We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good room, and great location in Shinjuku!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights because of the location. The front desk service was good and the room was a standard Japanese business hotel. I lived in Japan for 9 years and stayed in many business hotels and I would rate this hotel as above-average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkawa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed a week, it was our first trip to Japan, I had a bit of trouble getting a non-smoking room but we got it, service was good in general they handlle most queries ok.
Our room was clean the size was good enough for us, the hotel is connected to the Shinjuku station and underground passage abou 1 km, once you get there you basically can go anywhere.
For Tokyo standars I believe now that is a good value for money, plus the limousine bus stops at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here while returning to Japan in April. Shinjuku is very convenient as a base, from where one can travel on day trips or to visit other areas of Tokyo.

Given the extremely mixed reviews that this hotel receives, I felt that it was important to provide some context from the two stays that we had.

This hotel was designed initially and targetted as a Business Hotel. Hence the rooms are small, with ample provision for SMOKER's ( not the non-smokers), decent wifi, and local access to the station. Overtime, more and more tours use this hotel for one to two nights at most. Given that its usually full, it really does not have to go out of its way to humor its clients.

We stayed in a smoking room for the 1st stay ( 3 nights). It was musty and warm, so we got the attendant to open the windows. We stayed in the same room as it was quiet ( 24th floor) rather than move. On our second stay, we had a no-smoking room, but it was noisier.

The rooms are cleaned daily, sheets and towels are fresh. However the bath units are not cleaned to the level one expects of a Japenese hotel. Its on a part with an American Chain Hotel ( Holiday Inn).

The key downsides with this hotel is the poor airconditioning. ( This is a feature of most Japanese business hotels). Request that you open the window if necessary.

- Access to West /South Entrance of Shinjuku is about 10 mins walk.
- Expect long wait for the lifts at peak times as tours all leave / check out at the same time.

I'll look elsewhere the next time Im back in Shinjuku.

Room Tip: - If you are not happy, ask at front desk for help. - Insist on a no-smoking room - If you are a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Even the room is too small, we enjoyed the hotel. Good location, clean and clear. There is Airport Limousine stopped right in front of the hotel, very nice....
Bathroom amenities very nice by Shiseido

Room Tip: The bathroom amenities very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fransisca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is connected to Shinjuku train station by an underground passageway but it is at least a 15 mins walk. For those who come from the airport, it is advisable to take the limousine bus as it stops outside the hotel.
We booked a triple room at the old wing. Rooms are small but decent. At least we have enough space to lay out 3 luggages.
Hotel has convenience store, restaurants and small eateries. Glad to find cheap and delicious soba noodles for breakfast at one of the eateries.
We left Tokyo for a day to mount fuji area and the hotel has a large room to keep our big luggages.
Staff spoke fluent English and service was okay.
We had problems with their dryers as our clothes were still very wet after spinning for 40 mins, and each time we had to pay a few hundred yen. In the end, we had to borrow an iron and trouser press to dry our clothes.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was very convenient to have checked in at Shinjuku Washington Hotel, since the Airport Limousine stopped right in front of the hotel. Shopping complex is a part of the hotel making it convenient for shopping. The other shopping area are nearby. Very happy to have visited and stayed in that area.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor over looking city was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advemjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walk to Shinjuku main station and we can almost travel to anywhere we wanted. The hotel room is clean and spacious enough for both of us. Another plus point is the airport limousine bus stops right in front of the hotel... very convenient for us to depart. In addition, we were given free 2 Day metro subway passes when we purchase the 2 way limousine bus tickets.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,000 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,443 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,381 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $106 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTELS DISCOVER OUR HOTELScroll down to read text WELCOME TO SHINJUKU WASHINGTON HOTEL MAIN Shinjuku Washington Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Shinjuku, one of the Tokyo’s most popular and active locales,next to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and close to shopping and entertainment venues. Looking up to the skyscrapers, the hotel is the ideal location to explore the delights of the city. The sophisticated environment of our three restaurants and bars makes it the best place to dine for two, family, friends, business associates or organizations to gather and celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing