We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hokkaido food fair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isetan Department Store Shinjuku

Isetan Department Store Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 324 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This more than 100-year-old store is best known for its extensive basement food court, the perfect place to discover the artistic Japanese take on French pastries and chocolate. Upstairs, browse the kimono sections complete with obis and other traditional accessories.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hokkaido food fair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a fantastic time visiting Isetan. The basement floor is georgeous - during the several times we visited it was not very crowded even on a weekend afternoon. We had the good luck of sampling many Hokkaido specialty snacks on the 6th floor where they were holding a food fair when we were visiting. Had some amazing chocolate and ice cream. The diary products are of top top quality. There were also many seafood options (dried fish, frozen king crab etc). It was fun to watch the locals shop. Most of the staff didn't speak Engligh but were all super friendly and the service was impeccable. If I lived in Tokyo I would be hanging out at Isetan all the time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    251
    77
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Masterchef Australia this is where to bring next years contestants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Isetan department store, Shinjuku. Basement level 1.
The perfection in not only in the sweet, but also the savoury items, it is mind blowing.
Thousands of examples of mini masterpieces.
As I had already had lunch and where I was staying didn't have a microwave to reheat the meat dishes, I purchased some of the exquisitely sculptured and iced mini cakes, chocolates and jellies. They packed them up meticulously with small ice packs for me to take back to my hotel.
I spent 2 hours in the basement food hall, then went up to the roof for some peace and quiet, in a beautiful garden setting that it is.
Ran out of time to explore other floors, but I was in foodie heaven and didn't need to see anymore for this store to prove itself any better. This store like Takeshima and 0101 department stores is all class. WITH FOOD NIRVANA.

Helpful?
2 Thank toniwithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“World-class floor of patisseries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This feels like the centre of French pastry universe outside of France. I spent one Tokyo afternoon there. Hours, literally.

You can spot some of the world's best patissiers having a mini-store or a booth here, including Pierre Hermes, Marc Debailleul, Sadaharu Aoki, Henri Charpentier, Sebastien Bouillet, Jean-Paul Hevin and more! If these names don't ring a bell, then simply google a bit, and you'll see how amazingly these artists transform simple ingredients into something like a $3.50/pc macaron.

Down side is that when you carry handfuls of paper bags filled with meticulously wrapped gift boxes and multiple cellophane bags of macarons and chocolates wanting to taste, you would have to go all the way up to the rooftop and try your luck finding a seat.

Beware of too much goodness. Enjoy your desserts responsibly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank junkbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

A uniquely Japanese department store - when the staff go into a corridor, they bow to the room then exit walking backwards!
The gigantic food hall in the basement is fantastic, featuring raw ingredients like enormous octopus testicles, as well as an huge array of delicious (but expensive) bento boxes and cakes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank empress_cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A spectacle for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was my favorite food hall among all the 'depatchikas' throughout Tokyo. The presentation and sheer volume of food products from all over the world was amazing. The only place I can compare it to is Harrod's in London.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jessewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isetan Department Store Shinjuku also viewed

 

Been to Isetan Department Store Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing