We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Tokyo(Shinjuku)
$319
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$96
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$303
$72
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku(Shinjuku)
$92
$66
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$160
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Shinjuku Prince Hotel(Shinjuku)
$173
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$177
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,341)
Filter reviews
4,341 results
Traveler rating
1,725
1,862
520
127
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,725
1,862
520
127
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain towerglass courtplaza premier roomluxe loungeshinjuku stationsouth winghuge hotelconvenience storerenovated roomhotel restaurantsairport limousine busbusy hotelconvenient locationwest exitmt fujisushilarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,666 - 1,671 of 4,341 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was my fifth stay at Keio Plaza, which I personally regard as the best choice in Shinjuku given its proximity to train stations and shopping areas. The room rates are not cheap, but you get decent sized rooms. There are no trendy and hip design as it's actually an older hotel compared to others, but everything was in good order. Also it's a big and busy hotel with 1000+ rooms so you won't experience much personal touch in the service, but staff are very efficient.

My previous stays were in Plaza Premier floors in the Main Tower but this time I chose the newly renovated Plaza Luxe room in the South Tower. The rooms were comfortable and clean as usual, My only negative comment is the rather small size of the TV, but this is actually quite common in Japanese hotels.

My stay package this time included breakfast at the coffee lounge on the ground floor and a dinner at the Japanese restaurant. The breakfast featured a smaller buffet than the one offered in the buffet restaurant, but I actually preferred the coffee lounge because it's much quieter and the service was more attentive. The dinner was nice too.

The hotel website mentions Plaza Luxe guests could use the lounge located on the top floor of the South Tower, but I was told a coupon was needed for entry. I didn't bother to argue anyway.

Room Tip: Book newly renovated rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exe_ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel as your preferred hotel in Tokyo!
We are sorry to hear that we disappointed you in regard to the Luxe Lounge. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had. As you mentioned, Plaza Luxe guests have access to the Lounge, for the exception of guests using a certain package plan; in that case, the condition is addressed in the description. We have discussed this with the Lounge manager in order to prevent any future misunderstandings with our services.
At the same time, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our room and breakfast at the Cocktail Tea Lounge.
We really appreciate your generous comments, and hope you will give us another chance to serve you again soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Awesome service when arriving to the hotel. Most employees understand English which is a huge plus, definitely when needing directions. The only upset that we had here was going to the pool, having a tattoo will prohibit you to enter. Also, if you're an adult, you got to pay roughly $20 to get in. Overall, besides the pool, a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us at the Keio Plaza Hotel.
It is great to know that our team was able to assist you when needed.
We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with our pool, however we would appreciate your understanding in regard to our pool policies.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfect business/convention style hotel as far as location. Rooms were standard - ours was in the older tower/floors- clean and good size shower. Again everything being relevant to Japan size accommodations. Location can't be beat though - few blocks to Shinjuku station above or below ground. Loved that being home base to explore Tokyo while husband was at conference. Restaurants and bars are good - not cheap though - so often left hotel for GREAT meals - much cheaper. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worktotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel as a your business trip hub in Tokyo.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and restaurants/bars.
Our location is one of the best in Tokyo, not only for business trips but for leisure trips as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location is very practical. However there are several drawbacks to this hotel. The rooms are very mediocre and old fashioned. Bed is hard and trimmings could all do with a makeover. The western breakfast is only served until 9:30am and the range of food is neither particularly fresh nor exciting and the coffee was awful. I hurt my leg and went up to the clinic and the staff couldn't speak any English and couldn't even understand what I was saying. The gym was not cool enough and the range of gym equipment hasn't been upgraded in years. I know this for a fact as I used the gym almost 10 years ago and exactly the same equipment is in place. All this would be ok if the price met the quality level of 3 star but it's definitely overpriced in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations.
We are not sure which room type(s) you were assigned to, however we have been going through an extensive refurbishment of our guest rooms.
Also, it was really unfortunate that you injured your leg and had a difficult time communicating with the clinic staff. We regret that we could not properly assist you in finding an English speaking clinic nearby. At the Guest Relations Desk, we can arrange a clinic or hospital for guests who suddenly become ill or get injured.
We hope you have recovered from your injury and trust you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I love this hotel in term of location. Good location, easy to access from Shinjuku station using underway. The hotel lobby was nice and big.

But...

The room was pathetic. Very small for 4 stars hotel, bedding was poor, hard, the funiture very old, carpet look not clean because of old, bathroom also old style, overall very pathetic room. For the price almost $200 a night, that was so rudiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Keio Plaza Hotel.
We are so disappointed that we could not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.
We assume that your room was one of the remaining rooms in the hotel that have not gone through refurbishment. In order to offer our valued guests with the most comfortable stay possible, the housekeeping team works hard to maintain our rooms. However, we understand it is difficult to erase the impression of oldness.
Assuming you give us another chance, we want to recommend you stay in one of our renovated rooms on a future visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews