We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel and experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good, solid hotel and experience. Room was good-sized and comfortable. No wifi in the room (wired connection, what is it, 1999?) but you can get them to bring you a wifi router. Buffet breakfast is good. Workout facilities are on the smaller side but clean, usable, and good.

Next time I'm in Tokyo, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1kunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    1,162
    315
    83
    25
See reviews for
591
675
311
705
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Yes this is a hotel that is clean friendly and has great amenities. Some complain about the internet, but i used it every day of our 5 day trip and wasnt dissapointed.
The hotel is located in the Shinjuku area, and its a 5 min walk to the shopping areas and there are many places to eat and drink here.
The train and underground stations again are a short walk so all in all i think the experience here was pretty good, the breakfasts were as expected so it was good to eat up and start you day well.
So if your going to tokyo this hotel is a good choice, not the super luxury and not a lowly overrated place....i liked it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THE_SHEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at many Hyatt in the world. This is definitely my least favourite.

Pro:
1. Friendly staff, as expected in Japan.

Cons:
1. Rooms were dated, carpet looks old.
2. No free wifi but at affordable y300 per day
3. Located in shinjuku but still need a shuttle service to the station. Service is every 20 mins.
4. Limited English channels on tv.

Go to Hilton next door. It's much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel sadly did not live up to Hyatt expectations. The hotel feels like an 80's Sheraton re-badged Hyatt. Rooms are small, bland, boring and bathrooms are no more than a good four star average hotel. Carpet lifting from lift floors, smell of smoke in the foyer. I wont waste my money here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Japan is famous for courteous people and hospitality, and this hotel is definitely a real example for that. Amazing quality and service levels. Staff has been very courteous and extremely helpful.

Stayed for more than 5 days on a business trip and I must say one of the best experiences ever. Room Sizes were bit small, however it was compensated by the cleanliness and the way people treat you throughout the stay.
Well Placed and accessible to many shopping centers, and observatory decks, Shinjuku one of the main areas in Tokyo is where the property is located. I don't have to re think for rebooking when next time I travel to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuriousJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Tokyo with my family for one night after a 2 week trip to Japan. I used points for the room and an upgrade to a club level room. I was happy with the choice of hotels. The service was very good and the staff in the club lounge and concierge were extremely friendly and helpful. The lounge had a great selection of snacks and drinks in the evening. The breakfast was also good, but there could have been more egg options.

While our room was small, it had a king size bed - the first one of our trip. The room was very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious and had separate toilet and bath/shower areas. It also had a full sized bath tub, which was wonderful.

The location of the hotel was close to all of the action in Shinjuku, but a bit quieter. It was just across the street from the Tokyo Metropolitian Government Building. The hotel offers a free shuttle from the train station which was very convenient.

We didn't have complimentary wi-fi included with our rate, but upon asking, the employee at the reception desk said she would have a wi-fi router delivered to the room. This arrived right after we entered the room and the employee quickly set it up. The charge for wi-fi was surprisingly low - only 300 yen for 24 hours. Unfortunately, this was per device, so it added up quickly since we had 4 devices. In any case, it was fast and easy to use.

Given that this was the last night of an exciting, but exhausting trip, we stayed in the hotel for the night. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the views from the club lounge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel just one night and it was the best of our trip. The thing that separated it from the rest was Cleanliness (as judged by my wife) and the overall service. Everyone was super helpful. Also I forgot my battery charger in the wall and they nicely wrapped it up and held it till I could return to Tokyo a few days later.
It is a bit of a walk to the Shinjuku station, but not bad. They also have a shuttle that goes from the hotel to the station on occasion, but walking is not too bad too. If you get the JR rail pass I highly recommend taking the express train from Narita to Shinjuku. With the rail pass, we were able to travel completely free to Kyoto, Osaka, and back to Tokyo as well as around Tokyo for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Property: Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Address: 2-7-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented High-rise Hotel with seven-story Atrium, situated in commercial area of Shinjuku, facing Shinjuku Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing