We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Osaka
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is located within a 5 min walk from Shinjuku Station. Although the city itself is vibrant all day long, the ambiance of the hotel is pretty good: quiet and relaxing. I was worried about the noise outside, but I did not care at all. As you may know, you can have great accessibility to the shopping area and restaurants alleys.

However, I felt the single (double?) bed room is quite small in size. And I would strongly recommend that you should bring your own tooth blush as the one in the room is rather poor in quality. I could not stand with it, and went out to buy one in fact. Except those negative aspects, the room was good by considering the cost.

I would like to suggest the hotel staff that they had better double check the envelop before handing out to customers. The name on it was wrong. That is rather rude in general manner and disappointing after having enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: It may be good idea to bring your own tooth blush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOkada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    486
    286
    53
    27
See reviews for
199
230
279
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Decent hotel-was just in the final stages of opening restaurant, which was OK. Even by Japanese hotel standards, the room was tiny. No closet to speak of and only 2 clothes hangers on the wall. Probably all right for tourist but not for business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutanthoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Over our five week holiday we stayed in more than fifteen different rooms and this was without doubt the worst.
On arrival the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Our room was the size of a shoebox. We are not big people but we had to turn sideways to get around the bed. Computer access is a problem-the hotel does not have wifi, nor do they have computers set up anywhere to use. The only option is to hire a laptop for 10USD per day. As Accor members we would normally take advantage of our discount meal option, but at Ibis there is no bar and the restaurant is only open for breakfast. Breakfast offers Japanese food only, with no western choices at all, not even Japanese 'breakfast sets'.
The hotel is currently undergoing renovations; we were not advised of this when we booked, and during our 3 night stay we were not offered any concessions such as complimentary upgrade.
On our last day we were lucky to meet a helpful staff member who gave us advice on shopping areas and even printed directions.
The reception area is on the first floor, with one escalator for those coming in. The lift does not currently go to ground level so on departure we had to carry our luggage down the (slippery tiled) steps. Staff stood and watched with no offer of assistance.
If you don't need to be in central Tokyo then Shinjuku is a good location. It has everything you want close by including restaurants, shopping and transport. Just be prepared for the organised chaos of Shinjuku station, one of the busiest in the world with more than 2 million people passing though every day. If you want to stay in this area, just find another hotel.
A tip-it is a long way to Narita Airport so if you have an early flight you'd be advised to stay closer to the airport. Mercure Narita is a great option, with complimentary airport transfers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodtogo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, Sales at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Goodtogo57

Thank you for taking your time to feedback of these negative experiences on your recent stay with us. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and we hope this apology has gone someway to restore your faith in ibis Tokyo Shinjuku.

Due to the ongoing hotel renovations, we sincerely aplogise all the inconveniences and troubles we have caused during your stay.

We certainly acknowledge that the size of the rooms is one of the negative factors among the hotels in Tokyo despite of the excellent location to access, and we are very sorry that you were disappointed with the room size on your stay. After the hotel renovations, we will introduce new comfortable beds in the rooms and complementary WiFi throughout the hotel. Also, our new cafe area has been under the renovation and will open next month to provide Western café menu for the breakfast options.

In addition, we are terribly sorry that you were not advised about the hotel renovations when you booked your reservation. We assure our guests that the renovations notice should be upfront of the Accor Hotels reservation website and stated as clear as possible for the future guest stays. We truly appreciate that you have pointed it out to our attention.

Although we do receive a majority of positive comments on our customer services, it is disappointing to hear that we have let ourselves down on this occasion. We are ensured that our Reception staffs will be well trained to provide a high level of services our guest can expect with us and we will always offer friendly attitude to assist our guests' needs.

We hope that you may reconsider to return to stay with us on another occasion and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.


Sincerely,

Kie Sekimoto
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was a little sceptical of the Hotel as the reviews I read but I always make my own mind up on what they are like. The rooms are small but for the location and the fact you are in
Tokyo and for the price you get what you get. The room itself is max for two in the two bed room, check your bookings at the time as mine defaulted to 1 person and had to pay an extra 30AUS per night for the room. As for the location well its great, 5 minute walk to the main Shinjutsu Railway Station on the JR Line and all the other private line. There is a Sushi restaurant across the road which was great, and of course the usual McDonalds underneath the Hotel, but there will be a restaurant soon in the hotel.
PS if you cant find it ask for the old STAR HOTEL or look up and you will see it. There are plenty of little restaurant around the corner great food at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stcsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
917 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,154 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,171 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Property: ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Address: 7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Tokyo Shinjuku 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Star Hotel Shinjuku
Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing