We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save by good staff and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Dont expect much from the hotel, good for shinjuku area, close to train station, shopping area and shinjuku Gyoen Park. Carpets and interior are old, room are small. typical Tokyo hotels unless you want to pay more, it is fine if you expect a budget stay. Lobby is on 1st floor. Ground floor is 24Hr Mc D and Convenience store. there are lots of restaurants and eateries at this location. night time can be noisy from the party and drinking crowd. Staff are polite and helpful, speaks english and can communicate well. there is ice vending machine on the floor I am staying and that is a plus point. Hotel tap water is drinkable, save you expenses on mineral water.
Overall, no reason for me to select this hotel again other than location or if there is very good discount..

Room Tip: I got the room facing the back, still can hear the street's noise but not too bad because I got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaiBangkok_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights as I found a cheap deal online. Nothing fantastic to shout about, decent sized room, Japanese-sized (small) bathroom and minimal service.

Location is fantastic, right next to shinjuku train station (west exit) and odakyu mall, and has macdonalds at its
first level. No worries about food and transport!

Will stay here again if there's a cheap deal. Don't think I'll pay for full price, unless Ibis renovates the entire building/rooms to worldwide Ibis standard.

PS: overheard a guest complaining about breakfast. Though breakfast is until 10am, last order is at 9.30am. This wasnt made clear to them. Bummer...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee112
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxTTxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Arriving at the hotel after having booked on internet, I am being told that I have to pay for the room. I am pretty sure that I already payed on Internet, but after having them checked, I am told that I have to pay which I did. After all, I had to sleep somewhere...

After verification, I really payed this hotel twice!!!
DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL! THEY WILL ROB YOU!

Now the hotel itself:
Room are small (smaller than the usual Tokyo's room)
No window
Internet connection is very poor
Service is horrible (See above)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibis.Tokyo.Shinjuku, フロント オフィス マネージャー at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Mr. Samuel C

Thank you for sharing your comments and taking your time to discuss about the issue on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. Please kindly accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience and embarrassment caused to you during your recent stay with us.

We are truly sorry to have caused you an unpleasant stay at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku. Although we strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations, it is clear that we failed to achieve this aim on this occasion. As a result of this issue, it was clearly a mistake from our side, and we consider handling this issue seriously. In the meantime, we immediately canceled the overcharged payment. Please note that your comments have been passed to our team to assure this unfortunate experience will not occur again, and we will ensure that our staffs will be well trained on this sensitive issue.

Once again, we would like to apologize the inconvenience we have cased you, and thank you for helping us to improve our operation and services. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku in the future.

Should you have any further inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact at reservation@ibis-shinjuku.com We look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Sincerely,

Takayuki Akutsu
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shin128
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,008 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,406 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Address: 7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $92 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Tokyo Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Star Hotel Shinjuku
Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing