We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Staff, and Amenities...but EXPENSIVE bar and restaurants”
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
BDL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location, Staff, and Amenities...but EXPENSIVE bar and restaurants”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

If you have ever seen Mr Deeds and want service like that creepy butler Emilio gives Adam Sandler, then this hotel is for you. The staff are so attentive to the guests that it borders on strange. If you are talking to the concierge, someone will come up behind you to pull out your chair out of nowhere when you go to stand up. Want to go to your room in the elevator, no problem...someone will push the button for you, call you by your name, and tell you to have a nice day. Its amazing.

The rooms are spacious, very clean, and feel modern despite the age of the hotel. The housekeeping is phenomenal, and the complimentary bottled water throughout the hotel and the expensive toiletries are great.

I love LOVE loved the Club on the Park spa and sauna. The staff there were superb and the facilities are great for relaxing or escaping the wife/husband since they are gender specific. Be sure to try the 360 degree shower.

Finally, don't miss the shuttle to Shinjuku station, in the heat it is worth the wait for the next shuttle. Be sure to hit up the New York Bar, but i'd watch your alcohol intake because it ads up quickly at $12+ per beer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,244
    381
    99
    28
    27
See reviews for
523
1,198
250
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I was staying with a friend in Tokyo last week and one morning he took me to Park Hyatt's delicatessen for breakfast. Wonderful place, wonderful service and the small things that make you pay that little extra. High on the experience I booked a table for dinner at the Grill - situated on the top floor. Evening started out very well with excellent welcoming and service in the bar. But then something happened. Service deteriorated quickly and the waiter was very nonchalant. Spending 40 000 YEN on a dinner for two you might think that service would be impeccible. Not in this place. I think they have become a bit to complacent. So my conclusion is YES to the hotel but NO to the Park Hyatt Tokyo Grill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StockholmAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel sets extremely high standards in all areas, and seems to take pride in answering guests' needs before they express them. While prices are high, for people who appreciate discreet but thoughtful hospitality the expense is justified.
The rooms are all very quiet and have great views, due to the building's elevation. Quality and attention to all details is impressive. Room service delivery is accurate to the minute!
Public areas are unusual, in the Park Hyatt style, including a library, and help in making this hotel feel like one's high-end home away from home, a great retreat at the end of the day from the bustle of Tokyo.
I found the new locally made toiletries more to my liking than the previous Blaise Mautin ones.
One thing I would recommend is NOT to take the limousine bus service to Narita, as the Park Hyatt is one of the first stops among Shinjuku area hotels: the result is that the trip is very long, and the bus usually full, as it also makes an uncalled-for stop at Shinjuku station. The experience is an unpleasant end to a great stay; a taxi ride to Shinjuku station, followed by a NEX train ride is much preferable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hp1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Simply the best city hotel in the world!!!!!!!!!! Outstanding rooms, big, stylish, elegant and cozy. Fantastic F&B outlets with divine local and international gastronomy meeting the most discerning traveler palate. Superb SPA facilities with a great gymnasium, splendid views and a Japanese Sento style Spa. Signature massage treatment. The cleanliness and conditional aspect of the hotel is pristine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boman187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Let me start with this: during our 2-week trip through all of Japan, from Okinawa to Hokkaido, it has struck us a country where great care is taken at all times to make sure nothing goes wrong. People and organizations truly go to great lengths to make this happen. In that light, it is pretty funny that, of all places in Japan, here, in one of the very best hotels in the world, some things went wrong service wise. Nothing very serious, but given the status and price of this hotel, they should be mentioned: During dinner in the American grill restaurant, the waiter forgot to bring me my wine, and I ended up finishing my meal without wine. I'll survive....Then at breakfast in the room, they forgot the portion of waffles and it couldn't be fixed in time before our departure time. Staff was sorry, but did nothing to fix it. Again, nothing spectacular, but it is worth mentioning that stuff like this happens at this place.
For the rest, this is a spectacular hotel in a spectacular setting. Imagine a room at the 47th floor, overseeing large portions of Tokyo. Imagine working out in the gym or swimming or having breakfast at the same sort of elevation......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pukkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

If you can afford it, this hotel is the best! The room had everything including a knock-out view...the hotel is atop a building so the lobby is actually on the 42nd floor! Not only is there a flat screen tv in the bedroom, there's also one in the bathroom so you can have a bubble bath and watch the news at the same time!

The service is excellent. Everyone from the doorperson to the person who came in to turn down the bed was curteous and polite...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiouspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The moment we got out of our taxi, we were welcomed by name (still don't know how they did that), taken straight to our rooms where they checked us in. No waiting in lines at reception. Views are always amazing with everything above the 40th floor. Also appreciated: lots of the facilities are complimentary. E.g. we wanted to explore Shinjuku on bicycles. They prepared 2 great bicycles, including map, a bottle of water and a towel, at no extra cost. When we asked the staff to help us posting letters to Japanese addresses, they did so at the cost of the stamps. One can tell they really care about details. E.g. someone really took care to build a balanced library (some world literature, some Asian history, some Japanese art). Also in the room there were a couple of very interesting books as well as a few cool cd's. It all gives the feeling as if you're staying in a friend's house, rather than a hotel. The gym and pool on the 47th floor are amazing with views all around.

I regularly stay in the Hyatts of Beijing and Seoul, but this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeBelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing