We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Grandbell is, by far, the best hotel i know in Tokyo. The rooms are big, the bathrooms are western inspired and the beds are confortable. The location is also great if you plan to visit the robot restaurant. The only downside is the expensive prices.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Lovely hotel and superb service. Small rooms but to be expected in Tokyo. Very nicely appointed modern rooms, with plenty of amenities. There are a few comments about the hotel being in the red light district. I must say that you couldn't tell if it is and we felt safer than anywhere else we have ever stayed before. Cool place to stay and good value for money. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzznash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Booked a deluxe room with a queen bed. Rooms are surprising small but very clean and modern with good interior design. The bed is amazingly comfortable. The bathroom is small but well-planned, with complete toiletries and equip with high-tech bidet systems and I just love it. The buffet breakfast is superb. Down side, no english channel on TV, all japanese channels and Taxi's find it a bit hard to locate hotel..

Room Tip: "Wake up early to avoid long queue for table availability for breakfast buffet. Make sure you h...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minerva9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our visit to Tokyo and loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly and had all sorts of information for you if you needed it. It is close to Shinjuku station, shops and restaurants. a very good central location. When we first arrived in Shinjuku we could not figure out where to go but luckly an ederly man who spoke a little english walked us to the hotel. After that it was a piece of cake to get to and from the hotel. I read a few reviews about having to wak through "red light district" and did not think much of it. No one bothered us and like one reviewer wrote, it was more like PG rating than anything. The sky bar was very cool but we did not get to go on the balcony becaise it was raining. Still enjoyed a few drinks though. The hotel held our bags for us at checkout so we could venture off for a few hours on our last day. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend taking a taxi from Shinjuku station to the hotel on the first day. Just make sure...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ploudermilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This place isnt too hard to find...its not on google maps but all you gotta do is goto their website and click on the access button and theres a link to the coordinates. Copy those into google maps app while your on a wifi. Then goto shinjuku station walk towards the east exit and go where it says "To kabukicho." walk out there and when you surface pull out your phone and open google maps which should still have the area and location cached. The GPS will find you (regardless if your on a network or not) then just walk towards the location

I had a deluxe room which was really nice. I loved the artwork around the hotel, i was wishing i had booked a more expensive room as mine was wonderful as it is. The only problem was that the TV turned on as soon as I entered the room and put the key in the holster...i didnt goto Tokyo to watch TV thats for sure!

The Skybar was amazing. It was raining when i went there so I didnt sit outside which would have been cool. The restaruant was really good also, nice view!
The breakfast..well..it was adequate, not anything to write home about but does the job

It is basically in the so called 'red light' district of Tokyo but as far as red light districts go i think Tokyos is probably PG rated lol!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room is very spacious
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petek9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

near shinjuku station. plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. staff are welcoming and accomodating even though it was very busy when we were there. loft room can be slightly cramped for 3 people, but pictures and descriptions were accurate. bar is ok and has great views over Tokyo. breakfast - i'm sure you can find better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaG_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked Granbell shinjuku from Booking.com, and I'm reslly happy with my stay:
- perfect location in Shinkiju Kabukicho, close to action, metros, not far from shibuya, and well connected to other parts of the city
- hotel comfort is very good, higher value from miney than any western hotel
- nice view from room
- toom is small but neat, perfec set up, super clean and new, ton of accessories to play with :-)
- nice view from rooftop, and ok breakfast for price

1  Thank SCREENParis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
976 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,366 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Granbell Hotel

Address: 2-14-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $117 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinjuku Granbell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in December 2013 and located right in the heart of the lively Kabuki-cho area in Shinjuku. All the guest rooms are modern and stylish with unique design concepts. Higashi Shinjuku subway station ( Fukutoshin Line, Oedo Line) is just a 4-minute walk away. We are also 7-minute walk from the Shinjuku Sanchome subway station, 15-minute walk from east entrance of JR Shinjuku train station and 10-minute walk from north entrance of Seibu Shinjuku subway station ( Seibu Shinjuku Line). We offer great access to every place in Tokyo. We are located in a convenient place for business, sightseeing, and shopping in Shinjuku area. The rooms are fully equipped with beds made by Simmons, and we also provide free Wi-Fi to ensure that your stay is comfortable. We also have ample hotel facilities. On-site restaurant G features casual French and Italian cuisine cooked by a first-class chef. You can also relax at the Rooftop Bar that has an open terrace from which you can enjoy a bird's eye view of the night scenery of Shinjuku. Please have a wonderful time with urban night view and nice cocktails. PC, Printer ( lobby at 1F) / VOD (a charge) / an iPod dock speaker/ Free internet access (Wi-Fi, wired)/ a fridge / an electric kettle / a telephone/ a toilet seat with bidet functions / a safe / air cleaner / a humidifier / an iron / trouser press / a transformer / a wheelchair (free rental) / coin laundromat (2F) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shinjuku Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing