We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remarkable view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Remarkable view”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The lobby is on the 45 floor. It is a complete view of Tokyo. You leave the hotel and you miss the impressive view.

The service is attentious. The area has a nice shopping center with many restaurants and design shops. There is also an area for a short jogging near a Design museum. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank augusto53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,194
    374
    93
    27
    27
See reviews for
510
1,167
248
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is one of the best Hyatt's that I have ever stayed at. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world including the Four Seasons and Peninsula hotels and this hotel is leading the pack. Well worth the money and I definitely recommend this hotel for either a leisure stay or a business stay in Tokyo. Overall Grade: 9.8/10

Location: The hotel is in a great location near the Shinjuku station and the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle that leaves every twenty minutes. The hotel's location provides amazing views of all of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji. Depending which side of the hotel you stay, you will experience unmatched views. The city side is great because you see all the lite up buildings at night which is very fun to gaze out into over a glass of wine. Taxi's are also plentiful. Make sure to get a taxi card from the hotel which explains the location of the hotel to the driver on your return in Japanese. Tip: Take a picture with your phone of where the driver let's you off so you can find it when you return. Shinjuku station is so big and a bit confusing.

Rooms: I have stayed in both the park twin and the park deluxe twin. It is definitely worth splurging a little extra for the deluxe room. The room is twice as big, has better views, has a walk-in closet and is more luxurious. Typically it is only a hundred or so more -- definitely worth the extra dollars. Going from the deluxe to the twin after returning from Kyoto was disappointing. I would recommend the city side as Mt Fuji is often hard to see. There is a sound track on the TV that has some of the most relaxing music I have ever listened to at any hotel with a great sound system. There is always hot water ready in the room, ice and tea pots for tea. Plush slippers and robes are also in every room. The amenities are really great and sturdy - combs, razors, shaving creme, tooth brush, lotions, etc. The Aesop bath amenities smell amazing. There is also nightly turn down service. Housekeeping puts a water and cup on the nightstand and lightly refreshes the room. The hotel will also provide you with a complimentary cell phone for your stay in Tokyo. Umbrellas in the closet for a rainy day. Room keys are presented on a Tiffany's silver key chain which is a nice touch. They have anticipated almost every need. Check in and check out is a breeze and is done in the room for Hyatt elite members, very similar to other high end hotels. Tip: Book deluxe room not standard room.

Service: The staff is impeccably trained and delivers unmatched customer service. Typically you are welcomed by name and staff can often anticipate your next request. Very professional. Tip: take advantage of the concierge, they have great tips about things to see and do and can even reserve it all for you for little extra cost.

Food: Ordered room service breakfast and ate breakfast in the restaurant. Both were very good. The breakfast buffet is probably better because there is more selection, including cheeses, vegetables, eggs (cooked to order), bacon, fruit, yogurt, juices (mixed berry is the best), etc. Well worth the price and a good value. There is also a deli on the ground floor which we tried -- which is great for a snack or a quick bite. Had a drink and snacks at the New York Bar -- which has a great atmosphere for a quiet night in. Tip: order the salmon salad from deli, absolutely delicious and only about 10 dollars and don't miss a night at the New York bar.

Pool/Spa: Make sure to try out the pool. The temperature is perfect, not too hot and not too cold. Pool staff will give you a fluffy robe and towel upon arrival and even goggles. The pool is on the 45th level so there are amazing views of Tokyo. The Spa is also great. Impeccably clean and relaxing after walking the town all day. Very relaxing green motif. Tip: Purchase a service because it includes entrance to the Spa.

Flaws: There are really only 3 minor flaws which come to mind. First, the sheets are a little rough for such a high end hotel. The Hilton down the street which I have stayed at has much softer sheets (kinda surprising). Second, no chocolate on pillow at turn down. Some hotels I have stayed at even offer like little wooden puzzle sets, a flower or night time relax picture cards instead of a chocolate. But nothing, was kinda surprising for such a great hotel because everyone likes a chocolate. Third, the afternoon tea was subpar. I suggest they see what's going on at the Peninsula to bring it up to that standard. Not enough food selection and two sparse food (I think I got 2 finger sandwiches, 2 scones and like 4 tiny deserts). Tweeks to this three minor items, would make this a perfect 10 hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brandon016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I love this hotel in Tokyo, yes its expensive and you will find cheaper in the neighborhood but if you feel like spending money then this is the place to do it. It boasts gorgeous rooms, with mesmerizing views, large bathrooms and luxurious bathtubs, there is a great atmosphere around the hotel. My only two complaints are 1/ The staff didn't like my shoes one morning when I went down for breakfast and asked me to change them, which I guess is fair enough if they have a shoe policy and 2/ The upstairs bar was packed, we couldn't get a seat even though we were residents of the hotel so we had to go elsewhere. Also watch out if you're visiting in late December/early January all the shops/restaurants near by are closed and the area is very very quiet. I would definitely stay here again (tho I better start saving my Yen now)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for one night at the end of our Tokyo trip. The service at the hotel was absolutely wonderful. They accommodated special requests and had lots of special little touches in the room that made us feel very well taken care of. The room was very large and comfortable and the views were stunning. However my partner thought the room looked a bit dated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Best hotel I've ever stayed at. I have stayed there several times and there is only one "problem" and that is that you really don't want to leave the hotel during the stay. Eventhough you "have to go
sightseeing and so on"..I mean why should you.... there is a perfectly view from your room and the bars and restaurant and if you are lucky and the sky is blue you have the view of Mount Fuji and you have the best view of Tokyo.. So please give yourself dome time to relax at this place. when we visit Japan we always make the last stop at the Tokyo Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evaelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in some fabulous hotels around the world, including private islands - this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at - nothing was a problem, we could have requested anything.
Have to say it was not cheap, by any stretch of the imagination, but worth every cent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATTMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the Park Hyatt for 3 nights on our honeymoon. We had a beautiful room with a Mount Fuji view which we were lucky enough to see on one of the days! The gym/pool/spa is fantastic with lots of people around to supply you with robes/swimming caps/goggles and whatever else you may require. They even have their own branded gym wear for you to use so you don't need to bring your own.

We alternated between the Japanese breakfast and the breakfast buffet. The buffet has a range of hot and cold food including scrambled eggs, Bircher muesli, cheeses, meats and salad, and the Japanese breakfast is the standard grilled fish, tofu, pickles, rice, omlette combination. Both were very good but I never quite got used to the Japanese breakfast preferring something a bit sweeter to start the day.

Overall this is a lovely place to stay and very difficult to leave! If you're planning on doing a lot of sightseeing you may want to think twice about booking this hotel because the facilities, views and service make it difficult to want to leave the hotel, especially compared to the frantic craziness of Tokyo in general!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,056 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,742 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
2,747 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing