We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great extended trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great extended trip”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is new, great location, just next to the train station, a lot of food restaurant around you. The room is small but clean. The internet super fast, welcome to Tokyo. It was a free wifi, included in the rate. We were so happy to stay there. The price is really reasonable. We'd like to stay there again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Any rooms is okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    536
    133
    24
    9
See reviews for
108
317
146
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised when I checked in at this hotel for one night. I decided to extend my stay in tokyo and this hotel was across the road from my last, so easy transfer. Staff at reception were friendly and spoke English. In room the bathroom was large with full bathing facilities. The room was size was nice with enough space to open your suitcase. TV seemed to be Japanese channels only, but I was there to sleep not watch TV. No wifi in room but LAN cable was available. For some reason my device wouldn't connect to wifi in the reception area but there are two free internet terminals with a printer for guest use. Also for smokers there is a smoking room in the reception area which is great since smoke is prohibited in the street in tokyo. ATM which accepts international cards is a three minute walk away, likewise a subway station. If walking from Shinjuku JR station its an easy 15 minute walk even with luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENXIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaldson, indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel was located in a good location. We took bus from Narita airport to hotel door and on return. The hotel kept our luggage for several hours after we checked out and were waiting for the bus to the airport. Room was very clean, we had a regular double room on the 3rd floor, near the exit. Didn't hear anything from other rooms. Lots of toiletries included- slippers, thin robe, comb, toothbrushes/paste, cotton swabs, hair cap, bath sponge etc. Full sized Shampoo & conditioner & body soap. Staff was helpful with any questions. Wifi is only available in lounge and guests lounge only. 24 hour self-service laundry was available.
Location was very good with a nearby train station. Right across the street is a large shopping center Takashimaya with two floors of food centers. Within walking distance is Meiji Shrine and Tokyo Metropolitian building for free skyline views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the train station is right next door. The rooms are tiny but that is to be expected in tokyo. The only problem was the air conditioning. We couldn't figure out the Japanese buttons and there were no English instructions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Location is ideal - walking distance to several transit stops. Bonus is the Airport Bus stops right in front of the lobby. Although best to check the schedule as the stops to the hotel are much less frequent (about 3-4 times per day) vs. at the Shinjuku stop (every 15mins). The Shinjuku stop is only about 7 mins walk away.

Hotel is very clean. Staff is very accommodating and courteous. They will even hold your bags for you - prior to check in, and also post-check out if you are waiting for your flight home.

All in all a pleasant stay. Recommended

Room Tip: On the top floor, there seems to be some rooms that have recently been renovated... we were in one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was my first time to visit Tokyo, and this hotel was recommended by a friend.
The hotel was just 1-2 minutes away from Higashishinjuku train station, so it's very convenient to travel around.
Concierge staff are very courteous.
Size of room was small (versus that of other cities, but this was told by my friends). But was cozy to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikokicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

location/views - right next to the higashi subway but you'll have to pay extra if you are using a JR pass. it is indeed 15-20mins walk and most shops/restos in the area near the JR station are korean restos and shops, except if you go to the opposite side we found a good ramen place, and some jap shops like the 100yen shop

there are taxis right outside the station, but if you're fit and able, i suggest you can walk, but not advisable with your heavy luggage or when the night is rather very cold.

we had a very small window, which went with the very small room.

room/bathroom - i think we had a large double or just a double bed. the bed size was fine, but the room was INDEED very small, the bathroom was also small too. if you have issues with space, i suggest go get an upgrade where you can get 2 single beds. i think that would give more legroom. i wasnt able to fully open my luggage in our hallway. sometimes i would hit my friend when i open the bathroom door bcos she was infront of the mirror outside of the bathroom door.

the room was clean, it had what we needed(toiletries), the linens/towels were clean.

the trashcan was unbelievably small (welcome to japan), the high-tech toilet was superb. the toilet had shiseido products. water pressure/temperature was no problem.

breakfast - we didnt try the restaurant. we weren't sure if it was open though at the time of our stay.

bed - was okay, but our pillows felt weird, like there were small styro balls inside

wifi - no wifi in the room, but there was wifi in the lobby

staff - we found it quite hard to communicate engligh with some staff

i had a great time here but had some issues, but i'm 50-50 if i want to stay here again, the place was clean, etc. but the room was very small and we can probably get other hotels nearer the train station for better value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedollygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,171 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
917 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#17 of 81 in Shinjuku
734 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing