We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Honolulu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A good option for someone on a budget who wants to be centrally located. The price was extremely reasonable given the location -- a 10-15 minute walk from the Shinjuku station. That said, when you're exhausted from a long day, the walk from the station is no fun. The hotel runs a shuttle during peak hours, which was often a lifesaver for us. The immediate area surrounding the hotel is quiet, which is good for sleeping, but there wasn't much around. Just getting dinner proved to be an adventure, because it involved navigating the maze that is Shinjuku station. I would have preferred to have stayed on the east side of the station, where all the action is.

The staff was incredibly friendly, and the rooms were pretty good -- decent size and spotless. The bathroom was a bit stuffy because it lacked ventilation, but it was fine. Overall, a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHELE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    235
    151
    27
    15
See reviews for
87
143
63
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We first picked Shinjuku New City Hotel based on the price and availability - we were staying the week that the Cherry blossoms were supposed to bloom (but unfortunately they bloomed early DOH!). The hotel itself is a nice basic hotel. It offers free wifi which is a plus and also have a laundromat downstairs which was really useful for people like us who are on a 3 traveling week vacation. When we were there, it seemed like the laundromat was ALWAYS in use. We ended up having to wait in front of it at 2:00am in the morning to get a chance to put our clothes in. Locationwise, it's a little far away from the subway station. It's a good 15 minute walk - that's the only thing I didn't like about the hotel. While they offered shuttle service to and from the Shinjuku subway station, but you had to make sure you were there when the shuttle arrived. The bathroom IS small, but it still worked for our needs. The toilet is awesome - seat warmer and bidet?! The beds however, needed some work. They were springy with barely any cushion on it. I don't know if it's an Asian thing or what, but almost every place we stayed had barely any cushions on it - we could feel the springs. Overall though, it was a good place - the only thing was I wish it was closer to the subway!

Room Tip: you may need to stake out the laundromat in order to get your clothes washed as it was ALWAYS in use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The rooms were clean and large and the shower is better than other places. The area is quite nice and there's lots to do around there. You don't have to go into the other busy areas if you don't fancy it (e.g. our last night we stayed around the area), and went for some sushi and karaoke.

The only thing is its about 15-20 minute walk to the station and its right on the other side of the park. You don't want to be going through the park at night on your own (not that anything happened but you wouldn't want to tempt it)

We walked past areas on people sleeping rough. I'd prefer if it was closer to the station. There's a shuttle bus which is free to the station but it stops at 9.45pm so you either have to walk back or take a taxi.

If I were you I wouldn't pay for the breakfasts. They are quite bad! I had to spend ages looking for something I wanted to eat, and the selection of pastries were almost non existent. Eat out, its cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank little_tortillaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here based purely on the location and price, so weren't expecting much. Thankfully the hotel was a bit better than expected.

First, the pros:
The price - you're unlikely to find anywhere cheaper (and still half-decent) in Shinjuku
The location - a bit of a trek from Shinjuku station (the most confusing station on the planet!), but there's an underpass that takes you almost all the way there. Just keep following the signs for Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building from Shinjuku station and aim for exit A5. That takes you to the edge of the park, walk through and you're opposite the hotel.
The room - not bad at all for the price. Clean and a reasonable amount of space (for Tokyo). Coffee and tea is provided, along with a water heater.

The cons:
Well, only one big con for me, which is the smell of fried food that seemed to linger in the lift and lobby areas. This wouldn't have been so bad if it hadn't made my hair smell like I'd been working in a greasy spoon!

Overall, a good choice for Shinjuku if you don't set your expectations too high!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is a great place to stay and a short walk from Shinjuku station, we got a taxi on arrival for ¥710. Hotel runs a shuttle bus every 20 minutes. Buffet breakfast available for ¥1000. Everything you would need in a decent size room with a view over the park. Make sure you ask for a non smoking room if you don't smoke!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very handy good value mid range hotel. Quiet location opposite municipal park and only 10-15 min direct walk to buzzing colourful heart of Shinjuku, packed with everything you expect in Tokyo. 10 mins walk to govt building with free observatory on 45th floor. Handy frequent shuttle bus to Shinjuku station. Nice well-stocked room. Discount vouchers given for buffet breakfast with wide choice of Japanese and Western food (995 yen). Free wifi in lobby, we also had this in our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wernerschweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#36 of 82 in Shinjuku
323 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
453 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#38 of 82 in Shinjuku
402 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku New City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku New City Hotel

Property: Shinjuku New City Hotel
Address: 4-31-1 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinjuku New City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinjuku New City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku New City Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing