We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location! Fantastic Service!!! Well connected!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Location! Fantastic Service!!! Well connected!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel on numerous occassions and I would say it's one of my favourite hotel. Previously it was Century Hyatt but now it's known as Hyatt Regency. Check-in procedure is smooth. I was surprised that most of the lobby staff spoke and understood english very well. The rooms are neat and they have the fastest internet connection I have used so far. Hilton is 2 minutes away and my favourite Ganga Restaurant - Indian Cuisine is in the basement of Hilton. The day I arrive I usually have dinner at Ganga. The restaurant on the lobby level serving breakfast is the most refreshing time with excellent view and breakfast is of the top class quality. The hotel has beautiful health club, spa and swimming pool. A great hotel to stay with!

  • Liked — The Kingsize bed
  • Disliked — Aircon
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Suniel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    1,186
    324
    86
    27
See reviews for
615
690
317
721
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Tokyo (Shinjuku district). This was my third stay at this hotel but first since renovation. Stayed on Club Level. Room is excellent and a great value for Tokyo. Service is outstanding and the Regency Club has a very good breakfast and service is superb. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptcra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed here one night at the end of a business trip to Japan to enjoy some of the crazy Shinjuku nightlife. The hotel is very clean and nice, the staff is amazingly helpful and friendly, the room was spacious. But the real gem here is the whiskey bar, Eau de Vie. It's not cheap but it is so incredibly cool it made the whole stay worth while. The hotel is expensive, but you really get something for the money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

the room i stayed in was very dated, they require urgent upgradation. they also charge some 2000 odd yen to use the pool and gym!!! how strange is that? overall an average hyatt property

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

Stayed for one night. Very modern. Clean. Great view of the park. Breakfast buffet was decent.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuetxpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

The Century Hyatt in Shinjuku district is a lot like a Toyota Camry - it's a good, solid, dependable product, but it's not sexy or particularly fun to drive.

I stayed in the Century Hyatt for two nights while in Tokyo on leisure following a business trip in Japan. I was traveling with a friend and we initially looked at staying at the Park Hyatt, being inspired by the movie "Lost in Translation". We opted for the Century when we discovered it was half the price of the Park.

The staff was very friendly and professional from check-in. The desk staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. The Century still uses actual room keys; aside from a B&B in Scotland it's the only real key I've been issued in years. The room is roomy and comfortable but generally unremarkable. The only notable feature was the view of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government (TMG) building the next block over.

Either the room price or my Hyatt account gave me access to the free continental breakfast, which was nicely laid out but quite meager. The Century has a handful of restaurants with prices starting at expensive and going to the if-you-need-to-ask-you-probably-shouldn't-be-eating-here level. One exception is the bakery, where you can get a nice pastry and cup of coffee for a semi-reasonable price. There is a Denny's and a Starbucks a block away. There are dozens of restaurants within walking distance, and dozens more in the Shinjuku train station nearby.

The highlight of the stay was riding the elevator with one of the most strikingly beautiful women I've ever seen. It was just the two of us and it was hard to know whether to stare, avert my gaze, or pretend she didn't exist. I chose to smile and try to non-verbally assure her I wasn't a middle-aged American creep. (Don't know if I succeeded)

The Century located directly over a Tokyo metro stop, but is also a short walk from Tokyo's largest train station, Shinjuku. From Shinjuku you can take the subway all over Tokyo. The Century also next to the TMG building, which has an excellent observation deck.

We did walk over to the Park Hyatt one night. We went to the bar on the 57th floor, which is higher than the TMG observation deck. It's an elegant bar with a view that makes you feel like you're Caesar surveying the known world. Either that or looking into jetliners as they pass. We parted with our wallets much lighter, but delighted that we got to fulfill a small part of our "Lost in Translation" tour.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

Overall: Newly renovated rooms are ok but not great. Not the most centrally located hotel, but the shuttle service compensates unless you are out late. Good service. I rate Century Southern Tower the preferred hotel since it has a better location but if you want a bigger room, Hyatt Regency is the one.

Location: 10 minute walk (can feel like a very long 10 minutes after a day on foot in Tokyo) from JR Shinjuku Station's west exit. A couple minutes from Tochomae Station of the Oedo subway line (good access to Roppongi and Tsukiji). It is not the most ideal place for Shinjuku since the west side is the Skyscraper District filled with office buildings. This area does not have the glitzy shopping and dining places that make Shinjuku fun (15 to 20 minutes on foot). The hotel runs a shuttle bus to JR Shinjuku that departs every 20 minutes from 8:00am to 9:50pm. The bus stop is #35. From the west exit, walk north just a minute or two until you see the front entrance of Odakyu Halc department store.

Lobby: Huge and vast emptiness to a certain extent, it is nicely marbled if somewhat dated. Service is excellent throughout but early check-in was not allowed.

Room: Stayed at a renovated king bed doubled room. The size is quite large for a Japanese hotel room. The room has been renovated but the decor and fixtures seemed a bit plain overall. Free wired internet available in-room with your own laptop. The room is comfortable if a bit cool.

Service: Good service overall with the staff. The only knock is early check-in is not available.

Hyatt Gold Passport: If you are a Gold Passport member, you get free Gold Passport breakfast (which is really just coffee and croissants) and free use of the gym and swimming pool. The swimming pool is especially a good benefit because most Japanese hotels charge for using such facilities.

Value: I stayed for free using Hyatt's promotion program (Gold Passport member earns a free night for every two stays). The hotel normally costs about US$200 to $250. The cost would be fair for a hotel like this in Tokyo.

Conclusion: For a similar price, Century Southern Tower is at a much more central location with equally nice, if slightly smaller rooms. Because of the location, I personally prefer CST. If you want a bigger bed and bigger room, then Hyatt Regency is a good choice, and the shuttle works very well.

Tip: Remember to go next door to the Tokyo Metropolitan Building. The free observation decks (north and south) offer fantastic views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji day and night.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SammyF1oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Property: Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Address: 2-7-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 746
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented High-rise Hotel with seven-story Atrium, situated in commercial area of Shinjuku, facing Shinjuku Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing