We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed at!”
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Service was incredible, rooms were unbelievable, bar and gym facility were fantastic and the location was just perfect. They actually filmed Lost in Translation in the bar. It helped that my brother was a Hilton Diamond member so we got really first class service. Really an excellent place. Breakfast you got choices on a japanese meal or american meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinbadSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,971 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here on a one night layover, treating ourselves to this experience. From the bellmen, to check in, pool and restaurant service, it was exceptional service and gracious people. Starting early in the morning, we arrived by bus and the check in service whisked us upstairs to the reception area. Being accustomed to not being able to check in early in most Japan hotels, we were pleasantly surprised our specially requested room was available. The staff were great, with perfect English to explain everything. They gave us information on the shuttle, which easily took us to the nearest station, with the shuttle driver being very conscientious to check on our return.

The pool area was a bit confusing, we did expect the normal Japanese sauna which must have been on the spa side. Everything was available, water, towels, swim cap, robes, slippers, but you did have to know to ask for them.

The rooms were lovely, quiet with a great view. Our check in person was great, he spent almost 10 min showing us the sights from the hotel window. It was definitely a help to get us oriented and to know they had bikes (who knew) you could borrow and go to the park. There are only two though, so you'll want to check with the desk to reserve them.

We topped our evening off with dinner in the upstairs restaurant. We wanted to experience the lounge but had a minor, so off to the restaurant we went. Everyone was great, the food very very tasty (and expensive), but you had a great view of the night sky. Overall, a wonderful experience made special by the staff.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Park Hyatt Tokyo is an exceptional property, very well located coupled with strong amenities. The customer service is second to none and the view from the bar is outstanding. Although expensive it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We redeemed 99,000 GoldPassport points for a 3-night stay in a suite last weekend. Incredible experience, meticulous elegance, and truly remarkable service.

We both travel a great deal for business, and on a 32-day around-the-world trip, we're visiting lots of properties.

From the welcome bouquet of flowers (honeymoon), to the en suite check-in and the concierge's custom map of Shinjuku, there was someone looking out for us at all times. The complimentary Diamond breakfast was delightful (we took advantage of both the room service option and the 41st floor dining). The complimentary champagne, cabernet, and macaroons from the Park Hyatt bakery were extraordinary.

And you can't stay at this hotel without visiting the health club (amazing jaccuzi!) for an afternoon of peace and serenity after a day in Tokyo.

Our full hotel report can be viewed here:
http://www.ourhmoon.com/2013/08/hotel-review-park-hyatt-tokyo.html

Room Tip: Room 4232 is a 1-bedroom suite. Lobby on 41. All rooms appear to be in 3rd tower (42-51) Spa on 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I couldn't sleep. I was thinking that Godzira was going to go on the rampage and knock over the building, lol. Amazing service, amazing view, amazing hotel. I stayed two nights but could have easily stayed a week. I changed a flight to leave later so I could get a late check-out, work out at the gym and take dip in the pool for a few more hours.

I like a firm bed but the mattress was a bit too firm even for me. I'm thinking it must be a Japanese thing. The soft pillows helped.

The van service to and from Shinjuku Station was a nice bonus.

I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: For me it's always the higher and quieter the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielJReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a top flight property, with top flight personnel; designer room décor and fully kitted out bathroom with Aesop soap/shower amenities

But.....
1) If you walk from the station, you will probably come to the back of the building first... which is disorienting, as you will then make your way through a brasserie and bakery up 20 steep steps in the bakery to get to a Hyatt coat check area. Then you ride the elevator to the 41st floor for reception/ check in.

2) it's got subdued/moody lighting and loads of mirrors. You have to switch elevators, walk around corners to get to your connecting elevator... and it's a bit disorienting. It's got a quiet elegance feel to it... but, it's still hard to find the right elevator, or find your way to the right restaurant, or, after you've had something to drink, back down to your right hotel room. Things get to be a little like "Alice in Wonderland".

3) There is an in room Nestle bullet coffeemaker and electric kettle for tea. The electric kettle only has Japanese characters on it ---- to make the hot water come out after it has boiled, slide the little lever on top from pink to blue (or vice versa) then you can push down on the center to have the water come out

4) There are restaurants in the BASEMENT of the Hyatt building. There's a good Indian food restaurant, plus a Subway, and a restaurant specializing in TEMPURA dishes. When standing in front of the Indian restaurant, the tempura restaurant, will be on your right... all the way at the end of the hall, next to the wall.

5)Before you book--- if you don't have Hyatt points, find a way to get the breakfast and spa INCLUDED when you call. We added it on as a special package for an extra 5000 yen. The breakfast alone is 4500 Yen, so it is worth it. Children under 12 pay HALF of the breakfast fee.
I found this site, too late, but it looks good: https://www.tablethotels.com/plus because it includes airport TRANSFERS in addition to the upgrade of room, inclusion of breakfasts, spas, WIFI in member hotels, etc. (The Hyatt does offer free in room WIFI, no problem there).

6) Getting from Narita Airport to downtown Shinjuku Station, will also set you back: Go to the basement level of Narita, find the JR EAST travel service window to buy the single/round trip airport train transfer (includes your metro stop. Hold onto the ticket to EXIT the metro stations! You will also get a SUICA card with $20 bucks (electronic money you can use to buy food on the trains) http://www.firsttimejapan.com/arrival/arrival/

7) cleanliness was not of the highest order: there is black mold along the pool edge, where the tile meets the water. Also, in Asian countries they use swimming caps to cover hair; if you do not bring one, the hotel gives you one--- that was just used by another Hyatt guest. Bring your own if you prefer not to share. ;-0


--- there was a "brown splotch" on one of our bathroom walls near the toilet (they are made out of beautiful granite-- so there is a natural camouflase effect); I had to call housekeeping, who profusely apologized and came to clean it. But, still. *Sigh* It just made me wonder how really clean the rest of my dimly lit hotel was...

8) In the ladies spa/sauna, two of the dry sauna rooms were so hot, my feet were scalded walking on the floor for a mere 3 seconds; the only usable sauna was the "wet sauna"


So, all in all--- you might save your self a little bit of money by investigating the aforementioned Tablet services. When you stay in a 5 star hotel--- you want to partake in all of the amenities i.e. breakfast & spa (sauna), and not feel like you are "on the cheap"; if the airport transfer is really a part of this--- it would be a good deal!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JFH202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

US celebrities stay at this hotel due to their superb service or perhaps this was where "Lost in Translation" was shot. Apart from these 2 reasons, I stayed here because I got to cash in my miles to stay here for zero dollars with a friend. The only con is that the hotel is a 15minute walk from the nearest train station. Had I known there was a free shuttle in advance, it would have saved me $7 for a cab fare. It was a small price to pay for the awesome view we had of the park and lights at night. Our room had a nespresso machine, automatic blinds, a sexy bathroom, and a comfortable bed. We swam in the amazing pool where we were given bathrobes, a towel, slippers, swim cap and swim goggles. There were staff nearby watching us to make sure our needs were met and that we didn't drown. Lol. We also dined in at an Italian restaurant (3 course meal which was cheaper than meals from SFO!). We took advantage of the free shuttle to explore the rest of the are such as Shinjuku, Shubiya and Harajuku. I would recommend this hotel if you want superb service (2 people helping you out at a time? Ridiculous amount of customer service) and be treated with respect, honesty and an ounce of celebrity-likeness.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest possible floor for awesome views like we did. Unleash your inner Scarlet Johanse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariessima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,473 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,079 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 116 in Minato
3,035 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $525 - $1,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing