We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny room, tired, you get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tiny room, tired, you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The outside appearance of the hotel is ok and the general parts such as reception and public areas are reasonably well kept and maintained. However the rooms are very small with very little storage space. We struggled to even store our cases and there was enough hanging space for three items. At times we had to move one at a time to get around the room and the only space to open a case was on the bed. The room itself was clean but very tired and in need of tlc. The bath was a suitable size for a hobbit with a tap attached shower which was to be fair reasonable. There are four restaurants to chose from as well as a small 'Family Mart' shop, which was well stocked. We tried two of the restaurants, the Baron for breakfast which was not great and the Manhattan for dinner which had great ambience (located on the 25th floor) excellent food and presentation, however it badly let itself down when our mains were served 15 minutes apart. The cheapest bottle of wine was about £40, but that's Tokyo prices for you. To summarise I suppose you get what you pay for and overall at best it could be described as just about bearable. Take my advice and pay a little more for better satisfaction. We visited the nearby Keio Plaza which appeared far superior at about £70 per night extra. The Shinjuku area is ok with the main railway station 10/15 mins walk, and the Limousine/Bus from Narita airport drops you outside the hotel, although it is a 90 minute drive costing 3000 yen per person (but still the most convenient and cheapest option).

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    705
    635
    161
    77
See reviews for
283
398
322
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stay in the hotel for 1 day. We are being recommended by the JTB in Singapore. By the outlook of the hotel, is seems so wonderful. So we expect it will be a good stay. Hence, we check in and proceed to our room... We go into out room, with a dueen size bed, tv etc... Bathroom are small as usual in Japan most of the hotel... We went out and come back... We nearly suffocated in the room... The Aircon not working!!! We ring the front counter, told them that Aircon not working. They just came up and open the window for us. The window is so dusty outside. The bed is just nice beside the window. Where u will sleep with dust flying onto ur face! Pillow is uncomfortable. Horrible and terrible experience... Will not come again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nozomiyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my fiancee for 2 nights. Honestly that was 2 nights too much. Even for Japan, the rooms are ridiculously small. These bedrooms are so narrow that getting inside with your luggage is already a challenge in itself! Not a very good start...
The bathroom was on the same level, equally small. Same again for the bed, small and uncomfortable.
To top it all, the walls are paper thin and it's like you're sleeping with your neighbours.
Overall, this hotel was a big disappointment. Will clearly never come there again.

On a brighter note, it is relatively cheap considering the location. If you are single on a business trip, this hotel might just work for you.
However, for a couple, this hotel is a deal-breaker. It will kill your mood before you have time to blink an eye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Very reasonable priced hotel (for Tokyo). Room was pretty small, with an even smaller bathroom/toilet.. But that's pretty much expected for Japan. The hotel reception is on the 3rd floor, and in the same building there's a convenience shop and some restaurants - one of them is a Ramen restaurant which opens early (or open 24 hours, can't remember).
You can buy food from the convenience shop and heat them up in the microwaves outside the shop.
There's really nothing you can do around the hotel, as it is a business area. You will have to walk towards Shinjuku station to get to te shops etc.

Location of the hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from Shinjuku Station, but there's a bus (Shinjuku WE bus) that goes on a loop to Shinjuku station and stops at other hotels around the area. The cost of the bus is 100 yen for adult, 300 yen for daily ticket. Not sure about the timetable, but it looks like the bus service stops at around 7 pm?

Personally I found the location a big minus, because after a loooong day of walking you really couldn't be bothered walking back to the hotel (especially with a child and a stroller in tow). Two nights we have to take taxi because it was raining so hard and there was no more bus, the taxi cost us about 750 -850 yen each.

I would personally choose a closer hotel to the station next time, like Keio Plaza, because it is more convenient.. Especially when you travel with young kids.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Agatha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located next to Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and Tochomae Metro with the Oedo Line (If it rains, you can actually get to the metro through the hotel basement without getting wet). The tiny room had everything I needed such as water boiler with green tea, cups, refrigerator and flat screen tv. Bed has two pillows. One hard & one soft. Good value for money. 24hrs open Family Mart in 1st floor is a plus. From 23th floor is a nice view over Yoyogi park. This 80s style space age building even has Pachinko, and if you fancy the arcades (such as myself) , SEGA is only four blocks away.

Helpful?
Thank TopTenTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The triple room was a good size with 3 single beds and not the regular 3rd fold-out bed or roll-away bed. Apart from the bathroom, there was a an additional powder area/washbasin just beside the bathroom. This came in handy since there was 3 of us and we didn't need to fight over the washbasin or to get ready for the day. No WIFI in the room so we had to head to the reception area to get our WIFI fix every day. Great breakfast selection because you can choose between as many as 4 restaurants within the hotel. One serves a Japanese breakfast, while another serves an American one and the other 2 offer a buffet breakfast. There is a Family Mart within the hotel as well so that's great for picking up snacks and drinks or other necessities. Overall, the hotel served us fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javajive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stay in the hotel for 3 nights with 2 others friends, as we stay in the triple room, the cost is really low, total (room rate and tax for 3 nights) just cost around US$180 for each of us.

Other than that, everything is just average. Room size is ok, just windows are too small, that the room is a bit dark. Toilet is tiny, pillow is hard.

Hotel is located in business area which is around 15-20mins walk to shopping and dinning area and Shinjuku Station. Not really convenience for shopper. As after whole day shopping and sightseeing that you would be so tired to walk another 20mins home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Property: Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing