-you-can-eat buffet) and also in the neighborhood there are plenty options to eat. But note that somehow 90% of restaurants in the area serve only Korean food! Especially Korean bbq with the most insane kinds of meat. Nice to try once but not all the time. Also it's not cheap compared to other places. We found only one place for ramen (cheap and good!) and one simple kind of 'food-bar' for rice/meat based dishes (also cheap, friendly, English speaking staff and good!). For more variety probably need to either walk a longer distance to Shinjuku area or take the subway.

Also note most places for food near the hotel seem to open only around 11am which leaves limited options for breakfast.

Subway station is right next door which is very convenient. Also since there is not much to see directly around the hotel.

All in all a good hotel. Only it's a bit expensive and not so much variety of food options nearby. Next time I would probably look for a hotel with a better price and more variety of (food) options nearby.

Room Tip: On back side and high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It is a decent room, clean and rather comfortable. As for most of superior/deluxe room in Japan, it is of the normal standard room size (small).
Very touristy hotel. Close to the train station.
A decent okay hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in June 2013. We arrived quite late and reception staff were still working and lovely. They allowed us to split the payment onto two cards which was very handy.
Our room was located on lever 7 and overlooked buildings.
Bathroom was decently size and bigger than I expected with a bath/shower (bath was very deep) and came with large pump bottles of Shampoo, Conditioner, Face Foam Wash, Body Wash, Razors, Hairbrushes & Toothbrushes!
The bedroom half was quite well sized and came with a double bed, fridge, wardrobe, dresser & tv. We were also given pj's & slippers which was nice and unexpected. Bed & pillows were very firm, if you like soft fluffy pillows I'd recommend packing your own.
The room has pull down blinds then a set of blockout curtains which makes the room pitch black, so it is easy to sleep at anytime. Housekeeping replaces towels, pj's & even toothbrushes!
Everyone is very polite & reception speaks english so they helped us with the train system & finding ATM's for MasterCards. Higashi-Shinjuku station is outside the door & has two lines running through; Tokyo Metro Fukutoshin & Toei Oedo Lines which go to Meiji Jingumae (Harajuku), Shibuya & Shinjuku. We travelled to Roppongi, Disneyland & the Airport from these lines and they were easy to navigate. Shinjuku is also a 10 min walk or a 2 min train so very central.
Overall we were very very happy and rate it 10/10 and would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,290 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 83 in Shinjuku
963 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#10 of 83 in Shinjuku
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing