We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden

Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.27*
and up
Cherry Blossom Viewing and Tokyo Tower Tour
Ranked #1 of 324 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We wandered through here at a very leisurely pace enjoying the late blooming cherry blossom.
Had a beautifully presented lunch at a restaurant within the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,339
    1,283
    196
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful big park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good place to take a break. The park is a quiet spot in the middle of the city. There is an area with roses, Japanese-style ponds, and a greenhouse with tropical plants. This is a good place throughout the year. There is a 200 Yen admission fee for adults, 50 Yen for small children. It can be crowded on the weekends, but it is always very clean and safe.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A place not to be missed during cherry blossom season! Most of them I would say are locals. Just unlucky of me to bump into uncivilised tourists who spit into the pond, with the intention to feed the fishes with her spit. Other than that, I really enjoyed walking around the garden, taking photos, watching how the locals having picnic, etc. We were lucky to see a couple taking wedding photos too. This garden opens from 9am to 4.30pm and is closed on Monday usually, unless it's the cherry blossom season. There's an entrance fee of 200 yen too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blueblue0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Serenity in the middle of Shinjuku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I love it here. I don't really mind the fee entrance hence the beautifully kept garden.

I specifically love the japanese garden. Perfect for just lazily hanging sitting around having a picnic. If you don't bring any food you don't have to worry because they even sell o-bento here.

My 5 yos daughter couldn't be any happier, she was running around and having a blast.

It is surely a serenity within a hectic city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank peachicato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis in bustling city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The park is beautiful, meticulously maintained complete with helpful staff. Well worth the entrance fee of 200 yen. i also had the traditional tea ceremony for 700 yen. My only gripe is the signs. On the way to the Greenhouse, I did not see a single sign until the Greenhouse was visible, then there was a sign. Same thing ffor the French Gardens and other attractions in the park. However people in the park are happy to point you in the right direction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Icyeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden also viewed

 

Been to Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing