We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for touring Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for touring Tokyo”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I didn't go with too much expectation for this hotel as it was cheap as chips and really close to Shinjuku station so I was happy. If it's a better price than similar hotels go for it as 10 min walk to Tokyo's main station giving access to anywhere. Plenty of places to eat and drink within the complex. Rooms need sprucing up but again, for a budget hotel it's everything it says on the tin. Aircon and a bed saving you money for doing things in Tokyo. Handy that the 'limosine shuttle' goes from airport to outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    707
    636
    161
    77
See reviews for
283
401
322
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I asked the receptionist Mr小林for assistance for their coin-operated pc (the keyboard was badly worn out). He shouted at me to "try, try,try myself " after hitting 10 keys on the screen. Then he did the same to another elderly guest. I complained to the general manager and received no reply. Another staff Ms木村also treated guests like low lives when directing us to the airport limo. Their attitude is totally unJapanese.and unjustified when we visit Japan to show support for its recovery. Their rates are reasonable but doesn't mean we can be abused. The management show no interest to my complaint.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casa131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is a very convenient hotel which is near to Shinjuku.
Train station, shopping complex (Seibu, Lumine ..etc) is just about 15 minutes walk.
Many restaurant inside the hotel which on the 1st & 2nd floor.
For people who look for shopping & convenient this is a good choice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_G1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here with family in a triple room for 3 nights on our cross Asia tour. I have previously been to Tokyo on two previous occassions but this is my first time staying at the Shinjuku Washington Hotel. It is actually quite a popular hotel for foreigners and most cab drivers know its location.

Location: The prime advantage of staying at this hotel is the convenience of having the airport limousine bus from both narita and haneda airport drop you off at the front door. For those who have undergone a long flight, those with elders and those with lots of luggage, one knows how valuable this is. The cost of a taxi is high and therefore this airport limousine bus is a nice alternative. Pickup to leave for the airport is also right from the front door. The actual location itself is in Shinjuku, a very bustling district of Tokyo (along with Shibuya); however, the distance to the nearest train station - Shinjuku station, is still a good 10 minute walk away. The good news is that the walk is completely covered and even if it rains, you can use this underground tunnel to get to the Station. The nearest metro station is a 5 min walk away although it is on a special line. Overall, great convenience to and from airport, but in Shinjuku there are better options in terms of being close to Shinjuku station. With respect to its distance from Tsukiji fish market, you may want to take a taxi early in the morning (about 20 min ride) as the metro does not open that early for jet lagged westerners to get to the tuna auction and Sushi Dai.

Hotel: The hotel is actually located on the third floor of the building, and so a couple of escaltor rides are required before reaching the front desk. The lobby is standard and hotel staff speak passable english. Computers and printers are available in the lobby for you to use. There is also a foreign assistance desk where you can ask for tourism advice, buy tickets for the limousine bus back to the airport and rent umbrellas. Downstairs in the same building as the hotel are a multitude of restaurants at the entrance to the underground tunnel.

Room: We rented a non smoking triple room with 3 single beds. The room is actually large for Japanese standards although the washroom is very small as typical for Tokyo. Everything in the room is functional and there is even a semi walled off section as soon as you enter the room where you can put your luggage. The pillows are unique but comfortable and the room itself is clean. The TV only has Japanese channels and the internet is wired only. There is a fridge and room safe. Noise levels when we stayed were not an issue.

Facilities: We simply used the hotel as a quarters for sleeping, so we did not enjoy any facilities offered from this hotel. The buffet restaurant up on the top floor affords very nice views and the food is above average although it does lean more towards a western style breakfast. Family Mart is located on the ground floor and a taxi stand is also located at the front of the hotel.

Value: Paid 150 dollars for this triple room which if you calculate on a per person basis is a good deal. You do get what you pay for though and this hotel in no way can be considered a great value find.

Overall: The pros of the hotel are that it is a convenient drop off point from the airport and is a clean functional hotel located in Shinjuku. There are good restaurants within the building and the staff are very nice and helpful. The poor part is the location with respect to Shinjuku station, a good 10 min walk away in the underground passage. This is not a problem for youngsters but for older individuals, it could pose a problem. It also gets quite tiresome walking back and forth from the heart of Shinjuku to the hotel. Therefore, a hotel located closer to Shinjuku station would be my suggestion. I would only recommend this hotel to others if they do not mind the walk every day to and from Shinjuku station and would like a relatively cheaper hotel. Otherwise, good options in Shinjuku for a similar price range is the Hotel rose garden. I have reviewed that hotel as well and have stayed in it on the other two occassions I visited Tokyo. Happy Travels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgeamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

One month after the devastating earthquake and tsunami that hit Japan in March 2011 we visited Japan. Our first hotel in Tokyo was this one.

Unfortunately, due to the quake and associated rolling blackouts the newer rooms in the annex were closed. The tower rooms are older, smaller and left some to be desired. That said, we were upgraded by our travel agent upon our return from southern Japan on our way out of Japan so that helped.

Front desk service was always crowded, noisy and took some time. Should have been better for the price and location.

I would stay here again BUT only in the upgraded room in the old tower OR in the new annex.

Great location to many things in Tokyo!

Room Tip: On-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPTUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Good
-Great location. (Slightly away from the the heart of shinjuku, but only a brief 10 minute walk from everything and is very easy to navigate.)
-Convenient location. (To get there exit "Minami Guchi" south exit of JR shinjuku. Make a right and walk about 10 minutes)
-Ease of transportation. (Taxi stand outside. JR Shinjuku about 5 minute walk)
-Family Mart and a block away.
-Laundry Facilities w/ a lounge area
-Internet access (wired)
-Clean good staff
-Safe area even late late at night.

Bad
-Rooms are small but standard for any business class hotel.
-No area for suitcase storage
-Bathroom is tiny but pretty standard.
-Rooms get warm and windows could not be opened.
-Pillows are hard
-Small tv with not much programming.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomibagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I read a million reviews of this hotel and my main worry was the room size, I'm 5ft 6 and my partner over 6ft....the room wasn't massive but it was fine! We stored our big luggage in the wardrobe and job done!

Everything about this place was great, AMAZING service at the English helpdesk, room cleaned very well everyday, no fuss and no hassle.

The location was also perfect...we wanted to be in the hub of everything Tokyo but without the noise and this ticked all the boxes, was only a 10 min max walk to the train station where you can get anywhere but Shinjuku itself was full of so much, will def be staying in this area and hotel next time.

Don't be fooled by the cheap price...on this occasion it doesn't reflect the standard, it's great!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesWorthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Property: Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing