We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Housekeeper is the worst problem , put my pajama on the floor, no one clean the rubbish, didn't refill toothpaste and hairbrush ,AIR CONDITIONER is cover with DUST !AND THE WORST WORST WORST thing is towel ! He or She didn't give me a new one , just gave me that one I used last night and it STILL WET omg , what kind of 3 stars hotel really sucks

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Location in Shinjuku is great within walking distance to main Shinjuku station and other eateries around the area. Convenient to say the least. But the room size is small and toilet has got a raised platform which make it even small and cramp. If you are above 5ft10in you probably need to bow your way into the shower. Overall, the hotel outlook and props need a facelift.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My family stayed here for 5 days in a triple room.

Pros:
1. Clean and neat
2. The room is bigger than I expected. There's still ample space for walking with my 2 big luggage bags.
3. Situated right next to Metro Government Building where you can catch a 360 degree view of Tokyo sunset at the 45th floor (free).
4. Provides Shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Shiseido is a premium counter brand in most parts of Asia, but probably a mass brand in Japan.

Cons:
1. Small bathroom like any other Japanese hotels. OK for petite people like me, could be a challenge for Caucasians.
2. Location of the reception counter is a bit out of the norm - at 3rd floor and we didn't see any signage. Spent some time went around and asked people.
3. I don't like its beans filled pillows!
4. There is no spoon in the room because they don't serve coffee / tea. They serve green tea.
5. Too far from the Shinjuku station. It's almost a km away! - speaking from a mother whose 18kg 5 y.o needed to be carried back after a long day out.

If you are looking for a place to sleep with no intention to enjoy the hotel facility, this could be the best choice with the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The first day we got in, we had to check in by the foreign information area. Once given our information we went up to our room to what felt like walking into a closest. The room was tiny, bathroom literally a public stall, and a twin size bed what the hotel considered ”double standard” type beds.

That night we awoke to someone trying to enter our room. Had we not locked the top latch I don't know if it was a dear mistake.

Staff spoke very little english, and didn't understand sometimes what I was trying to say unless spoken in japanese. Tried to extend another night but was told sorry full. Went to foreign information and they said ok but at a high rate. Came back the next day to check and was told 15000¥ same room, said ok because we didnt know where else to go, came back the next day to front desk and was told 11000¥ but different room. Geez really?? Told them we were confirmed to stay in the same room, didn't understand, then was like ”ah......soo desu ne!”

We stayed because it was close to shinjuku station from where we were traveling from. Never again will I stay here.....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restaurantfoodie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on the 23rd till 29th Oct.
I would say that it's a great stay for solo in a single room. Clean and neat.
Size of room is just nice for what needed.
Stayed in 10th floor for 3 nights and 7th floor for 3 night.
If you are looking for a luxury stay then this is not the right place.


Breakfast was not bad.
Choices of western and Japanese breakfast on 25th floor but make sure to be there very early if you are rushing or you have timing to catch as you have to wait/line up for your seat.
English breakfast at 3rd floor/lobby was great. Don't have to line up or rush.

It takes 8-10min walk from the hotel to Shinjuku Station.
Make sure you are prepared if there is rain. You can also take the underground walkway to Shinjuku station right on the basement of the hotel itself.

There are few restaurants in the hotel itself. Food are delicious.
Many eateries around Shinjuku station area so no worries about food.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Although location is convenient, services and facilities are a disappointment. The staff were not helpful nor nice to customers especually the front desk. Whatever a service we requested during our 3 nights, the answer was "sorry we can't help but you can do it yourself" including luggage, airport transfer or taxi call. For any questions we were advised to contact information desk. I know it is only 3 stars hotel but following the reviews, I expected it to be a little nicer. Bathroom was too small and we were put in a smoking floor.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank a_ebaidli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because it's right on the route for the airport limosine bus which stops directly outside the hotel. At the airport, we just asked for a ticket to the Washington hotel as it's one of the names of the stops, so easy to find. It's a ten minute walk to Shinjuku station otherwise- we usually came out of the West Entrance and walked down the main thoroughfare. Shinjuku station is a nightmare to navigate! The rooms we had were very spacious for Tokyo, on the corner of the nineteen floor. We had two single beds, plus a sitting area with large windows-we could even see the Tokyo Skytree from some of the windows in room 1904. We had pillows with pellets in but we swapped these for more western pillows in the cupboard. We had a comfortable night's sleep. There were chargers available for our mobile phones and wifi was free and worked quite well usually. There are various shops in the building including a coffee shop and a Family Mart so we could easily buy breakfast there.

Room Tip: 1904 was spacious with two single beds and a sofa in the sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,209 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,562 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $112 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTELS DISCOVER OUR HOTELScroll down to read text WELCOME TO SHINJUKU WASHINGTON HOTEL MAIN Shinjuku Washington Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Shinjuku, one of the Tokyo’s most popular and active locales,next to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and close to shopping and entertainment venues. Looking up to the skyscrapers, the hotel is the ideal location to explore the delights of the city. The sophisticated environment of our three restaurants and bars makes it the best place to dine for two, family, friends, business associates or organizations to gather and celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing