We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, flawless!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Chatsworth, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Once again, flawless!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

After staying here last year, we once again chose to stay at the Park Hyatt Tokyo this year & once again, it was perfect! The rooms are lovely, the views are fabulous & the service is perfection! It is conveniently located a short walk (maybe 10-15 minutes) to the Shinjuku station & they have complimentary shuttle service to the station throughout the day. Last year we brought 2 of our adult children with us & this year we chose to return for our anniversary because of how wonderful a hotel it is. I honestly can not find any fault with the hotel at all!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,148
    366
    91
    26
    26
See reviews for
491
1,146
247
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I genuinely can't think of a single thing I'd change about our visit to the Park Hyatt. The views are extraordinary, the rooms understatedly luxurious and the staff and service exemplary.

They have an attention to detail and an aversion to making mistakes which I think I've only encountered at maybe Claridges. I made two or three undemanding but slightly complex requests that in a UK or US hotel would almost certainly have gone astray (they involved various staff needing to be informed of alterations to our schedule and subsequent changes to aspects our stay) and all were carried out with aplomb. They were slightly surprised when I checked.

Some guests say they find the staff 'standoffish'. Perhaps if you enjoy being obsequiously bowed to then their quiet efficiency might seem understated. I found their attitude spot on.

What's not so great? The NY Bar is breathtakingly expensive. But then it is breathtaking. The location is a bit removed from Shinjuku and is in a bit of a boring immediate area. Not major stuff.

Basically I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoTenCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. From the moment they greet you at the arrival of the airport bus until the moment you leave, they make you feel like you are the most important guest in the hotel. You are greeted by name when you step off the bus. They take your bags (including your handbags/purse) and escort you through the lobby and up to the private check in area. They give you a tour of the hotel as they escort you to check in and to your suite. The room was amazing!! The bathroom was even more amazing!!! The view of the city was gorgeous. I was only there for one evening and the next morning, but I had the opportunity to eat at the New York Grill for dinner, sit at the bar and have a drink where Bill Murray sat in the movie Lost In Translation, eat the delicious room service breakfast, drink sake in my room and watch Japanese TV, and swim in the rooftop pool. The pool was so beautiful and clean. They greet you by name when you step out of the elevator to go to the pool. They also give you slippers and a cap for your hair. It was so serene and relaxing.
Also, I love that you can make all of your reservations for restaurants or activities through the Hyatt E-Concierge site and they send you your personal itinerary of events. They really know how to personalize your entire stay.
I am looking forward to my next trip to Tokyo so that I can stay at this hotel again...and I'm definitely going to make it a longer stay!

Room Tip: I found a great deal through Hyatt for a city view room ($300/night). It was worth every penny! I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights with my wife in Park Hyatt for our honeymoon and probably had the best experience in a hotel ever. The hotel is located 10minutes from the Sinjuku station and it's ideal for shopping and close to many restaurants as well.

The view from the hotel to the Sinjuku park is amazing while the facilities of the hotel (especially the glass ceiling swimming pool and gym) are top class. The view is just breathtaking from there. On our arrival we had a welcome champagne in our room and free drinks on the bar which along with the restaurant (located on the 52nd floor) are the highlights of the hotel with amazing views of the town. The food at the restaurant is Michelin standard equivalent with friendly staff available to help at any time (especially manager Shunicji Maeda). In terms of service in general, it's probably the best you can get and will make you feel like a "king". A small minority of the staff is not fluent in English but will make every effort to help and still provide the best service.

Would definitely recommend the hotel and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed 2 separate 1 night stays in September and October of 2013. Both times in a Park Suite as a Diamond member. The services from the time entering at the ground floor throughout the stay was excellent. Diamond members get free breakfast in the restaurant or room service. Tried each one once and both have excellent quality of food and service. There is also 2 hours of drinks from 5 to 7pm for diamond members in the New York bar and grill on the 52nd floor. The rooms we stayed in were both the XX01 and the view is excellent (able to see the sunrise over the skyline). The colors of the hallways was a bit off for my taste as its a green that look a bit dated but inside the rooms were modern and comfortable. Minor design issue is that it seems like a long walk from the lobby elevator to the elevators for the rooms and check in reception area. Overall a great stay both times and would love to return again.

Room Tip: Get the XX01 suites for great views of sunrise over the Tokyo skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dshih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

So I am a regular business traveller and I recently organised an offsite for a group of 10 in Tokyo. As with all offsites you'd think getting 10 people to have a good time in a new city without any hiccups is next to impossible - think again !!

The Park Hyatt in Tokyo is simply outstanding. The reception and concierge honored every request and made many last minute adjustments to ensure we had a great stay. the commitment to great service needs to be commended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was the best decision ever. Ever. Loved this hotel. It is perfection.

The view and the room were gorgeous (we had a Park Suite that dwarfs some NYC apartments) and amenities were outstanding. There was even a yoga mat in the closet, along with kimonos, robes, and slippers. Even room service food was delicious and so nicely presented. And I loved our real room keys. So classy.

We were there one night when they came to do turn down service (we had had the privacy sign on earlier so we told them to come in and do their thing) and no fewer than five housekeepers came in and BOOM! Everything was magically clean and beautiful. They are efficient and great at their jobs.

We swam in the pool one day (the pool and workout facilities have the most gorgeous view) and they give you swim caps, goggles, bottled water, and robes. You feel pampered all the way.

Yes, it is a little out of the way in terms of location, but the hotel makes it super easy to get around with a shuttle that drives continually back and forth to Shinjuku station (every ten minutes). Fab.

As with the Park Hyatt Paris, the concierge here assisted us in making reservations to restaurants prior to our arrival -- so helpful!

(P.S. I cannot *believe* that one of the other reviewers faulted the staff for not speaking perfect English. Perhaps the staff would have understood you better if you were speaking perfect Japanese? We had no problems communicating.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartsc_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, JAPANiCAN and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing