We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”

Denny's Shinjuku Central Park
Ranked #454 of 11,268 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Reviewed April 25, 2017

We arrived into Tokyo during a cold windy rainy late afternoon. Our plans for some sightseeing before nightfall just was not possible. After checking in to the Hyatt, the Denny's was the closest and best option for dinner. It is the Denny's logo from the United States, but the menu is way different. I believe there was A pancake, French toast and waffle item on the menu, but most all else was Japanese, pasta, pizza, salads and meat options. Actually lots of meat options. One of us had lamb croquettes, and they were not bad. The pasta dish was surprisingly good also as was the vegetable soup. Seating is comfortable and windows look down on the street and park. The restaurant is on the second floor and very visible from The Hilton, Hyatt, Central Park and other buildings. We used stairs, could not find an elevator. Since the Denny's is part of the office building, I suspect there must be an elevator somewhere, but being nighttime now, no building security was available to ask. The restaurant is divided into smoking and non smoking. Our non smoking table was free from any smoke smell. The smoking area seemed to be in a separate closed in room. Service was exciting. Lots of pointing and some English, but all very cordial and friendly. Food delivered quickly. Prices reasonable. Credit cards accepted. Toilets in the back thru the doors. Restaurant was very clean. Wheelchair accessible if you find the elevator in the office building, otherwise stairs up to the second floor.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bob2bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2017

we went here when we arrived into Tokyo and were awaiting our rooms. Nice place for lunch and has pizzas and pastas. Our favorite was Magharita Pasta!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank KomalSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

The food was good and the service was fast and efficient. However, all non-Japanese customers were crammed into an alcove off to the side of the main dining area. The few apparently native customers were all seated in the main dining area. It was a very apparent case of discrimination that would never be allowed in the United States

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank rel0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Fake Denny's. Looking for American food here well then forget that plus it reeks of smoke. It seems like a lot of the American familiar type restaurants allow smoking in their restaurants some will include a service charge (aka Hooters Shinjuku). Hey I thought there was no tipping in Japan. Oh the owner is not from Japan. Didn't mind the tipping. Who ever wrote this review for trip advisor we'll stop surfing the internet and really investigate for yourself and come to Japan before telling people "there's several Denny's to go to for American food." False hopes all Japanese style food. If Denny's CEO knew what they were doing he would probably revoke their franchise. Terrible place if you don't believe take a trip down for yourself.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Open 24 hours a day, it is fun to find restaurants that one is familiar with and we venture to Dennys for breakfast.

Great price for 6 dollars, getting to select eggs with sausage/bacon, carb (pancakes, bread) and coffee...BUT try Japanese version of breakfast instead and you will find they serve pasta, hamburgers, etc for breakfast.

Its a few dollars more but well worth trying something besides typical western fare for breakfast....its one of the joys of travelling.

We had the acai yogurt, very good ; hamburger meat for our main meal and limitless coffee.

Delightful

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KYL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's Shinjuku Central Park also viewed

Shinjuku 3 Chome, Shinjuku
 
Shinjuku, Tokyo
 

Been to Denny's Shinjuku Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing