We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but complete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed December 29, 2013

the room is small but complete with amendities (tooth brush, shave, TV, cup heater to boil water). very near to Shinjuku station making travel extremely easy. there is NEX (narita express) from Shinjuku take will bring me to Narita is about 1.5 hrs

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank weiwei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent location, really convenient for business and lesiure. Fell in love with the bed, best sleep ever. Staff are efficient and helpful. The room is very clean and well-designed. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Novsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked a triple room through email directly with the hotel. The location is excellent but the task is finding the hotel when you first arrive. As other reviewers have mentioned, Shinjuku station is a maze and though I noted other reviewers' suggested route to the hotel, finding the correct exit after alighting the train was a challenge. With renovations going on in the station, finding the directions was even more difficult. It seems like to get to the correct exit (West Exit), you need to walk along the super long train platform looking for it instead of going up a floor looking for it (which was what we did). It would be helpful if the hotel can provide a more detail map on their website.

Though we had a triple room, it is still pretty small. It's 2 singles almost joint together and another single near the foot of the other 2. It has good amenities including a kettle. We had a little problem adjusting the temperature of the room & thus in the middle of the night, we felt warm & extremely dry.

The location is great with almost everything around the corner. Pity we only stayed for a night so we didn't get to explore the surroundings much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank calvinkuah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibis_T0ky0_Shinjuku, 営業ディレクター at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel's location is excellent, very close to Shinjuku station that has both metro and train (JR) lines! The bad thing is that Shinjuku station can be a 'maze' as it is HUGE so finding your way around can be a challenge and also it is used by over 3.5m people every day so it is BUSY!

The reception is on the first floor, if you arrive in the morning the escalators are working downwards to facilitate the people who check-out so you will have to go by the stairs or find the lift entrance which is in the entrance near the pharmacy and the entrance of the big fast food chain.

The reception staff are very helpful, they speak decent English and whatever you need they will do their best to accommodate.

I opted for a single room and I was very disappointed as the room was about feeling more like a large closet than a room! Maybe closer to a 'en suite' dorm room being about 8 sq meeters! You could lie on the bed, the TV and fridge where at arms length and in one step you were in the toilet... Another bad thing with the room I had is that it had no closet, and just two hangers for clothes so if you are there for a number of days then everything needs to stay in your luggage.

On the positive side the internet had decent WiFi but no free English TV channels (just in case you needed to see).

The noise was acceptable so it was not a problem for me.

The cafe on the first floor (where reception is located) is quite nice and in the area you can find plenty of places to grab a bite so up to you if you want to take the breakfast option or not.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room, too small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solo_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed feedback of your recent stay with us at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. It is always pleasure to hear your kind comments about the service and the location and that you enjoyed your time with us.

As for your room size, I am disappointed to hear that you felt the single room size was too small for you. We are fully aware the issue of the room size in the central Tokyo. Unfortunately, Tokyo is one of the most expensive cities in the world and the properties are very limited. Therefore, most of economy hotels in central Tokyo are designed with a minimum space at a valuable price and we hope that you will understand the space issues in central Tokyo.

Your tips and compliments are very much appreciated and we hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku in the future.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Convenient, safe,clean hotel. Only a couple of minutes walk from Shinjuku station, this hotel is right in the heart of a Tokyo. Great service and kind staff who went out if their way to make me comfortable and make my stay enjoyable. Thank you for a wonderful stay, I will definatly stay here next time I'm in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blythe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments on your recent stay at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed the services from the teams. I will pass your kind words to all my team and who will be very grateful for your lovely reviews.

We really appreciate your kind word that you would come back to stay at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku for your next visit to Tokyo. Please feel free to contact us via email: H8620-RE1@accor.com if we can be of any further assistance or assist with your future booking.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Teera S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Address: 7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $92 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Tokyo Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Star Hotel Shinjuku
Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing