We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruin my hard earned holiday” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ruin my hard earned holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect central location,exit Shinjuku station Central west and a few minutes walk along the road.

Horrible experience started from check-in. Booked one room for three nights at a very premium price. Arrived at check-in, the lady told me I booked for one person. To accommodate two people, a surcharge of more than 10k Yen has to pay immediately. The surcharge was based on the spot hotel rack rate.

I've already paid premium price on Accor website, the rate decreased about 30% after my booking. I apologies for not reading the conditions in details at time of booking, but surcharge base on spot rack rate was unfair. We have no choice, but has to pay the on the spot penalty.

We are poor people that can only afford honeymoon@Ibis :( After on the spot surcharge, the rate was equal to 4 star hotel. Shame.

Apart from this, room is very small, but clean, nothing else to complain. One of the front desk lady was not friendly, the others are perfect.

Room Tip: Very small room Convenient location Choose number of guests carefully, otherwise has to pay penalt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, General Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

First of all, thank you for writing on TripAdvisor and sharing your comments and feelings with us.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the confusion and the misunderstanding in making your booking and checking in. My teams have simply done what should have been done. You have booked a single room and in Japan, Single rooms can only accommodate one person. We had to propose for an upper standard so that to be at your ease in the room, especially on such occasion.
Thank you once again for your comments, remaining should you need to discuss this issue directly with me. I will be delighted to hear from you.

My best regards
Kamel SENHADJI
General Manager
Kamel.SENHADJI@ibis-shinjuku.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    479
    280
    52
    27
See reviews for
197
222
274
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Located in central shinjuku, very close to train station. you can find many restaurants and 24 hour convenience store, sushi and everything, and McD is right at the ground floor of the hotel, nice ya. the room is small, the bathroom has bathtub, which is good. the staff are nice and speak english pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, General Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments and impressions on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the different recommendations and advises to our potential visitors.

Wishing to welcome you again at Ibis Tokyo shinjuku, please accept my best regards.

Kamel SENHADJI
General Manager
Kamel.SENHADJI@ibis-shinjuku.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great value for a Tokyo hotel in such a great location. The staff was really nice and helpful, their english was good (compared to the majority of people we talked to around Tokyo). The rooms are not big but they are big enough for what we wanted, they have everything we could need like tv, mini fridge, desk, washroom and two beds. Everything is really clan, and the rooms are very quiet. There is a nice restaurant next to the reception, where you find a buffet breakfast for 100 Yens, they offer juice, coffee, salads, cereal, bacon, ham, sausages, scrambled eggs (kind of liquid), yogurt, fruit, amazing bread and delicious fruit jams. There is also a McDonalds right downstairs. Five minutes away from Shinjuku station and the limobus stop to the airport. There is also free WiFi. Overall an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for staying at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku and for taking your time to write an extensive review with details.

It is wonderful to know that you found the bedroom size is adequate for your stay at the best value we offer. I am delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our staff as we concern our service is always a top priority. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet that Café Rendezvous offers at a reasonable price of 1,000 JPY and a complementary WiFi service throughout the hotel to make your stay easier.

We truly appreciate your kind words on our hotel room, location, and services and hope we will welcome you back to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku on your next visit to Tokyo.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Manager
H8620-SL2@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

1. MC Donald downstairs
2. Closed to train station.
3. Next to convinient store.
4. WiFi free
5. Polite staffs. All of trem.
6. Laundy machine at 3rd floor.
7. Fair price.
8. Free umbrella when it is Rain.
9. Accord Card accepted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Muliadi0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for taking your time to post a lovely review of the hotel, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. We are truly honored that you valued us as “The Best Hotel in Shinjuku”.

Please feel free to contact us if you would like to stay with us in the future. We always offer the best deals that are available Accorhotels online: Our rates change according to seasons and demand but an advance purchase option gives a discount if your stay is definite. If the booking is made directly with Acchotels.com, Le Club Accorhotels Member can earn the points on their stay.

Again thank you for your fantastic comment, and we look forward to having an opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Property: ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Address: 7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Tokyo Shinjuku 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your ibis Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Star Hotel Shinjuku
Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing