We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Way to Eat Tempura Is Sit At The Counter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC

Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC
Ranked #105 of 8,361 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Price range: $28 - $141
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
294 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best Way to Eat Tempura Is Sit At The Counter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There are many good tempura restaurants in Tokyo, I found it's the best way to eat it, is sat a counter facing the chef, hot and crispy from the fryer, is the name of the game, this restaurant is not hard to find, just outside of Shinjuku station, they serve lunch and dinner, price reasonable, chef don't speak English, I strongly suggest you sit at the counter, to taste the fresh hot crispy tempura as it mean to be.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hkvisitor1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“High quality food inside authentic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are looking for eating a very good tempura in a authentic japonese place, this is probably your place but you must know you will be paid more than it is the real worth of the service. Very friendly staff. Although they do not speak english the make you easy to order offering fix menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedona04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Shinjuku”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Amongst the chaos that is Shinjuku is this hidden gem. A quaint, authentic tempura shop serving the best tempura I've had in Tokyo (or the world for that matter). We went with a set menu that consisted of sashimi to start and then 8 rounds of amazing tempura. The batter is light and flavorful and the fish and vegetables are fresh, with prefect texture and balance of flavor. The staff is amazing, very helpful and friendly. They really love what they do and it shows in the food and the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spencercr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tempura Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was blown away with the experience at Tenkane.

We sat at the bar and were greeted hot towels and hot tea. A plate of sashimi was accompanied with freshly ground wasabi, ground on a shark-skin grater.

We then began the experience of about 8 rounds of different types of tempura. The chef treated us to a few extras items now and then too!

Two of our guests had to leave early (as they were catching a plane) and the staff were more than happy to serve them faster that the rest of us. It was actually good for the rest of us as we got a preview of all the delicious things that were about to receive.

I will definitely return to treat friends to taste the delicious Tenkane tempura experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beausmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“High quality tempura cooked with passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recommended by our hotel, an excellent and authentic one-man tempura venue with 10 seats along a counter, with two older ladies serving drinks, other dishes and clearing up. Nothing fancy but authentic, charming and very good. And very local.

A start of excellent sashimi was followed by a range of superb tempura dishes with a light batter and not oily. We went for the cheapest meme, more than enough food to be honest. The white fish, green onion and small scallops were the picks. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC also viewed

 

Been to Tenkane, Shinjuku Odakyu HALC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing