We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst service in a lux hotel ever”
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worst service in a lux hotel ever”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am traveling around the world with my fam and only staying in top hotels-this it not one of them
It all stated when we arr with attitude from the staff that was terrible -it took me about one sec to understand that they did not like kids in this hotel. we arr at 2.30 and room were not ready-they recommend a restaurant we could go to for lunch-afthe 20 min walk we came to the rataurante that were closed-we then went back to the hotel.time were now 3.30 and the room were still not ready. the kids here really hungry but we could not get any food in the hotel because my wife had slippers on and we would disturb other guest with this-nice ??? ( not easy to change when you don't have a room and r´they had our luggage ) we called on a manager and she said we could eat punch, but told us the we could not eat there in slippers again-my wife did feel wery good after this-we got our room around 5 in the afternoon-
this attitude followed us during the hole stay and we triad to get out of there before to get to four season but have to stay there for a hole terrible 5 nigths
the hotel is perfect for business men ( many japanese 50 plus with call girls )
If you are going to Tokyo with kids stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jarle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knishiyama, Manager at Park Hyatt Tokyo, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were very concerned to read that you had felt that the Park Hyatt Tokyo did not provide a welcoming environment for children. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

In the last few months, we have worked very hard in trying to look after our younger guests. An extensive healthy children room-service menu, a large choice of safe amenities for toddlers, video games, children yukatas, slippers and specific concierge recommendations are an example some of the things that we thought would express our warm welcome to children. We are truly sorry that you and your family did not feel this. We understand that you are still travelling at this time, but will continue to try be in contact with you directly in order to discuss this regretful experience in greater details.

Philippe Roux-Dessarps
General Manager
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,306
    383
    101
    29
    27
See reviews for
549
1,220
257
408
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

During our trip of Japan we stayed one here one night to celebrate our anniversary.

The location of the hotel is, perhaps, its biggest flaw. It is in Shinjuku, it is in the "Skyscraper District" but getting to it still requires a 20 minute walk from JR Shinjuku Station. I'm sure there are shuttles going to it, but we did not look into it beforehand, and just keep this in mind when making day-trips from the location.

The room we got had "Mt. Fuji Views" and was on the 45th floor. It was not clear enough to see all the way there, and I have a feeling that the name is optimistic, but it was such a gorgeous view either way.

The room was ready when we walked in to reception so they took us up and showed us all the great things about the room before he asked me to sign in, since all of the information that hotels all over japan had been making me write down had already been typed up for me.

He asked about our plans so that we would not be bothered when they came around for turndown service, and I told him about our reservation in the hotel's New York Grill, a little after when he said turn down had to be performed by, and he said that it was not a problem that they would stop by the room then. He also asked about our plans the next morning, which included catching a train so he went ahead and made a reservation for us on one of the next morning's shuttles.

We headed to the pool area that again, had amazing views of Tokyo (I'm in love with the city if you have not realized by now) and we were amongst the only ones there. At one point, we were the only ones there. We had the pool to our selves but all we did was lounge by it and looked out the glass walls.

Checkout was a breeze, we had to go to the cashier in the back to pay for some of the items from the minibar (fresh cranberry juice was delicious) and then we were on our way to the shuttle that was waiting for us to take us to the JR station.

Service was top-notch, and we felt like we were royalty the whole time there. It is amazing how you can be surrounded with views of Tokyo and at the same time forget where you are. It was certainly one of the highlights of our trip and it made our first anniversary even more magical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The service was excellent. From getting off the airport limo to checking in to the ever friendly concierge to the restaurants. The attentiveness and willingness to help made the whole trip very pleasant. The attention to little details made a difference too. For example, housekeeping placed a foldable clothes hanger in the room when they saw that we had nowhere to hang our gym gear. Also the staff made sure that the taxi driver knew exactly where to send us to before the taxi left the hotel.
Will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandiceWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've seen a lot of beautiful hotels, but this one is definitely at the top of my list. Unfortunately, we didn't get to stay at the Park Hyatt because there were no rooms available at the time we booked our trip, however we did visit twice for lunch and evenings at the NY Bar. Im a huge fan of the film, "Lost in Translation", and it was awesome to be in the same bar a significant amount of the movie was filmed in. The views from the bar are spectacular. I wish Denver had anything close to that. The staff were courteous and professional. The American Jazz band was awesome. The food was pretty good, and the drinks.. well...that leads me to my only issue. The cover charge is $20. And the drink prices were mind blowing. Our bill was $300 for three people, two well drinks and or beers each the first night. The experience was worth it. Cant wait to go back when I visit Tokyo again in April.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocoBabiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's so surreal to drive through the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, step out of the car, be greeted by the courteous hotel staff at the lobby and ride the elevator to the hotel where you step into another world. The hotel is so quiet and peaceful. Every staff member you pass will bow and say hello.

The hotel feels like a home from home. Amazing 360 views from the reception area and the New York Grill. Even though I don't smoke, I personally love that people are allowed to do so. The bar has huge high ceilings and is well ventilated so it only adds to the ambiance.

Last time I stayed, I had a letter from the hotel manager welcoming me back and if you stay for a while you receive a free gift every 3 days. You can choose from wine, champagne or chocolates. So, as expected, there was a bottle of wine on the side every third day and it was always great wine!

The only downside is the breakfast service, it can be really slow and you sometimes have to chase for the waiters attention which is poor considering it's never very busy.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views. Choose a twin room - same price more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanJoshua00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a beautiful Park Hyatt in a great area (Shinjuku) with superb service. Upon arrival, we were given a tour of the hotel ending in our beautiful room complete with nespresso machine and a welcome snack/note. The lounge and bar on the 42nd floor is gorgeous and became a central meeting place for us and friends who were staying elsewhere. We had a view of the park and Mt. Fuji from our room which was breathtaking. The bed was very comfy and the automatic shades made for a convenient one-touch way to wake up to the gorgeous view. The bathroom was well equipped with plenty of towels and Aesop toiletries. We took a calming bath and enjoyed brewing tea in the cast iron teapot to accompany the bath. The television in the bathroom was a nice touch and we loved the television music stations (had the Edith Piaf station playing all night!). Room service breakfast was delicious.
One note - this is not a "modern" hotel and the decor is classic. We loved that, but it may seem outdated to some.
The pool and fitness club were adequate although a bit crowded at peak times.
Overall, this was an amazing experience. A note of caution - the hotel is so beautiful and peaceful that you may miss out on seeing the city as you will likely not want to leave the building!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here using hyatt points, so my stay was extremely reasonable. That being said, if I'd had to pay I probably wouldn't have stayed there. It is a little too far from the city center and your options are the hotel shuttle, walking to the metro (about 10 minute walk) or taxi. None of these is very convenient. Forget eating at the hotel if you are on a budget - very pricey - although I doubt it is a hotel meant for those who care about the prices. There also aren't eating options close by as the hotel is quite far from everything. The famous bar from the movie (Lost in translation) has a cover charge, even if you are staying at the hotel. Afternoon tea is exorbitant. The room was lovely, immaculately clean with great views of the city. The bathroom gets an A++; toto washlet toilet with heated seat, huge bathtub with bath salts and best shower ever. The bed was very comfortable. 4 phones in the room, 2 flat screen TVs. It was all very grand. The service was phenomenal, in room check in and nightly turn down as well as twice daily room refreshment.
Be warned that there is a dress code at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKat_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Shinjuku
4,296 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,925 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,933 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing