We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the middle of Shinjuku”

Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.58*
and up
Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day
Ranked #1 of 332 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Serenity in the middle of Shinjuku”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I love it here. I don't really mind the fee entrance hence the beautifully kept garden.

I specifically love the japanese garden. Perfect for just lazily hanging sitting around having a picnic. If you don't bring any food you don't have to worry because they even sell o-bento here.

My 5 yos daughter couldn't be any happier, she was running around and having a blast.

It is surely a serenity within a hectic city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank peachicato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,702
    1,460
    225
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis in bustling city”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The park is beautiful, meticulously maintained complete with helpful staff. Well worth the entrance fee of 200 yen. i also had the traditional tea ceremony for 700 yen. My only gripe is the signs. On the way to the Greenhouse, I did not see a single sign until the Greenhouse was visible, then there was a sign. Same thing ffor the French Gardens and other attractions in the park. However people in the park are happy to point you in the right direction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Icyeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The greenhouse was warm and filled with plants to see. The garden was large, and we strolled around taking in the various cherry blossom varieties. Very pleasant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smsk51a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sakura”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Beautiful large park with many cherry blossoms loved the special food sold during Sakura too! Loved the 300 year old trees and the Japanese garden.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 61pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese Garden”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The entrance fee was only 200 yen and it was a wonderful Japanese garden with a section of Western garden. It is so serene and wonderful relaxing experience to take in all the traditional element of a japanese garden.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden also viewed

 

Been to Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing