We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and convenient”
Review of Kadoya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kadoya Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple and convenient”
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at Kadoya during our visit to Tokyo. The hotel was rather basic and small, but it was clean and you can't go wrong for the price and location (a short walk from Shinjuku railway station). Highly recommended for budget travellers in Tokyo.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wsantoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    231
    92
    16
    7
See reviews for
125
83
118
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed in the upgraded twin room and found it to be an excellent value. Not only was it more like the traditional two double bed hotel rooms I'm used to at home, but there was an air purifier and a fabulous reclining massage chair in it as well. My daughter has allergies so I was worried about her asthma acting up as we were staying in a smoking room, but the air purifier made the place odour free. There is no view due to the surrounding skyscrapers, but the 45th floor of the government buildings is only two blocks away and it's free!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArankaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Stayed the Kodoya Hotel, Shinjuku area of Tokyo for three nights in April 2008. The hotel is just 5 mins' walk from Shinjuku station and an easy 10 mins walk from a stack of bars and restaurants. The bedroom was small but clean and perfect with a great view of the street. On the ground floor, there was an adquate cafe serving breakfast. A big plus is a lively basement restaurant serving grilled Japanese food. No WiFi in the hotel which was a bit of a shame, but free internet for your lap top. Would stay again. Recommended.

  • Liked — Location, clealiness
  • Disliked — No WiFi
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shinkansen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOndon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I've just read the reviews of this hotel and can't believe its the same place!

The hotel is conveniently located but is smelly, dirty and is in dire need of a revamp.

The hotel stinks of cigarette smoke and the bathroom left alot to be desired. The sink was clogged with hair and there was mould growing on the bathroom wall.

What made the experience worse was that the air conditioning pumped out hot air! When we called down to reception we were told there was no need for air conditioning despite the fact the rooms were extremely hot.. This meant we had to sleep with the window open which was noisy at all hours.

And don't bother with the breakfast in the next door cafe either! Not one day did the staff get our order right and the food left alot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollysaysboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Our of 4 hotels we stayed during our 5 nights in Tokyo,Fuji,Hakone, we loved this place the most.

If you plan a 4-5 nights exploring central Tokyo, I will definitely recommend this hotel. They are also happy to store your bags for a couples of days. We asked that also for our 2 nights to Fuji and Hakone before returning to them for just one last night before flying home. They kept it well with no charge.

Room is great. First we booked a normal double, non smoking. However the room we got had the smoking smell so we just asked for another. They simply upgraded us to a bigger room, with wide screen and great bed. See our photos.

Location is just no less than perfect. With a mini mart and a restaurant next door, subway exit of Shinjuku in 100 meters, the hotel is located better than the famous Keio Plaza. It is just 5 minutes walk to everything: Bus terminal to a lake with Fujisan, Airport Bus to Narita, train station for Narita Express, malls and etc.

So, in all, I'd say "You could not go wrong with this one."

  • Liked — Superperfect location
  • Disliked — Walked past and didn't recognize it was a hotel (looked more like a cafe)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Atom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Stayed here half dozen times, most recently Dec 07. Single room is large for a business hotel. Location is great, better than the neighbouring Keio Plaza and Hyatt Regency costing 2x to 3x as much.
You can book at other than hotel's own site but it will be the same rates, though English and Japanese booking sites do have different booking requirements and special "plans". If you don't read Japanese, you can't take advantage of those. They have BBC World but dubbed in Japanese(at source) except for a few hours during the day and at night. Pillows are usually the "Tempur" brand. This time front desk refused to connect an incoming overseas call at 3am local time and I was a bit ticked off.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Visitors not allowed into room day/night
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bibimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Excellent location in West Shinkjuku makes this a great base for exploring Tokyo. It's a 5 minute walk from the west exit of Shinkuju station so not far too drag bags to. Surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops, along with an enormous branch of Big Echo if you fancy some late night karaoke - you know you want to! If you book B&B breakfast is taken in the adjacent cafe - absolutely fine, western or Japanese options. If you don't fancy this, there a couple of excellent
coffee shops over the road. And this being Japan, there is a vending machine slap bang outside the hotel and a convinience store next door.
Rooms are small but then you're not going all the way to Japan to sit in a hotel room. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank This-Space-To-Rent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadoya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadoya Hotel

Property: Kadoya Hotel
Address: 1-23-1 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#13 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kadoya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business center of Tokyo, and steps away from Shinjuku Station's West Exit, Kadoya Hotel offers 94 rooms of 13 types. We offer the best convenience in the city with easy train access to Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Ikebukuro, and other major destinations in Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kadoya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadoya Hotel Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing