We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had to write another review again after a recent stay to commend the Park Hyatt Tokyo team on providing outstanding customer service and I would say ranks as one of my favourite hotels in the world.

Rooms: Much larger than the standard hotel rooms in Tokyo. Very comfortable beds and the usual minimalist design signature to most Park Hyatt hotels. Excellent bathrooms amenities and a comfortable sized and nice standalone bath tub.

Dining: Kozue restaurant has excellent modern take on Japanese cuisine - executed very well in a beautifully appointed dining area with lots of light filtered in from their ceiling to floor windows. I would dine there even if not staying at the Park Hyatt Tokyo.

New York Bar was trendy and I love the live jazz band providing nice background music but not in any way overpowering so that conversation was difficult. A broad variety of whiskeys - Japanese and otherwise but of course you pay for the view and atmosphere. Only thing that I didn't like was that smoking was allowed in the Bar which can cause non-smoking guests to feel uncomfortable.

Customer service was outstanding from the bellboys, shuttle bus drivers, reception, housekeeping but especially concierge. Last minute restaurant reservations? - not an issue.
Last minute flight cancellations and need to book a new flight on a weekend - done. Need to change your restaurant reservations a few times - all done with a smile and a "no problem" attitude.
The standard of English spoken by staff are of a reasonably high level.

I think location is still the only let down for this hotel whereby it is still a bit of a walk to the nearest subway or train station and the shuttle bus runs up til 9:30 pm.

Overall I would still highly recommend this hotel on the basis of the excellent staff who really make this hotel one of the best in Japan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,145
    366
    91
    26
    26
See reviews for
491
1,144
247
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The Park Hyatt is a beautiful hotel with excellent service. The hotel staff is wonderful. The NY Grill however has subpar service and is not organized well. The staff is picky about who gets to sit at the tables at the windows, as this property is known for its views. The best suggestion is to have drinks at the bar and eat at the French restaurant which is very good. Spa staff is great but spa itself could use some modernization. The location is not as convenient as one would think but quick cab rides to harajuku, etc.. Steve the manager is particularly great with any issues one may have.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYmom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked the weekend in Park Hyatt Tokyo after a stressful week traveling in Japan with a baby. As there were not many rooms left, price was really high (USD850). Therefore, the expectations were raised further.

The hotel definitively lived up to those expectations. We were treated really well, and since it also by chance was our wedding anniversary, we also got a free bottle of champagne and flowers to my wife. They also had thought about our baby, and there was a toy for her and own set of baby soap and shampoo, and they had prepared a good baby bed.

The room was big and nice, with fantastic view. The bathroom wonderful with a nice bathtub as well. All small details made the room even more perfect.

Staff were professional and nice at all times. My only little complaint was that we got impression that the breakfast was included and got a bit irritated when it was not and the small selection of food cost us about 80 dollars. Anyhow, when we complained a bit about this, they waived it off. The only improvement I see is the breakfast, as selection of food is a bit too small compared other nice hotels I stay in.

New York Bar is a great place to relax at night, have some food and enjoy (expensive) drinks. But hey, it is a high end place so that is what we can expect and is definitively worth it.

Swimming pool and gym on 47th floor was great. Never got bored on the treadmill as I could either watch the fantastic view or tv on the screen.

Thanks for a great stay!!
I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reidar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was traveling with my husband who was here for work. The staff is amazing. They really take the time to help you and find out what your needs are during your stay. The rooms are beautiful. The gym and spa facilities are lovely. The breakfast is delicious. It is a quick walk to Shinjuku station and from there you can get just about anywhere. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel understands service and luxury from beginning to end. The Park hyatt is in shinjuku which is not the most convenient part of town, but it is worth that minor set back because everything else about this hotel is beyond luxurious. The rooms are lovely and well appointed with a super huge comfortable bed and gorgeous bathrooms complete with aesop toiletries, heated toilet seat and body massaging showers. The famous new york grill is super cool, dark and moody and the tuna is beyond compare. The service in the hotel is unparalleled, nothing was too much, room service was super fast, the staff were beyond friendly and efficient and the whole hotel has a super appealing vibe. Take your exercise gear becuase the gym and pool are on the top floor and have an amazing view of tokyo and it opens early and closes late! One other tip that I was slow to realise is that the hotel provides a free shuttle bus service to and from shinjuku station. I would happily come back just to enjoy all the glam.

Room Tip: corner room so you get a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bella2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you like to be treated like a King. Come to stay in Park Hyatt Tokyo.

Once again. We have had a best stay in Park Hyatt Tokyo. The quality of service has offer the best and keep up the finest standard since my last visit. Everything was so perfect and give you a Wow factor!

As for Diamond guest. We have got upgraded to a deluxe room facing to Mt Fuji and being given welcome fruit and wine from the hotel manager. 'Welcome back'.

Park Hyatt Tokyo continues to offer some of the best amenities of any property in the capital. I love they offer Aesop in the hotel room, washroom, and spa. Breakfast was awesome. Almost one staff serve one table in the peak morning hour. Fresh OJ! Boom. Wifi Internet fully cover any corner of the hotel. No need password. Great!

Must: Take a dawn or dusk swim in the glass-enclosed pool on the 47th-floor. Use of the Spa and fitness centre. Check out the New York bar during happy hour, offer free bubbles/red/white for Hyatt Diamond member. Dine in Kozue, try out the best Japanese cuisine if you can.

Hotel offer free shuttle bus from Shinjuku station every 20 mins. You can also take a short ride 5 mins taxi cost USD 10. There is shuttle bus directly take to you airport for 3000 yen Narita or 1500 yen to Henada airport.

Park Hyatt is the best Hyatt property in Asia Pacific region. You have to visit Park Hyatt Tokyo and we will definitely return again and again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Any standard room is good. Just check in and stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyattdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was there on business, and the hotel is the top half of the building. I had a corner room with windows on both sides, the view was great. The bath room was all glass, a maids worst nightmare. I had power blinds that you could control from your bed. The bar at the very top of the building was beautiful and the views were outstanding. This is not the place you go for a budget vacation. It is really expensive, I mean really expensive. I spent 2 weeks there and hated to leave. This has to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. I've also stayed at two others in Tokyo but this was the best.

Room Tip: See if you can get a corner room, wow, you will love it there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing