We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Great Place”
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From reception and check in, to the beautiful accommodations, a wonderful breakfast buffet, two great meals in the Japanese Restaurant and the New York Grill, this hotel is on of the best. Find a reason to come here for business or pleasure and you won't be disappointed. Finally this is one of the quietest City Hotels I have ever visited. Perhaps because the guest rooms start on the 42nd floor. On a clear day you can see Mt. Fuji.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank travelbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 3,016 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay at the Park Hyatt Tokyo, as part of a 3 week trip around Japan.

The service was amazing - We were greeted at the doors on Level 2 and escorted right up to check in on Level 41, then to our room, and the service continued to be fantastic throughout our stay. There was a very small mistake made during our check in (no fault of ours) and we were kindly upgraded to a Deluxe room as a result which was very much appreciated.

Our room was amazing with great views to the mountains over the city skyline, big comfy beds and a bathroom with a big soaking tub.

We also enjoyed some drinks at New York Bar (amazing views and atmosphere!) and a couple of trips to the Patisserie for some dessert during our stay which were both excellent, and room service was good quality and good value.

The location of the hotel is probably not ideal for leisure travelers (Its in the skyscraper district, a 15-20 minute walk from Shinjuku Station) but it's a leafy and beautiful area and the Park Hyatt offer a free shuttle bus to the station every 20 minutes (although Tokyo station would also be helpful for the Shinkansen).

Couldn't recommend a stay here highly enough - It was well worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Deluxe for the extra space and big bathroom - It's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus_christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a really nice trip to Tokyo and enjoyed the Park Hyatt. It was our first trip to Tokyo. Our room was beautiful, we were upgraded to a Park Suite King thanks to my husband's Hyatt diamond status. The room was really big and luxurious. The only problem we had was that I didn't realize that in Japan the sun rises at 4:30am and I didn't completely seal off the curtins so we were up much earlier than we thought.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and they gave us the option of ordering off the menu in addition to the buffet at no extra charge for eggs. We had complimentary breakfast thanks to the diamond membership, but otherwise it would've been $39 for the buffet (a bit too pricey for my taste) but the al la carte breakfast menu was way more affordable at about $12 per entree, if you didn't want to spend that type of money on breakfast.

We had a drink at the New York bar. It was very smokey and not much of a bar. It was all tables and a hightop long table with chairs without an actual bar. The views were incredible and we were able to steal a glimpse of Mt. Fuji.

The concierge was very helpful in assisting me plan our trip. The hotel front desk loaned us a cell phone for free for us to receive calls on, if we wanted to place a call there would've been a charge.

The location wasn't ideal except for the day we spent in Shinjuku, Meji Shrine, Harajuku and Omatesando Boulevard. Otherwise it cost about $25-30 each way by taxi. We took the subway once to get back from Roppongi but took a $7 taxi ride to get to the hotel from the station. The room rates were very expensive but thanks to a corporate rate we were able to make the rate more reasonable.

Overall we had a great trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've stayed at rhe Park Hyatt Tokyo many times on business and in April this year for leaisure en route to Kyoto. It was a recommendation by Sir Terence Conran in a newspaper article several years ago that led me to to investigate the hotel and he was right: an anonymous concrete block metamorphoses into an epitome of fusion interior design when you step out of the elevator to the Recpetion floor on Level 18. Huge bedrooms...lots of high tech...sheer class in the design of the decor...3 great restaurants...exceptionally fast room service....and utterly professonal, even elitist staff. I dont really look forward to staying hotels across the world but the exception is this one.

Room Tip: Go for the double deluxe rooms. The bathrooms are bigger and more exotic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went for a drink at the penthouse bar and it was well worth the exhorbitant price. A jazz backing to a breathtaking city vista and a cool Friday night crowd made one feel On Top of the World - a true rival to the Rockerfeller Centre in New York .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RogerBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nothing is better than this hotel. You will hear people say garbage about the hotel showing its age , the audacity. This is a jewel. This is an amazing hotel that all other hotels need to be measured against. This is the best hotel on the planet. The most amazing aspect of the hotel is the spa. I love the spa. Swimming, in that pool, with the views is breathtaking. Enjoying dried fruit and tea, wearing a robe, while reading the International Times, life does not get any better than that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

There were a few disappointments in an otherwise excellent stay at PH Tokyo which preclude me from giving it an excellent rating.

Arrival was amazing - there are always four staff at the entry on level 2, and we were told "welcome to Park Hyatt Tokyo" by all of them. We were escorted to level 42 to check-in, and stepping out of the elevator the view from the floor-to-ceiling windows was literally breathtaking.

Check-in was very easy, seated at one of three desks that are separate from each-other. Seriously, I don't know why anyone would consider in-room check-in to be superior to this. It was private, discreet and very well-handled. Unless you're Madonna, or deeply delusional about your social status, in-room check-in is eye-rollingly wanky. After check-in the agent escorted us to our suite and gave us a thorough orientation. Our luggage beat us upstairs.

The view from room 5001 was amazing. So much has been written about the views, and so many photos posted, that I won't go on, suffice to say that it's spectacular 24/7.

We had breakfast in our suite every morning bar one. It arrived at the requested time. The hot items were hot, the cold items cold, and there were the requisite deluxe touches such as a rose in a vase, a "Today's Weather" card, and proper espresso coffee.

The suite itself was very tastefully decorated, but there were a couple of scuffs on furniture, a fray in the carpet in the dressing-room, and a few spots of mould on the grout in the otherwise amazing shower. The decor is slightly dated, although, as I said, very tasteful. Other than the mould-spots the housekeeping was of an extremely high standard, with a full service twice a day, inclusive of little touches like leaving mineral water and a glass by the bed, and renewing the Nespresso capsules.

On our third night we arrived back to find a strange suitcase deposited just inside our door. Clearly, it had been delivered by mistake! The item was removed promptly but I fail to see how such an incident can occur at this level.

And now, for the location. Personally, I find the Ginza area, where most of the super-deluxe properties in Tokyo are located, to be extremely boring. Chanel, Dior, Vuitton, blah blah blah, I can visit those stores in any big city anywhere. What's the attraction?

PH Tokyo runs a shuttle-bus to Shinjuku station. It's regular, on-time and very reliable. We used it a lot. We also found that the hotel was a 1000 yen taxi-fare from the station. Honestly, if you're coughing-up for PH Tokyo you shouldn't be worried about spending ten bucks on a cab-fare, right? If you are, then you're kidding yourself about staying here.

You could do worse than PH Tokyo - you could be stuck in Ginza, which is just about the most horrible thing I can imagine. This is a great hotel which was tantalizingly close to excellence.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. And don't get hung-up on having a view of Fuji-san - Tokyo is a very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete-from-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,551 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,092 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,136 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,117 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $491 - $1,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing