We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First trip to Japan”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great value, great location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms small, but comfortable. Free wifi so one can skype home and tell the folks we were still alive. Terrific shower. Lots of places to dine between the hotel and Shinjuku station. Best to learn some Japanese as no one speaks english. Buy a SUICA card and load it up with yen. You can use the card for the underground, for lockers, food, vending machines, buses...loved it.
Use the Narita Express train to and from Narita airport. If you have long legs make sure you don't book the bulkhead seats, a bit cramped.
My son and I had such a good time at this hotel, we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50woody63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    236
    75
    13
    2
See reviews for
87
169
55
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, malysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good hotel 1 mt walk from nishi shinjuku subway. The hotel rooms are small but very clean and new. Great location right smack in shinjuku. Good wifi in the rooms. Everything in good working condition. Great shower one of the best in Japan. Price wise about 150 usd for a triple room. A lot of good eating places nearby. Check out island plaza directly opposite hotel. Nice and decently priced restaurants in that plaza. Yoshinoya a chain of budget Japanese fast food just next to hotel. Try their eel rice. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location of this great value hotel cannot be emphasised enough. It is about 6 doors from the Nishi Shinjuku subway station which is a hub for several subway lines accessing popular destinations. And the hotel is definitely within walking distance of Shinjuku station as well as Shinjuku itself which is a must-see area. There are a number of modest eating options within metres of the hotel. There are also eating options within the hotel that are Italian style. The hotel staff were efficient and helpful. The room was well equipped and reasonably sized. A definite value for money option in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

the hotel is clean and nice
the location is great, 3 minutes walk to nishi-shinjuku station
but what i love the most in this hotel is breakfast
it's not much not very fancy but it taste good in evey single item

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulapat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I really recommend this hotel! The location is great, right across the street from the metro and in walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. The rooms are big for Tokyo and clean.

My only complaint would be there was a very bad smell in the hallways but we couldn't smell it in our room.

I would stay here again in a second.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street so it god very nice sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ily103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very well presented, clean and comfortable hotel very close to the heart of Shinjuku. About 10-15 minutes walk from the main station either over or under land, and also right next to Nishi shinjuku metro so you are well connected.Restaurants all around but well enough away from the crazy action so was also quiet enough

Hotel was great, really welcoming feel to it. Very friendly and courteous staff and they let us store our bag for a day whilst we visited Hakkone. Room , was small but thats expected and they had everything very well laid out so you didnt feel like it was a tight squeeze at all. Plus, we were only ever there for 8 hours a day anyway!

Laundry is a little pricey but was professionally done. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rooms are small, we requested an upgrade but their upgrade rate was out of range so we had to stay in a very tiny room. No big deal but after an intense day of sightseeing you may need some space. The area is ok, near transport. Probably we would choose another option next time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 82 in Shinjuku
902 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
948 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Address: 8-1-3 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 542-0082, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is the your second house in Japan. we offer you relaxation and comfort. We providing guests with excellent access on foot and by car or train to the main business, entertainment, dining and shopping hot spots of Japan's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing