We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Rooms much smaller than European or US rooms but located a very short walk from Shinjuku station.
Restaurant and bar services pretty good and all the staff at Reception, Restaurant and bars spoke fluent English - thank goodness !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing special about this hotel except for its location, hotel is within walking distance from train station and major shopping malls. We stayed in 2 different ro during our 2 week stay in Dec 2012. First room was ok with 2 twin bed, the 2nd room was really small, there is no room for our big luggages, the bathroom was small which I think is quite common around Japan. There are restaurants and food nearby so it is very convenient!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were there with a singing choir from Prague. Stayed one week. The food was really nice, different from the european - as we expected. Personal - very nice, all the time good mood, fast. Rooms are smaller and the bathrooms also, but clean and comfortable. Bigger bed than normal - very nice sleep :).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcelSuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good value for money and this hotel staff are pretty good. Location is really good as its close to many shops. Rooms are very small, beds are not bad and clean rooms. When we first checked in the room smelt of cigarette but the house keeping fixed that problem pretty fast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanami1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was very clean and neat, very close to the Takadanobaba station and there were some eateries and a supermarket nearby which is what we were looking for when we went to Tokyo for 7 days. The room wasn't particularly big but you would expect that in Tokyo. We stayed there for all 7 nights and we had no problem with it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for the first three nights of our trip. Small but clean and convenietly located. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Just across the street from the JR Takadanobaba station. Considered a "college town" because of it's proximity to Waseda University, this area is decidedly less hectic than cities like Shinjuku and Shibuya. Still plenty to do and see. Great for people (like me) who like to explore the lesser known areas by foot. I will always consider the Sunroute chain of hotels first, when traveling in the east. They have won my business.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Nothing really special about this hotel - its one of the cheaper ones we were able to find around this area. The rooms and beds are small, the bathroom is small, there's basic facilities like a kettle. It's very much for businessmen and not so much for tourists! The staff are friendly and there's wifi only in the lobby. On the plus side it's right next to the train station do very convenient for travel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mets Mejiro
Hotel Mets Mejiro
#18 of 55 in Toshima
77 reviews
Ikebukuro
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Mejiro
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#32 of 83 in Shinjuku
330 reviews
Shinjuku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
#11 of 83 in Shinjuku
401 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel

Address: 1-27-7 Takadanobaba, Shinjuku 169-0075, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $81 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunroute Takadanobaba
Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing