We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The hotel is clean, comfortable and well located.
It's true. Right next to a Nishi Shinjuku underground station and only a short walk from Shinjuku train station.
But remember: in check in they ask if the room is in an smoker or nonsmoker area. Make him understand you correctly.
My breakfast wasn't included in my daily so, I discovered Jonathan's to eat. Leaving the hotel, walking to the right you will find Jonathan's, I recommend the breakfast, is very good (but the menu is in Japanese and the staff only speak japanese, but you can turn)

Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KarineChagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    236
    75
    13
    2
See reviews for
87
169
55
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

During our week in Tokyo we stayed at three different locations (ryokan, capsule, and hotel). I really enjoyed staying at Hotel Rose Garden. We had a quad room and it was spacious enough for all of us to be comfortable. The beds are very comfortable; the room was clean and well equipped with a spacious bathroom. Toothbrushes, razors, robes, slippers etc are provided. The staff is polite and accommodating. Since I was traveling with three teenage boys I asked for an extra hour for checkout and they accommodated my request.

The location of the hotel is ideal. The Nishi-Shinjuku station is a block from the hotel (less than 5 minutes). You can walk to the Metro Govt. Building to view Mt. Fuji on the 45th floor. At this location you will be one stop on the train from Shinjuku (which is a very busy station). If I were to return to Japan the Hotel Rose Garden would be the place for me to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djohnba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Location: Excellent!! Only a few minutes walk to the busy Shinjuku area. And the metro station is a just a few steps away, super convenient! Restaurants and convenience store nearby too.

Service: Fast check-in/out, friendly staff, speak sufficient English

Room: We all know hotels in Tokyo have tiny rooms, this one is no exception, but it is slightly more spacious than the ones we have previously stayed in. At least we still have enough room to walk after putting our suitcases there. Internet is FREE, you can borrow the internet cable from front desk.

Others: We were given a complimentary 1000 yen taxi voucher during our stay, and it is enough to pay for taxi fare going from hotel to the JR station, where we took the Narita Express to the airport. :-)

I was a GREAT trip! I would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy10786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights at the tail end of our trip to Japan. This hotel was quite affordable (100cdn/night) and a real gem when compared to the high rates of some of the other Shinjuku based hotels.

The Location: 5-7 minutes walk from Shinjuku station, right next to Nishi-Shinjuku station on the metro. Around Shinjuku station is the heart of the action with huge shopping complexes and underground shopping arcades. You can basically access anywhere in Tokyo from this station. It is also a 5-7 minute walk to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building.

The Hotel: Small hotel and smokers galore in the lobby however, the staff at the front desk speak English very well and were able to help us with all our needs. They also keep your bags before and after check-in and check-out respectively if you desire. A LAN cable is rented out to you for 500Y deposit.

The room: Small as per Japanese standards but clean and functional. The only problem I had with the room was that the carpet emitted a minor odour that you quickly adapted to but noticed every time you stepped back into the room. Also, you can hear others in adjacent rooms. Other than that, the room was clean, amenities provided and they had drinks stocked in the fridge.

Recommended for: Travelers who desire a good value hotel near Shinjuku station but do not want to pay the prices of a Hilton or other similar hotels.

Not Recommended for: Travelers who can not stand small rooms. Travelers who do not necessarily want to be stationed near Shinjuku and do not mind to be further away from the action (you can get cheaper hotels near Akasaka and Asakusa).

Overall, can't beat the value for the location. For this price, you would expect a much more run down hotel but this place is up to par with hotels in a much higher price range.
Note that they are beginning to renovate their carpets soon so check on their website when that may be as you probably don't want to stay here when the noise level can get out of hand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Even though from the outside it looks like a small hotel but this hotel is probably the best hotel i have ever stayed for around 100 AUD. At first i thought that the room will be small and their would be hardly any space for luggages etc but i was wrong as we were luckily upgraded to a bigger twin room with heaps of space and not too bad views. 10 minutes wallk to the shinjuku station. very close to the utility stores and cafes. I am quite impressed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

the receptionists were unable to communicate in English, not even basic level. they had to call an interpreter and we passed the phone back and forth for the interpreter to relay the messages. overall, they were polite.

it's a bit cramped to walk around the room after leaving my luggage at a corner. internet access is very fast and reliable. you can exchange for a cable from reception with a deposit that will be returned to you upon return of cable.

the location is great because the subway is right below, less than a minute walk. many restaurants and convenience stalls along the street. McDonalds is opposite. the shinjuku bustling spot - shopping/market/red light district/host clubs (may lose sense of direction in that area) is 5-10 minutes walk. ladies beware, refrain from walking alone at night at the shinjuku shopping district, because you may enter the red-light district unknowingly. some men may approach to chat or something.

i love the location, the subway is right underground :) i dislike my room because the window is like 2meters away from another building, adding on to the cramped feeling.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Like most Tokyo hotel rooms, it was small, but comfortable enough. Bathroom was the same, small but functional. The room smelled slightly of smoke, even though we had asked for a nonsmoking room, but I think maybe it was coming in from the corridor, which smelled quite strongly. Reasonable value for money. Location on the west side of Shinjuku, so not really close to the action, but it was quiet. We caught the Limousine bus from Narita, and the hotel wasn't as close to the Hilton as I had expected reading other reviews, but about a 8 min walk. Free internet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 82 in Shinjuku
900 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
948 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Address: 8-1-3 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 542-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is the your second house in Japan. we offer you relaxation and comfort. We providing guests with excellent access on foot and by car or train to the main business, entertainment, dining and shopping hot spots of Japan's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing