We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Shining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's like home. Always shining. Large and comfortable rooms. Smiling faces. Perfect bar and delicious Yamazaki on the rocks. Large breakfast buffet.

As a smoker person, I am not recommending smoking rooms. Better stay in non-smoking rooms and smoke outside...:)

Thank you for everything...

Room Tip: As a smoker person, I am not recommending smoking rooms. Better stay in non-smoking rooms and smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehmet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights in June. My comment would be that the hotel is a very good one but not great. You can tell this was built some 20-30 years ago. The hotel is very large. The pool is a little dated and small. The night club bar OK and they serve reasonable food however not all staff speak reasonable English. Rooms large and well furnished and certainly up to a Hyatt standard. Internet quite quick but comes at a charge. Good connection by shuttle bus to the Shinjuku station. I would say the hotel may be recommended if you have business to do in the Shinjuku district, otherwise I would say that there are better options but probably at a higher price. The Park Hyatt which is a walking distance away from Hyatt Regency is certainly far better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMtravellerPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay in cheaper business hotels when traveling to Tokyo but felt the need to splurge and try something a little more spacious. The Hyatt didn't disappoint. The rooms are spacious with a comfortable bed and good bathroom amenities. With the exception of the furniture, which looked like it was set up for an arranged marriage meeting, the facilities were up to date. I was only there for one night so can't judge the food or gym facilities. The location is ok. It's still a walk to Shinjiku station, but considering the quality of hotel, it's not a bad pay off. Recommend for those with a longer stay in Tokyo with cash to burn.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay three nights @ the Hyatt Regency, in both an ultra-modern Regency Club room and a more traditional room. All were inclusive of breakfast, former in the Regency Club, 9th floor, latter at the Caffe coffee shop on the ground floor. Loved the warmth and helpfulness of every staff member I met. The place quickly became my oasis of calm in the bustle of Shinjuku. Got great travel assistance from both main desk and Club concierges. But of the two choices. I recommend the (less expensive) traditional rooms...same amenities, warmer and cozier, better breakfast (cooked to order eggs rather than the gross precooked scrambled eggs). Don't overlook the free shuttle bus to and from Shinjuku Train Station...runs 3 times an hour and can save you a cab ride or a four-block hike with your luggage.

Thank Orcas_Island_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was my 4th time stay at Tokyo Hyatt Regency. First time I have no gold passport status. So I don't get any benefits. This time I check in as Diamond member and totally treated differently. The hotel location is at Shinjuku, 5 mins hotel free shuttle or 15 mins walk to Shinjiku. Although it's not right in the middle, hotel provides free shuttle bus right in front of Okadyo shopping mall (right outside Lacoste) every 20 mins. Journey only take 5 mins from/to hotel. The mini bus always arrive on time. Make sure you get there 5 mins early. There are space for your luggage inside the bus.
If you arrive at Narita (USD 30) or Henada (USD12) airport. I would suggest you take the direct airport luminous bus to Hyatt Regency Tokyo because it's very easy door to door. Save your time up and down on the train and you don't need to change taxi or hotel bus at Shinjuki later.

Hyatt Regency Tokyo is a traditional mix of Western and asian style hotel. With big lobby, high ceiling, not super fancy but very clean, spacious cosy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Once you arrive the hotel, the staff would help out with your luggages. For gold passport diamond member may check in on Level 9 club reception.

I stayed in the Club King (newly renovated) as well as I have used the Gold passport upgrade certificate to Suites this time. The club room level are located between 4th and 9th floor. Club King, and Club deluxe king are pretty similar design. They remind me of Grand Hyatt Tokyo in Roponging. Use of dark brown wood, cosy lighting and earthy feeling. I quite like it. Although the size is not as big as grand hyatt room but good enough for couple or single traveller. Hotel provide wifi connector, make sure you call housekeeper to set up for you. Then you can connect your phone, ipad and mac. The window has electric blind and totally block the light. I can sleep so well at night!

As for Suites, I have used my diamond upgrade certificate. My room was located on level 4, it is very spacious for a Japanese hotel room. Entrance has an extra door to keep your room super quiet. Lot of space for your cloths, luggage and with a Japanese iron board. Living room with a big coffee table, sofa for 4. Spacious work area, with lot of storage, mini bar, and safe box hidden inside the draw. For wifi, housekeeper will set it up for you. You may need to bring an international adopter for your computer or phone charger. However, you can always ask housekeeper to send you one. As for gold passport diamond, I have received welcome Japanese fresh fruit everyday. They were very delicious. Housekeeper is friendly and completely clean up the room nicely. I am very impressed. The window has electric curtain can totally block the light from outside. There were two tv, one for the bedroom and big one for the living room. You can also hear the TV inside your bathroom. Toilet and bathroom are in one room. Very spacious and bright but with two step so make sure you watch out when you go at night. The toilet seat is heated with spray. Shower and bath are separated. Good for 4 people standing together.

Breakfast was at the club lounge for gold passport members. Food choice were not bad. Each morning there was different style of foods. Egg, ham, bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, some japanese pickles, fresh cut fruit like melon, grapes, grapefruits, banana, apple, orange, cheery tomatoes, lot of different kind of bread and tarts, Oj, tomatoes juice, grapfruit juice, apple juice, tea, coffee, soft drink, mineral water, and sparkling water. The view are quite nice facing to a park and skyline.

During afternoon from 5-7pm you can enjoy happy hour at the lounge. The food they offer can feed me as a dinner. Free champagne, beers, wine, soft drink, lot of little Japanese food, chicken balls, dumplings, tea coffee, homemade cookies, desert and much more. I would suggest you should not miss out this happy hour. Perhaps after a long day walk or sightseeing, make sure you return between 5-7pm to enjoy this. They serve different types of food each day.

The spa and pool is located on the top floor 28. It's quite nice to swim up there (cap provided) and you can soak yourself into the hot jazcuuize if you have a sore feet. There is a red light section for you to rest down and dry up your body. View are pretty nice 270 degree to check out the skyscraper of tokyo. Once you arrive, there are six open shower heads around you to clean up your body before you walk in. Pretty awesome. The room is heated and water temperature are warm enough and you don't need to worry about too cold.

Lastly, many of you may feel hungry at night. There are 7-11 below the hotel, a couple of dining places, bar and a mini supermarket. It is actually good for such location. As I was jet lag usually after return from sightseeing or shopping around 6-9pm. I feel lazy and tied to go to Shinjuku again when I wake up. so there are some place I can get food downstair. Pretty convenience.

Overall,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a club room because they are newly renovated. Between 4 and 9 floor. View is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SPG Platinum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in the Hyatt Regency Tokyo for five nights in July 2013 at the Regency Club level and really enjoyed my stay. Breakfast and oerderves were included daily. I took the shuttle daily to and from Shinjuku Station. I took the Narita Express to and from the airport to Shinjuku.

Room Tip: Book at the Regency club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vimaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pretty much your standard Hyatt Regency, polite and effecient staff,wellappointed rooms and public areas. Only complaint is the wifi come on folks its the 21st century can't you just have wifi throughout the hotel instead of having someone from housekeeping have to bring me a router?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,703 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,209 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,562 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,030 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Address: 2-7-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: $240 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 746
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented High-rise Hotel with seven-story Atrium, situated in commercial area of Shinjuku, facing Shinjuku Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Rakuten, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing