We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good, but overrated by reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the enthusiastic reviews. Well, as much as the place is fine, it doesn't deserve all the kudos we read...
Room was "large" enough (by Tokyo standards), and quiet (we had required a quiet room at booking and that was addressed).
TV has only Japanese channels.
Location is perfect, over Subway station, and within walking distance to Kabukicho and Shinjuku.
Good bedding.

The bad part is communications:
1) no wireless internet at all. That means that if you use a iDevice, you are incommunicado for all your stay.
Only 2 slow and busy PCs in public use in the lobby.
2) the local phone calls from the rooms are outrageously charged. Use public phones instead.

Good base to spend a sightseeing / shopping week end in Tokyo.
For longer stay and if communications are needed, might not be the best choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, on the back, not on the main street.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

There are better economical choices in Tokyo. I booked a stay of 9 nights here based on Trip Advisor reviews and was disappointed. First, I politely asked if I could check in 45 minutes early after a long, tiring flight and was told sorry, no. OK, I can accept that without making a scene but I can't believe there wouldn't be ONE room ready in a 12 story hotel at 1:15 PM. Not very good PR . . Hotel managements need to train their front-line staff to be a little flexible and use common sense. Secondly, I had a "double room" that was tiny even for Japan. This is a 3 year old hotel and the room was the size of a shoe box. I have stayed in many Japanese hotels and I didn't even have room for an open suitcase on the floor. There wasn't a closet but only a cubbyhole that would hold 5 hangers. Third, I am a sound sleeper but the steady street noise and a continual stream of ambulances and fire trucks (a fire station was across the street) kept me awake. Japanese emergency vehicles like to use sirens, yelpers, whoopers and LOUD SPEAKERS to speak to the populace (even at 3 AM!!). Fourth . . one of the reviewers talks about BBC being available. Well it's gone and only Japanese channels are available now. Fifth ... yelling and slamming doors at all hours. This is an over rated backpacker hangout. I wont be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in February 2011. We booked this as it was very reasonably priced and the reviews looked good, and we weren't disappointed.
We got the bus to Shinjuku station then the underground to our hotel which was an experience, the underground is very busy but easy to use. On the way back we got the train to the airport.

The hotels location is good as the underground station is nearly next to the hotel.
The staff were very nice in the hotel. The room was very small or should say cosy, but was fine for us as we lived out of our suitcase which may not be everyone's cup of tea.

There isn't many restaurants about so we went to other places to eat. However, there is a nice coffee shop over the road and there was Mcdonalds aswell which we went in and the staff were very friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Loved this new, modern and conveniently located hotel. It's truely a gem in the Shinjuku, only 2 minutes walk from the train station, i had plenty of time to shop and drop my shopping bags and continued to shop again. The rooms are rather small but it's worth for the price you paid for, though it is located next to a train station, it's quiet as it's located in the residential area. Staffs are so friendly and are able to speak simple english, everyone was so helpful! It's great for couples or single traveler. As it could be costly if you you travel in group for taking trains too frequent and as for food variety, it's not as good as other hotels i guess. Overall, it's one of the best budget hotels i can guarantee! If you take a cab, it could be a problem, best to print out the map and hotel information in order for the driver fetch you to the correct destination as there's another hotel named sunroute.

Room Tip: Nothing in particular, are are good.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charlottechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Hotel was very nice, the staff helpful and the rooms ok . The location is simply amazing.. Atm there are unfortunately some construction done, which however is only a transitory nuisance. The breakfast buffet though was rich in choice, but a bit poor in quality , the eggs are good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

~24 hours after leaving my NYC home, I finally made it to Hotel Sunroute. I had never been to Japan before, so getting to the hotel from the airport was an experience by itself. I managed to arrive at the subway station near the hotel. Unfortunately, I could not find the hotel, as I could not identify building numbers because they were all written in Japanese. After circling back, I found myself at a major intersection adjacent to the hotel.
The hotel can be easily identified from the street, so study photos of the building the day and at night.

The hotel staff was very nice and efficient. I checked in without any issue and made it to my room. The size of the room is the perfect intro to Japan. It was very small, but cozy. It definitely made me feel like I was in Japan. It can accommodate two people comfortably if they're not planning to spend much time in the room.

My room was quite, clean and had modern amenities. The bathroom is quite small, but sufficient. Note, for Americans with corded electric razors, Japanese voltage does not provide enough power to the razor. The plugs are the same, but the voltage is different.

The hotel is a 2 min. walk to the Tokyo metro station. There are also a few restaurants, including a McDonalds. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and a great way to kick off my 10 day journey to Japan. I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Fantastic price, clean modern rooms, friendly staff, comfortable bed, whisper quiet at night, free internet, vending machines on site, smack dab next to a Metro stop.

Regarding its location, 1.) there's not TOO much right near it. A 5 minute walk south on Dori Meiji will give you lots more options. 2.) yes, it's next to a Metro stop, but to get to Shinjuku Station, you have to switch trains even though it's only 4 stops. I found the easy 15-20 minute walk to the Shinjuku station much easier and much more rewarding.

Be aware, the rooms are SMALL. Efficient, but small. But if you're just sleeping, you'll be fine. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon_nomaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,333 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
976 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#10 of 83 in Shinjuku
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $89 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing