We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, good value”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was literally a 2 minute walk from Takadanobaba station. It was very clean and neat, and as the rooms were small (you are in Tokyo, so clearly you aren't getting a Western size hotel room) they were managable for my husband and I without much tripping or struggle. The hotel staff was very friendly, the area was safe. Had a BK, KFC, Mister Donut, 100 yen store, grocery store, and many Japanese restaurants on the block. We stayed here for 8 nights and traveled by Metro all around Tokyo, I would easily stay here again. Great and affordable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
26
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel was very pleasant. Don't expect five star luxury - but this is a perfect option for a very clean, quiet and well priced hotel in Tokyo. Apart from the price, the location was the main attraction for me. You can literally see the train station from the hotel entrance and rail is the best way to travel around Tokyo.

The staff were all very polite and helpful. My Japanese is extremely limited, but all employees I spoke to had a reasonable level of English - some basic, some fluent, but I could always get my message across.

One thing to note, in typical Tokyo style, the rooms are very small. I stayed with a partner and was comfortable, but only for a short stay. For single or short term travel, the rooms are fine.

I would consider staying here again next time I am in Tokyo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanmuriSongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel is small and nice, but nothing special.
The hotel is in a very convenient location just 2 minutes walk away from the big metro station.
The service was not great but the staff were friendly.
It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Like other reviewers, the location of this hotel was faultless. Right opposite the train station and two stops from the madness of Shinjuku station. It was a safe neighbourhood and all the amenities right on your doorstop. I too loved the complimentary nightshirt each night!!

Yes, the rooms were small but not as small (or expensive) as Paris. We were there 6 nights and lived perfectly well out of our two suitcases for that time. The fridge was also a plus so we could buy supplies and keep cool.

The were staff lovely and helpful, room immaculately cleaned each day and free internet access in the foyer. If you're not an accommodation snob and want to be in a central Tokyo location with great access to surrounding Tokyo via the metro - this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShenaghM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The rooms are small. The view from your room is a wall of another building, but the location is across the street from the very centrally located Takadanobaba train station. The buffet breakfast has hot coffee, sausage and eggs. Seeing Tokyo on limited days means that you need to have a centrally located hotel and this is it. Tokyo is a big city. If you want to stay at a hotel in the middle of everything with some Yen left over in your pocket then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel UV Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The location is perfect, the Takadanobaba train station is literally across the street! The hotel is very clean and quiet. We were located overlooking the train station and street but there was very little outside noise. The rooms themselves are small and you basically are living out of your suitcase, but this is the norm in Tokyo. Each room is equipped with a refrigerator, washcloths, slippers, and nightshirt. So you don't need to pack your own sleepwear. The hotel is very modern and the staff is helpful. There is free WIFI in the lobby and free internet in the rooms. Lot's of eateries, Pachinko parlors and Karaoke lounges everywhere. There is even a 100 Yen store (there version of a dollar store) in the mall across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postcard-pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Clean, convenient, and helpful staffs.
I booked for a night there just few weeks before staying so the rate is not that cheap.
Overall is good anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Ikebukuro
Hotel Mets Mejiro
Hotel Mets Mejiro
#22 of 55 in Toshima
72 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ikebukuro
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Mejiro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#36 of 81 in Shinjuku
398 reviews
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
893 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#33 of 81 in Shinjuku
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel

Property: Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel
Address: 1-27-7 Takadanobaba, Shinjuku 169-0075, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunroute Takadanobaba
Sunroute Takadanobaba Hotel Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing