We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What I absolutely love about this hotel is, its accessibility from the major train station - Shinjuku.
There is an underground passageway right from the hotel to the station; very good in bad weather days. It is about a kilometre walk.

Check-in time is strictly from 2pm onwards.
Guests can however choose to leave their baggage with the hotel staff before check-in. Get to the 3rd floor of the hotel for this service.

There is an airport limousine bus service that alights passengers at the hotel itself. Saves everyone the hassle of lugging big bags through the busy crowded trains and stations.

I stayed in a standard double room in the Main building (it was cheaper). The rooms are small, good for those just looking for a place to rest after a day out. The television programs available were pathetic.. everything was in Japanese.

I liked the fact that the housekeepers are really friendly and, they ensure that you have a clean and comfortable room to return to, each day.

Check-out was hassle-free with the use of automated machines; you slot in your key card and any excess charges will be made known to you then.

Guests can safe-keep their bags at the hotel after check-out.

Several eateries are located on basement 1 with a family mart on level 1.

Room Tip: Have heard that rooms in the Annex wing are newer and 'bigger'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juzcrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at after arriving in Tokyo. The hotel itself is nice--it's connected to the underground tunnel that leads to Shinjuku Station, and has tons of shopping and dining options nearby. There's also a small convenience store located on the bottom floor, which is handy in a pinch.

The downsides--every room smells strongly of cigarette smoke. I know this is pretty typical of business hotels in japan, but it seemed that no effort at all had been made to cut down on the smell. I'm not as sensitive to it as I used to be, but it still managed to give me a headache the second night of sleeping there. Secondly, the free WiFi didn't work in our room, and we ended up having to trek our laptop down to the lobby to use it. Thirdly, the rooms are tiny and I mean TINY. This is coming from someone who's 5'2''--there was just enough room on the floor between the bed and door for our suitcase and travel bag. I'm glad we only stayed two nights, because it was a very sardine-like feeling.

Overall, you get what you pay for, so do not go in expecting a luxury hotel. If you're smoke-allergic, spring for something nicer that gives the option of smoke-free rooms (and you may get a few feet extra of space).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed 3 days. There were hairs from other people on the bathroom walls and stains on the bedspread. Even after the room being "cleaned" each days, the hairs remained on the shower walls. Disgusting. Poor ventilation, apparently if it is cold outside and you turn on the "AC" heat comes out - there isn't an option for cool air. Very uncomfortable beds. This isn't a biased review begin from the US - because I also stayed at the Hotel Nikko in Osaka and the Shibuya excel after this, and they would both absolutely AMAZING!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel must have the smallest room and the hotest rooms i have ever experienced. When you get reception to open the windows it then becomes dangerous to get out of bed in the middle of the night. also the bath at 2ft long and 4ft deep was very amusing. The staff in the hotel are very nice and the facilities bars resturants shops and location are all plus points but would not stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Don't book. Had a pleasant stay 8 years ago, but hotel has renovated since then for the worst with sole aim of cramping as much people in with as little comfort as possible. They succeeded very well and how they maintained four stars is beyond believe. Worst is the lack of fresh air circulation combined with the inability to open the tiny window. Do yourself a favour and look for a different hotel. Tokyo is a great place and better not let this hotel ruin your stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Amsterdam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you enjoy sweating in your room due to lack of air conditioning and hearing all of your neighbors endeavors through paper walls then the Shinjuku Washington is the hotel for you!

Other features include shoebox-sized rooms and rock hard pillows.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Once we reached to shinjuku station, we had a problem in searching the hotel and its damn cold. Though in the web showed expected temp will be 19celcius, it was 7celcius when we got out there! After asking few peoples, finally we reached the hotel. Its 15 minutes walk from shinjuku main station. And we had a problem in searching our hotel again and again. After few days, finally we found out . We followed Keio line signage till we find signage for washington hotel. Or if you get lost, find tokyo metropolitan government office tower but dont follow all the way as the building quite far from the hotel. While walking, keep searching for exit to washington hotel. Asking people is a not bad idea though. They can understand you buy they speak minimal English. The underground way will bring you straight to level b1 of the hotel :). If you choose to walk from outside, not a bad idea though, find correct exit ( find keio line) its 15 minutes and u can see a lot of variety shops and restaurant, we keep buying things on our back home. If u have super big luggage ( like us, bought so many things!) my suggestion, use shuttle bus provided by the hotel to airport .

Room- its small but my twin room not bad as showed n reviewed. Its better than what we expected. Bathroom - so small but for average size people shouldnt have problem. Theres no wardrobe, just few hangers. Simply enough for at least 3-4 big luggages but u might walk on ur luggage. Lol. Wifi provided and its superb. Never switch on TV though we stayed 7 days. There's computer at lobby which can be used with 100yen for 15 minutes.

Great hospitality, you can asked where to go and how to get there at main lobby. They speak English but slowly catch up their pronouncation :)

We had a great stay for 7 days with great environment. We dont need luxurious hotel as we were out for sightseeing the whole day..good enough for sleeping, showering and packing. will suggest to others. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlifZain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,015 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,521 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,438 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: $110 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR HOTELS DISCOVER OUR HOTELScroll down to read text WELCOME TO SHINJUKU WASHINGTON HOTEL MAIN Shinjuku Washington Hotel is conveniently located in the center of Shinjuku, one of the Tokyo’s most popular and active locales,next to the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and close to shopping and entertainment venues. Looking up to the skyscrapers, the hotel is the ideal location to explore the delights of the city. The sophisticated environment of our three restaurants and bars makes it the best place to dine for two, family, friends, business associates or organizations to gather and celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing