We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“New York Grill Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Grill

New York Grill
3-7-1-2 Nishishinjuku | 52F Park Hyatt Tokyo, Shinjuku 163-1052, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)
+81 3-5323-3458
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8,358 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New York Grill Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

must have in your tokyo stay. We came here after our day around shibuya and shinjku, at 6 pm for have a drink, and the 52th floor with panoramic view and atmosphere was undescrivible and unique...enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank basfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    166
    51
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Immaculate Service, and stunning views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a place made for couples to have a good romantic night out. Lights were dim in the restaurant with a beautiful jazz live band playing in the background. Most importantly is the stunning night views of Tokyo - imagine you are at the top of the world (52nd Storey) overlooking the entire city landscape.

As for the food, it is nice but not justifiable for the price. For 4 persons, I paid around JPY55,000 for the ala carte dinner. It is costly, but if you were to factor in the ambience and the service, I think its all worth it afterall.

Let's talk about the service. I got to pay my compliments to the Team Leader Ms. Kyoko Shirotori. She was patient with my requests, gave me good suggestions to surprise my girlfriend. It was suppose to be a surprise for my girlfriend who didn't know I will be in Tokyo. Prior to my arrival, Ms Kyoko communicated with me via email and always ready to accede to my request on the dinner day. I really appreciate her kind gestures amidst her busy schedule. All other service staffs on that night were amazing. Knowing its a surprise to my girlfriend, they kept assuring me not to be nervous and chatted with me throughout, making me feel so at ease.

The Jazz singer, Ms Amandah Jantzen, sang beautifully as well.

Let's talk about the food. We ordered Rib-Eye Steak, Venison Loin and Cod Fish. The food were fresh and tasty but frankly speaking nothing fantastic. However, sometimes a dining experience is not purely about the food isn't it? It is really about the package, and I love this package. It sets the tone for the rest of my Japan Holiday.

Thanks New York Grill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Overworked85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best brunch ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Sunday brunch at the New York grill in the Park Hyatt hotel was simply fantastic. The view, the food, the service was simply first rate. Even though it's not particularly inexpensive, it was worth every penny and more. Highly, highly recommended!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VancouverBCDrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a memorable dinner at the New York Grill. Everything is remarkable, but apart form the exquisite starters, grilled-to-perfection-steaks and fabulous staff, the great star here is the bird-eye view of Tokyo, soaring 52 stores over Shinjuku. As a bonus for whisky lovers, they have a wide selection of Japanese and Scottish malts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rargollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great verging on amazing room, amazing views, rest is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The NYG is one of those places everybody says you must visit in Tokyo. My advice is go for a drink, maybe not dinner.

The Park Hyatt Hotel itself is very nice. The Level 52 Restaurant is incredible as far as atrium height ceiling and 360 degree view. The service is average/not well trained. Sort of place where they keep asking if everything is alright and just crisis manage for problems. Not bad service, just not special and definitely not international level or in keeping with the surroundings. Food is also just average. Relatively boring menu. Great wine list.

In summary a bit of a tourist hotel restaurant food and service wise, but an incredible room. Definitely good for a drink. Good for dinner if not expecting international level amazing service and food.

Lively vibe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Kellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Grill also viewed

 

Been to New York Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing